Pregnant at 63 - When is it too old?

So, here is the news item.

======

A child psychiatrist who is pregnant aged 63 spoke of her joy at her impending motherhood as she appeared in public for the first time as Britain’s oldest mother-to-be.

Dr Rashbrook, who has two grown-up children, will become Britain’s oldest new mother when she gives birth in July. By the time her son is 16, she will be almost 80. Asked bluntly whether she was too old to have a child, she replied: “No comment.”

Josephine Quintavalle, from Comment on Reproductive Ethics (Core), said: “It is extremely difficult for a child to have a mother who is as old as a grandmother would be. It is just that consumer society that wants absolutely everything, and never stops to think that a child is not a product. She is being selfish and sometimes greater love is saying no.”

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,2-2164798,00.html

===========

So what do you guys think? Should it be just her and her husband’s personal decision on when they want to bring a child to this world? Is it fair for the entire world to have an opinion on her pregnancy, especially when the opinion is that she is a selfish and uncaring mother-to-be. Ouch!

My view is that 63 is a bit too extreme to be having babies. Having said that it is a personal decision, and while I feel for the well-being of their baby, there are bigger problems in the world.

Re: Pregnant at 63 - When is it too old?

it is a health concern for a woman to have a child at an older age. a woman having a child above 35 significantly increases the risk of the child developing Down syndrome. in this case, this is certainly a concern for the parents.

it is also a health concern for men to contribute to a pregnancy at an older age. children of older fathers are more likely to develop osteogenesis imperfecta, a bone disease, although the risk is not as great as it is for older mothers.

The couple reportedly spent £50,000 for the IVF treatment she got to be able to conceive at this age. For that amount of money, you would imagine that the famous (infamous) Italian OB/GYN would screen the emryo as carefully as possible.

As long as she can go through the pain of childbirth with her aching bones and arthiritis then more power to her.

I guess she'll have a nanny take care of the baby because she probably won't be able to run after a 2 year old :)
It should be interesting to follow up on her 10 years from now and see how she's bringing up the baby.

When is it too old?

When the plumbing doesn't work. :D

I think if we are going to start asking when it is too old to have a baby we should really be looking at other factors as well, when is a person too stupid to have a kid, when is a person too poor to have another kid, when is a person to imbalanced to have a kid, when is a person too young to have a kid (I wouls share some nightmarish stories in what happens with child brides in Africa but lets leave it for now)

Dair ayad, darust ayad.

never too late :o

As some would say in Pakistan...Allah ki deyn hei ji banda kya kar sakta hei :D

Agree with Fraudz though.

Somehow, i dont feel its "Allah ke deyn" when one has spent $100,000 in treatment esp for soemone so old n who has children ** already **

Since when do people start to decide when it is an age to stop having children.
Its more of a Desi thing.

Desi mentality is such that when an older woman is pregnant they call it baysharam for some reason.

I remember in Pak a neighbour of ours whose oldest daughter was in her early 20s, had a son who was 18 and a son around 9
She was pregnant again and every woman on the street made fun of her calling her baysharam for being pregnant having a jawan son and daughter at home.

People have a right to have children whether they wanto have it in their teens or sixties.
who are we to judge 'em

Old people should have as many children as they want but they shouldn't drive. Infact, they should be given a choice to trade-in their vehicles for a sex partner!

:-D Faisal Pai that was very polite and Americanized of you.
Should have just said 'Mai hosh kur'

Just an FYI ... Hazrat Ibrahim (as) had kids in this 80s .. or so.

LB: my cousin's family rejected a rishta because the girl was 23 and her mother just had another kid who was 1 yr old. They thought it was too wierd.

Jab miyaan biwi raazi, to auron ko kya takleef hai. :smiley:

Meri taraf say couple ko bohat mubarak ho. :flower1:

I agree with LB....my saas was 50 when she had her second child....she was so embarrased and didnt tell us until she was in her 6 month. I dont think it is embarrasing...i thought it was a miracle! (told her to send me some of the wather she had been drinking..lol..)

Theres always a first, and this may not even be one.

Having said that, they are responsible for their actions and in this case for their child, it would help is they've thought it over thoroughly.

*ahem *rotfl lol

• There must be a reason that child is here. If it wasnt meant to be she would not have gotten pregnant at first place.

I think its her own life we should all worry about our own .Something like this is her and her husband’s decision :~)