Praying for a dead non-muslim ?

Re: Praying for a dead non-muslim ?

Sorry to disappoint you buddy but i dont agree with your preception.
LOL @ seminole's response

He did. And he said that there are angels with the funeral. Ulema say that he stood up for angels

Respect, I dont deny. The question was about "prayers for dead non-muslim"

And to be honest (and crude, maybe) if non-muslims can also enter Jannat, then all the muslims who keep submitting to Quran, Sunah, Fiqh and shariat day and night are the biggest looser cause they could've acheive jannat without going through that hardship, like their non-muslims friends did, who acheived that just by being "good humans"

Yes i agree muali you dont agreee what i have done is given you from the Quran, that doesnt mean i hate non-muslims but the question was asked by Minerva and i answered its Allaah i have no ill feelings brother saw i still call you my brother though u dont agree with my perception aaj thoda extra time mila hain to i am enjoying.

Well i understand from a non-muslim pov its kind of slightly rude but this is what is mentioned in the Quran overall the other 2 abrahimic faiths also have the same opinions about disbeliever to there faith.

Aap mujhe bina proof ke tuhmat laga rahe hain:). Mujhe proof chahiye are maine kal hi suna tha to thoda to time lega mujhe kya pata tha ki aaj hi ye sawal aajayega.

Acha link milgaya hain usually i dont tend to post any external links but just lazy today
http://www.islamonline.net/english/In_Depth/mohamed/1424/kharitah/article09.shtml

^^ Hazrat, my last para was not for you. It was a general statement.

maiN aur aap pay tuhmat lagaa'oon gaa. Astagfarullah.

chacha u r confused urself. so jesus ,moses were muslims??

Mamu,

Acha abhi tak aapko concept clear nahi hua hain ofcourse Jesus and Moses according to the muslims are MUSLIMS the ones who had submitted there will to God as the same God who sent Prophet mohammed also send Jesus and Moses with the same messages so they are muslims.

^^ Plus Jesus didn’t bring any thing new , it was continuation of shariyaat.aay mooosa.vii

Good stuff bahi :) keep it up Jazak Allah

Exactly. At least the pets will appreciate it. Now, how a dead non-muslim would ever see benefit to a Muslim prayer is beyond me.

I certainly would never want any other faith's incantations on my behalf. Cutting aside this "we're all brothers" CRAP for a sec, we should understand that there's a certain amount of respect shown to the deceased when we don't force our prayers on them. It's by no means a "nice" gesture, nor a meaningful one.

^^ Good point. Our prayer is not goingto benefit him. That is why I said that pray for his family (surviving one) for strentgh. Those comforting words will help them at that tough time

Seminole,

it is permissable in Islam to pray for pets?? Could you explain further please. I never heard that before

Isn't there but one God? Why can't any person of any faith ask Him to have mercy on a soul and ask forgiveness for their sins? To wish peace for them and strength and courage for the surviving family. Why woudn't/couldn't a dead person receive a benefit from such sincere prayers? There is no way that could be anything but showing respect. So yes, it is indeed nice and meaningful. (Unless you really don't care about the soul or families of non-Muslims the first place. If cross denominational friendshisp are crap. No prayer is meaningful if insincere.)

Besides, who really know the status of that person in the eyes of God?

I know less about Islam than most posting here, so that's really saying something. I'm sorry I was being sarcastic regarding a current thread where people are putting forth the devine theory that animals pray.

I don't know about in Islam, but I very much believe it is permissable, enouraged and smiled upon to pray for pets.

Because said person would not have appreciated it. Of course I could pray for all, living and dead, but that would be a prayer for myself out of love for God and his ways, I suppose. And though there may be one God, I personally wouldn't want people praying to Christ (as God) on my behalf. Or any of the Hindu deities. It's only natural for me to assume that the feeling is reciprocated.

Prayer is something special for those who do it with a particular meaning and form. There are other ways of expressing solidarity with the grief stricken. I have no problem with telling a Jewish or Christian friend that I hope God eases their pain, or any other appeal to God in a non-prayer (or at least, in a non-ritualized prayer)...there is enough common tradition there for me not to compromise on my own faith, or abstract God into something I don't believe in.

But, when a Muslim prays there is a particular form and ritual to it...it's more than simply appealing to God.

So yes, it is indeed nice and meaningful. (Unless you really don't care about the soul or families of non-Muslims the first place. If cross denominational friendshisp are crap. No prayer is meaningful if insincere.)

I just don't think prosthelization is something that should be done at that time....and praying for someone outside of your faith, I think, is exactly that.

What kind of a god punishes good people just because they arent Muslims? Sounds like a rather shallow god to me...

Someone said that if their is no distinction between Muslims and non Muslims as regards who goes to hell and who doesnt, then a Muslim might aswell not be a Muslim since it gains him no real benefit...

First question, are Muslims Muslim just to get in to heaven or for the sake of god?

Second, by the same token, if a Non Muslim is damned to hell no matter what he or she does, does this give them a ticket to murder, rape, cheat, steal? Why care about doing good, when god has already judged you...

Thanks for all of your responses although some of them went off topic. Anyhow, there is gotta be hadith on how Prophet Muhammad (PBuH) prayed for his loved once in his family who never converted to Islam.

Pakpatriot: I think you have yourself confused over a muslim and a believer.

You know the Mormans have a list of dead peoples names, they apparently have a network through which they get them... They believe that these people are burning in hell for not having accepted the Morman faith.
Hence they pray for these people on the list and actually baptise them as mormans to save their souls even though they are dead...

But many people have objected to the practice... Including one Jewish man who discovered his fathers name on the list.

The difference is?

The believer goes to jannat and Allah decides who has been a believer.