Praise for whom is more important?? Allah or the Prophet SAW??

Alhamdulillah - (All praise be to Allah)

What does this sentence mean. Does it mean only Allah is worthy of all praises.

Which follows into the question..

What should consume more of our time? Praising Allah or the Prophet SAW??

Re: Praise for whom is more important?? Allah or the Prophet SAW??

Wahabis vs Barelvis :D

Peace Pakistanimard,

All Praise is due to Almighty Allah and the way of Praising Almighty Allah is by following ‘Sunnah’ of our beloved Prophet Muhammad :saw2:

Example: We read ‘Namaaz’ to Praise Almighty Allah but the way we read namaaz is as Prophet Muhammad :saw2: taught us.

when we praise muhammed s.a.w it means we are praising him s.a.w as well as allah, because allah is the creator and our prophet s.a.w is his creation. and when we praise allah then we are praising only allah and allah alone because he is almighty he depends on nothing and he is under nobody's control.
whereas prophet s.a.w is his beloved, when you praise him s.a.w you praise allah too, and definately it makes allah happy.
and no doubt we cannot praise our nabi s.a.w enough because there is no limit and no boundaries of praising him s.a.w and as a matter of fact prophet s.a.w is praised more than anybody else because allah himself our beloved s.a.w.

jisne allah allah kaha par nabi s.a.w ke ishq se inqar kiya wo shaitan ban gaya
jisne nabi nabi kaha aur nabi s.a.w ke ishq me fana hua wo hayder ali ban gaya

Peace waise88,

Pardon me but I heard:

(اے پیغمبر لوگوں سے) کہہ دو کہ اگر تم خدا کو دوست رکھتے ہو تو میری پیروی کرو خدا بھی تمہیں دوست رکھے گا اور تمہارے گناہ معاف کر دے گا اور خدا بخشنے والا مہربان ہے

Look for answer in Quran first. If Allah himself is praising Prophet pbuh then we have no choice but to follow Allah's sunnat and praise Prophet pbuh first . When we praise Prophet pbuh we inadvertently praise Allah.

lkk pls quote either in english or quranic arabic

This phrase doesn't seem right. Allah doesn't have sunnah, Prophet (PBUH) did.

Allah, praises are firstly for the creator & than creator's most beloved.

we should praise the creator, if we follow the sunnah of the Prophet (pbuh) we inadvertently praise both the creator and the messenger.

Allah.

Peace pakistanimard

You ask what should consume more of our time ... As though the time spent determines the type of love and praise we give to each ... I would say the question is loaded with a misleading premise.

Sending durood is unlike sending hamd ... For sending durood we ask Allah (SWT) to send His blessings on the holy prophet (SAW), saying "Allahu Akbar" or "SubhanAllah" is directing our acknowledgment of Him ... If I spend 5 minutes saying "La ilaha ilAllah" and 25 minutes saying "AllahummaSall'AlaSayyidunaMuhammad.." I have:

Acknowledged Allah (SWT) for 5 mins and asked Allah (SWT) to send His blessings on RasoolAllah (SAW) for a further 25 mins ...

I have sent praises to Allah and asked for blessings for Muhammad (SAW) ... Never will I worship RasoolAllah (SAW) even if I sent durood for the rest of my life, and never am I acknowledging another Power even if I only acknowledge that Power for a few seconds ...

Hence, I can only say that the question is wrong and the implication that "time" is related to this equation between Allah (SWT) and RasoolAllah (SAW) to see whether we are allocating the importance appropriately is not true ... Time spent in either way if done so in a manner that is needed and appropriate ... it can only be a good thing ... As Muslims we love Allah (SWT) more than RasoolAllah (SAW) ... But some of us never say this openly in case it appears that we are being reserved with our love to RasoolAllah (SAW) ... If we understood each other properly then we would not ask such questions ... We should by default just trust one another ...

Muslims do not follow the Sunnah of Allah Almighty – He is the Creator. We follow His commands.

We follow the Sunnah of Prophet Muhammad (Peace be Upon him) – the best of and most beloved of Creation of Allah Almighty.

We must keep everything in proportion and reason when comparing the Creator and the created.

In the Blessed Quran – Word of Allah Almighty – Allah Himself has stated that Praise belongs to Him.

In Surah al-Fatiha, “The Opening”, the first chapter of the Holy Quran. (The surah is described in various Ahadith as “the mother of the Book” (Umm al-Kitab)) which all Muslims must recite in each and every prayer, is stated that Praise belongs to Allah Almighty.

*In the name of God, the Lord of Mercy, the Giver of Mercy! 1:1
Praise belongs to Allah, Lord of the Worlds, 1:2
the Lord of Mercy, the Giver of Mercy, 1:3
Master of the Day of Judgement. 1:4
It is You we worship; it is You we ask for help. 1:5
Guide us to the straight path: 1:6
the path of those You have blessed, those who incur no anger and who have not gone astray. 1:7

Following are a few of ayahs of the Blessed Quran which confirm that Allah Almighty has the FIRST RIGHT to Praise.

So the last remnant of the people who did wrong was cut off. Praise belongs to Allah, the Lord of all the worlds! (Surat al-An‘am, 6:45)

And We will remove whatever of ill-feeling is in their breasts; the rivers shall flow beneath them and they shall say: All praise is due to Allah Who guided us to this, and we would not have found the way had it not been that Allah had guided us; certainly the messengers of our Lord brought the truth; and it shall be cried out to them that this is the garden of which you are made heirs for what you did. [Sural al-A’araaf 7:43]

“The seven heavens and the Earth and all they contain glorify Him, and there is not a thing but extols His glory; but you do not understand how they glorify Him.” [Sūrah al-Isrā’ 17: 44]

``Seest thou not that it is Allah Whose praises are celebrated by all beings in the heavens and on earth, and by the birds with extended wings? Each one knows its prayer and psalm, And Allah is aware of what they do.‘’ (Surah al-Hajj 22:18)

And He is Allah, there is no god but He! All praise is due to Him in this (life) and the hereafter, and His is the judgment, and to Him you shall be brought back. [Surah al-Qassas 28:70]

“So glory be to Allah when you enter upon the night and when you enter upon the morning – unto Him be praise in the heavens and on Earth! – and at the Sun’s decline and at midday.”** [Sūrah al-Rūm 30: 17-18]**

Allah also says: “And assuredly We gave David grace from Us, (saying): O ye hills and birds, echo his psalms of praise!” [Sūrah Saba 34: 10]

Allah made Earth a stable home for you and the sky a dome; formed you, giving you the best of forms; and provided you with good and wholesome things. That is Allah, your Lord. Blessed be Allah, the Lord of all the worlds. He is the Living—there is no deity but Him—so call on Him, making your religion sincerely His. Praise be to Allah, the Lord of all the worlds. (Surah Ghafir, 40:64-65)

All praise belongs to Allah, the Lord of the heavens and the Lord of Earth, Lord of all the worlds. All greatness belongs to Him in the heavens and Earth. He is the Almighty, the All-Wise. (Surat al-Jathiya, 45:36-37)

Allah says: “All that is in the heavens and on Earth glorify Allah.” [Sūrah al-Hashr: 59:1]

“Everything in the heavens and on Earth glorifies Allah.”** [Sūrah al-Jumu`ah 62: 1]***

In daily prayers all the Muslims recite the following when after ruku’ postion.

“Sami’Allahu liman hamidah” (Allah hears those who praise Him)“Rabbana lakal hamd.” (Our Lord, praise be to You).

In hadith we have the following.

Jabir bin `Abdullah said that the Messenger of Allah said:

(The best Dhikr (remembering Allah) is La ilaha illallah and the best supplication is Al-Hamdu Lillah.) - An-Nasa’I; At-Tirmidhi; Ibn Majah

Hafs (ra) mentioned that Umar said to Ali, "We know La ilaha illallah, Subhan Allah and Allahu Akbar. What about Al-Hamdu Lillah’’ `Ali said, "A statement that Allah liked for Himself, was pleased with for Himself and He likes that it be repeated.‘’

Also, Ibn Abbas said, "Al-Hamdu Lillah is the statement of appreciation. When the servant says Al-Hamdu Lillah, Allah says, My servant has praised Me.

The Blessed Prophet (Peace be upon him) has recommended that we should the following as much as possible.

