Praying while on a plane

What is the proper way? How do you determine when it is fajr/zuhr/asr etc. ? Do you just look out the window and determine the different timings? I’ll be traveling across continents in December and would like to be able to pray properly.

Jazakallah!

I think that is the only way, as far as I know and its not very difficult too. You can easily tell Fajr, Maghrib and Isha. Zuhr time can be guessed as well, lets say, 1 hour after noon to be on the safe side. Asr time can also be guessed if you refer it back from the sunset (If you observe the sun during asr time, you can tell that it has a distinctive appearance). Try your best and leave the rest upto Allah.

What will you do about wuzu? That has always been the biggest challenge to me during flights.

Thanks Ramyys! I know I did the above when I was going to Pak a few years back but wasn't sure if there was a set way or not. I guess I'll follow the same 'rule'.

Why is Wudu a challenge? :)
Although that crappy water totally dries out my skin!! :(

Assalam O Alaikum

I asked the same question to our Mufti saheb in Chicago and he said that we have to pray particular salat according current location of the plane. I did when I went to Saudi Arabia for Ummrah in August 2004 and to Malaysia in September 2004 for International Halal food conference. Traveling with airline such as United to Europe has some problem praying on the floor because plane was full and they will not allow. There is no indication of direction of Kibla but on Lufthansa to Jeddah I prayed on the floor because they alllow. You can get the current time on TV in front of you about location of the plane. On Malysian airline they allow to pray near the door which they reserved for prayers. One good thing about the Muslim airline is that they always have the direction of Qibla. Before you travel, please get the salat time table from www.icna.com of major cities you will be flying over then you know the local time of salat. There is watch which will tell you the direction of Qibla and time of salat at any time at any place on the earth. I have no problem doing wadu on the plane but it is recommended to have leather sacks.

The time of Fajar and Maghrib can not be determine from the plane because for example the ground will be dark and at plane, it will be bright, so you have to wait till you see no sun for magrhrib at plane.

But make sure eat only Halal foods because even on Malaysian airline who claim to serve Halal foods actually they are serving Dannon's La Creme yogurt which is not Halal because it contains Kosher gelatin made from non-zabiha beef in China because lack of knowledge of US made food products. They also serve US made non Halal cheese. I am communicating to them to remove those items. One bad things about Malaysian airline that they serve beer just like coke and I hate it.

PIA has requested my Halal food book "A Comprehensive List of Halal Food Products in US supermarkets" to carry Halal foods from USA. Muslim Meal at United is not a Muslim meal and I am still communicating to have real Muslim meals. It looks like Lufthansa buy Muslim meal from Pakistani restaurant in Frankfort (they serv chicken Qurma with rice and it was really a chicken qurma with all Masala) but other items such as bread rolls, salad dressing and desert are common for every meal, so please avoid them.

Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
www.muslimconsumergroup.com

Saudi Airlines have a section for praying, with a navigation unit that points the direction to Ka'bah.

Thank you Rasheed for the info!
I'll be flying via KLM, and most of it will be over the Atlantic so as Ramsyss suggested, it will be a lot of guess work involved.
I can pray sitting in my seat. I don't have a problem with that. I know a few people who believe that you can only pray while standing.

Assalam O Alaikum Rukhsarbibi,

The plane will be flying north east direction from east coast which will be Kibla direction, it has to fly over New England area to Qubeck or New Found land through Labrador area in Canada where they have world biggest air trafic control tower for all airlines, then to Ice land, Irland, England and to Europe. There are 5 (England) to 6 (Amsterdam)hourly time zone from East coast to Europe. You have to adjust the Namaz time accordingly, the direction of Qibla changes after Europe. You can figure out from the map on the screen in front of you. It depends upon what time you will be leaveing from east coast for example if you will be leaving between 7 and 9PM then you have to pray only Fajr untill you arrive in Amsterdam.

Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed

Rasheed sahib, there needs to be a give or take of a few minutes for Maghreb and Fajr timings as the sun may be visible or not completely set for Maghreb for a plane in the air while it could be a few minutes after Maghreb for the local population.

I once saw a man praying on a plane. He just started praying in an area in front of 2 passengers with more leg space (by the door) Was a PIA flight. I don't even think he had the courtesy to ask them if he may use their space like that. They were very much inconvenienced it seems but kindly didn't say anything but you could tell they were annoyed. He did not even have the courtesy to make the prayer short It seemed quite long. I was glad I wasn't sitting there. I have too much respect for prayer to say anything but I felt no respect for the man praying. I would never ever pray namaaz at the expense of others. If one wants to pray, they should only make it at their expense. I see some praying on the seat (just sitting). I think that may be more appropriate.

What if you're in a helicopter hovering directly above Ka'bah, which direction should you face during pray? I suppose you could set up some suspension device that would allow you to face directly down thus towards Ka'bah but what are the chances that the helicopter you’re in that’s hovering over Ka'bah has such a device? That would just be too ridiculous of a coincident.

^ r u making fun of where we Muslims turn towards while praying?

No, I don't really see the humor in that.

me neither. All i saw was some disrepect.

I was poking fun at those who come up with insane and improbable questions, if that's you then you should feel offended.

i remember once whilst praying in the plane, there as small area designated for prayer. There was jewish guy also praying there, so we were praying in one direction and the jewish guy was like facing 180 degrees the other way. now that was a strange experience.

*Originally posted by underthedome: *
I was poking fun at those who come up with insane and improbable questions, if that's you then you should feel offended.

maybe these questions are just "inane" and "improbable" to u. don't talk abt things u don't know

*Originally posted by lussi: *

maybe these questions are just "inane" and "improbable" to u. don't talk abt things u don't know

I asked an inane question and you questioned me for doing so lussi. Follow the own words that you preach.

Rukhi-Khala,Please understand and research the provisions provided
to “shorten Salah” and “Qazah Salats” and the rules of “Istanja” while in state of travelling. All your worries and rservations will be solved nicely.

These are the additional ‘Gems’ of Islam to make prayers convenient and easier plus graceful to an eye of the non-believer rather than inconvenient and discomforting.

There is already so much ‘pun’ buildup in this thread to carry on any further, if you know what i mean,Bon Voyage :wave:

im surprised nobody’s made a wtc joke by now. well resisted, non muslim posters :k: