i don’t mean prayers to get preggo, i just mean to give you smart, sensible, healthy children, and to make you a smart, sensible, healthy parent capable of raising good children who are mindful of their manners and are good Muslims and all that.
i am so anxious about getting preggo because i keep thinking i’m going to be a nut bar of a mom and raise a bunch of badly-behaved, spoiled children.
wahhh! i need help.
maybe this belongs in religion, but i’d really rather not post there because a) its partly about my mental health, and b) i feel like i know y’all and religion is a bunch of people i don’t know and this is so personal…
SGC, i will PM you with something. Also, whenever we remember, hubs and I try to make dua that may Allah give us a naik, salih and healthy child. I have also been told to read as much quran as possible, namaz etc because after abt 20 weeks the child can hear outside noises too and its a good way to introduce kids to your religion like that. Like some ppl put music on for their kids.
SGC, I used to feel the same way before I had them kidos.
As far as mental health is concerned, kids are often a reflection of their parents. Happy parents, happy kids. Especially during pregnancy, associate yourself with energetic and positive people not those you weigh you down. Like, when I was pregnant and used to work, I had to drive 45 mins one way and some desi aunties would scare me saying I’m putting my unborn child in danger, and that I should be resting all the time, etc. and eating ghee and this and that… Stay active as much as possible, eat well and have fun. All that has an impact on your child. Once the baby is born, have good expectations. It’s a beautiful feeling with every moment to be cherished.
Regarding raising the kids as emotionally strong, well rounded, with Islamic values, I say once again, kids follow by example rather than rules. I’ve tried being strict when teaching my daughter Qur’an, but I realized that instilling love rather than fear has worked better. Also, kids need a good exposure to different things, different activities. ANd most important quality time with parents. That brings security in relationships.
If you are a healthy mom, you can take care of your kids better. What we desi moms sometimes forget is that if we neglect ourselves, it rubs off on the children. Out attitide guides the kids attitudes.
SGC, u're going to be a great mother Mashallah! You take care of the smallest details and a baby will be the center of it all Inshallah! =) Play Surah-Maryam when u conceive Inshallah!
Not to fear...when you have your very own little one, things change so very much. I used to abhor little ones - clingy demanding little brats as I saw it. But when I had my OWN, my outlook changed SO very much. I hate to discipline them but I've learned that if they DONT have discipline, they are less happy and more misbehaving. It really is so very different when its your own. Its the toughest job you'll ever love - lol dam the US Navy, they STOLE that slogan from MOMMIES!
SGC, try reading Sura Al-Imran verse 38 for a pious child.......its the dua made by prophet Zachariya. I agree with most of the advice given above.....never heard about playing Sura Maryam during conception though! I know there is a dua to be recited during baby making process! Its been quoted in hadeeth.....I don't have it at hand otherwise I would have posted it!
They say to read Surah Maryam & Surah Muhammad during conception and throughout pregnancy. Surah Maryam will make the labor easier; atleast thats what ive heard.
Awww SGC, iA ull be a great, lovey dovey mother. I think when it comes to US having kids we kinda all think on the same note..
Its the last ten days of Ramadan, so make as much dua as possible in these days!
This is a dua that you are supposed to make before intercourse for the protection of your children:
‘In the name of Allaah. O Allaah, keep the devil away from us and keep the devil away from what you have blessed us with.’
Here are some other duas from the Quran for our children/family:
Our Lord! Grant that our spouses and our offspring be a comfort to our eyes, and give us the grace to lead those who are conscious of You.
(25:74)
Our Lord! Make them enter the Garden of Eden which You have promised to them, and to the righteous from among their fathers, their wives and their offspring, for verily You are alone the Almighty and the truly Wise.
(40:8)