Preach what you practice !

what’s up with this GS moderators and Channel managers , posting external links containing profanity and nudity { ref: veena malik 's new scandal } - happened on Three occasions ..

One question and One suggestion

Question

Are they going to receive infraction points for doing it ? I guess , if the law observers break some rule , they should get punished too …

Suggestion

It is high time to conduct a course regarding ’ GS posting : Rules and ethics ’ for GS moderators :slight_smile:

so they at least get clear about GS policies and Thus practice first and then preach it :slight_smile:

Regards

Re: Preach what you practice !

sab chalta hai as long as ur in the “right” group! :chai:

Naabigh bhai, I can only comment on what's been going on in Rendezvous. Whatever rules the Rendezvous mods were implementing, they did not break themselves so in fact they are practising what they are preaching. Only on one occassion did another team member post the BBC link which was edited out the minute an AV mod saw it. It was posted by Shamraz bhai for the sake of crediting BBC and saving GS from a copyright lawsuit since he copied and pasted an entire article from BBC.

No, we cannot issue infractions to team members, it is not even technically possible. That's not to say we have immunity from disciplinary procedures. However, in this case, I do not believe there is a need to implement any disciplinary procedure as I have already explained why Shamraz bhai posted the link. What we do need is a discussion amongst the team members in order to standardise the implementation of this rule on GS.

We do apologise for the confusion that one set of moderators was editing the inappropriate link and another was posting them for whatever reason. This sort of confusion can arise when dealing with situations that moderators do not come across often. There was confusion within the team with regards to editing out auto-censored words, for example. Some moderators did not allow the use of profanity even in the auto-censored/abbreviated form, whereas others did. This was discussed with all team members and now we have a standardised policy that all moderators of all channels are aware of. So this matter of posting inappropriate external links has also come to the attention of all team members after this incident and I'm sure no mistakes will be made thereafter. If a team member, now having clearly understood what is not allowed, is to purposely break this rule in the future, you can be sure they will be subject to our disciplinary procedures which involve verbal warnings followed by the revocation of their moderator rights.

Zareen, zara kabhi soch k baat bhi kar lete hain. This revocation of moderator rights that I speak of has been practised plenty of times in the past and there's nothing stopping us from doing so again. If you do come across a moderator getting away with something horrendous, please do report it. Otherwise, your statement is just a shot in the dark and completely unnecessary.

If you had seen any of the Rendezvous mods posting obscene links regarding this Veena Malik episode or any time before, you are all free to report it! Mods might not get infractions but they have a much more drastic system of being accountable to the team...as Barbie explained really well already!

But at least don't criticise without looking into a matter neutrally first!

and this coming from friends *is *an unpleasant surprise :)

Well , I wasn't in mood to ruin my holidays and the taste of 12 years old juice - I had in evening .. but now as you have made an effort sister - So I Should be courteous enough to reply .. So here you go ..

For the sake of argument , we presume that it was posted to reference the quoted BBC article - but still I expect my law observers to understand the rules better then the general users . Hence it was my discomfort .

Err is human but if it was done by me - I would have gained Infractions by now ! Poor me , even my posts get edited without learning the context.

Jo chah'ey Ap ka husan Karishma saaz karay :)

Just because you don't have it in place you cant bluntly say that Technically it is not possible - Believe me it is . let us don't go into technicalities :)

I didn't ask for any apology :)

But this profanity bit need to well explained to general users - One can not ignorantly tell us to go and look up in the dictionary , as even the perception and definition of Profanity changes its characteristics or attributes within GS team members.

I hope you know what I mean !

That's between you and ZK - I cant really comment on that !

O c'mon stop playing this victim card :) I didnt name or shame any moderator

And the prefix of my thread is suggestion not complaint ... I was way too much neutral !

And being anybody's friend doesn't stop me exercising the right and freedom of writing about what I feel and how I feel :)

So do I and that is why I acknowledged where we went wrong and apologised for it. What needs to be done is exactly what you suggested and what I said in my last post.

I cannot discuss infractions of other members with yourself. If they feel wronged, they can PM me and their infraction points can even be reversed if that's what we conclude.

As for explaining the profanity bit to users, I think we have done that quite well and members who have been with us for 10+ years shouldn't really be confused when it comes to something as simple as using the F word, for example. However, members will not be slapped with points for their first few naive mistakes. One particular member actually posted a porno link in their blog recently and we gave them the benefit of doubt that they were perhaps unaware of the rule and thought it was okay to post such links in one's blogs. They were given a verbal warning and the obscenity rule was explained to them. So when we come across members who may be genuinely confused of GS policies, or when we introduce new policies such as the one regarding auto-censored words, we do give members the time to make themselves aware of the rules and guidelines... we will edit their posts, PM them about it, let them know what is and isn't allowed, and in some instances we have repeated this process several times before taking strict action.

Lastly, editing your posts without learning the context... I don't know what posts you're referring to so it's difficult for me to comment on that. I would like to discuss that discretely with you so please PM me with the details if you like. I hope we didn't ruin your holidays, praa ji. Ghussa nai karo, you have every right to excercise your right of making suggestions or complaints on GS.

No worries at all

I didnt ask - did I :slight_smile:

I believe one should fight his/her own battle :slight_smile:

I am glad that you have brought this up - Otherwise I was just about to write an educational post for Muzna .. Where I am intended to explain her the glorification of the language , known as Urdu :slight_smile: .

Anyway I will take that up with her :slight_smile:

And Oii I am a senior government official - follow the protocol with me here , I don’t like my feedback posts replied by any one less then the director rank …

Just kidding - I bet they know I am nice with few people here thus they ask them to reply me posts - So I can’t do much :teary2:

Lock this one please , I need to prepare another battle ground :chai:

Lol no one asked me to reply here. TLK bhai has been away since Thursday and since Rendezvous was a part of this issue, I decided to butt in when I didn't see any other CMs online.

I'm glad you understand. Enjaay the holidays.