(There is) none worthy of worship except Allah. He is only One. (There is) no partners for Him. For Him (is) the Kingdom. And for Him (is) the Praise. He gives life and acuses death. And He (is) Alive. He will not die, never, ever. Possessor of Majesty and Reverence. In His hand (is) the goodness. And He (is) the goodness. And He (is) on everything powerful.)

Allah Almighty and His angels bless the blessed Prophet (peace be upon him) and Believers are commanded to pray to Allah Almighty to bless the Porphet (peace be upon him) with best of salutations.

Surely Allah and His angels bless the Prophet; O you who believe! call for (Divine) blessings on him and salute him with a (becoming) salutation.** [Surah al-Ahzaab 33:56]**

We should praise Allah Almighty first as it is due to Him, then only we can praise His beloved – the best of His creation. This will be more pleasing to the blessed Prophet (Peace be upon him) as he did the same. The believers follow the Sunnah of the blessed Prophet (Peace be upon him) and not the Sunnah of Allah Almighty!!!

Interestingly

Muhammad means worthy of praise

The meaning of Ahmad is “highly praised”

:subhan:

is it like should you eat or drink?

and the answer is both, some may find more pleasure in praising the beloved :saw2: so let them and some may like to praise the praise worthy ALLAH subhanwataallah, so let them. To me this is like oxygen, muslims cant live without it.

khuda ka zikr karay, zikr e Mustafa na karay
hamaray moonh mein ho esi zubaan khuda na karay

Can you please name which sect says so? and do give some authentic reference. I am asking this because I have never come across any sect which has such kind of belief...

Jissay Allah khud Praise karay ussay Praise karna ain ibadah hay. actually ... Allah nay khud kaha hay kay Prophet (SAW) kee praise karo (koyie intaha kee limit bhie nahie batayee) aur jiss baat ko Allah khud karnay ko kahay uss may zaidtee kaisee? ... Koyi insaan, Prophet (SAW) ko jatna bhie praise karay ... Na apni 'Praise' may Allah say sabqat lay ja sakta hay na Allah ka muqablah ker sakta hay.

Since no one can overdo what Allah does, it means one cannot overdo praising Prophet (SAW) however much they praise Prophet (SAW). Those who believe that anyone is overdoing while praising Prophet (SAW) than that person is indirectly saying that the person praising Prophet (SAW) is overdoing what Allah does [Praise Prophet (SAW) and ask all to praise Prophet (SAW)], and that means such person is undermining Allah and his praises towards Prophet (SAW). Those who undermine Allah in any of his actions and sayings are children of Shaitan.

Prophet (SAW) is one whom even Angels praise and thus amongst humans those who praise Prophet (SAW) extensively are nearest to Angels in their this deed… and whoever feel reluctance in praising Prophet (SAW) or feel that praising him is too much, they are opposite of Angels or are from amongst Shaitan.

A person can be Unitarian but cannot be Muslim [Ummat-e-Rasul Muhammad Mustafa (SAW)] if that person praises Allah alone and do not 'believe and praise' Prophet (SAW).

Anyhow, this being ‘Unitarian’ only applies to non-Muslims. As for Muslims:

If a person calls himself Muslim and still has doubt on praising Prophet (SAW), however extensively, than that person is certainly Munafiq (and Kharjee).

We should remember that: Saying
‘Ash-e-du-an La-e-Laa-ha ill-Allah’ does not make a person Muslim rather it only makes a person Unitarian (believer on one God) … But it is the addition
‘Wa’ Ash-e-du-anna Muhammadan Abdahu wa Rasul-Allah’ that makes a person Muslim.

As for Praises to Prophet (SAW), that is obligatory on Muslims and is higher form of Ibadah as it is same as Praising Allah (ST) in best possible way as by doing that we praise the best and most dear of Allah's creation. It is also sunnah of Allah …

[Sunnah of Allah is what Allah does and not just says or commands. For instance, Allah creates is his Sunnah. In this material world, Allah gets everything done through (intermediaries) ‘waseela’ is his sunnah. Allah do justice is his Sunnah, etc. None of them are commands of Allah but it is ways of Allah … or Sunnah of Allah.

It does not mean, Allah is limited or bounded by his Sunnah, but that is how Allah does or prefers to do, though if Allah decides he can do things that is completely opposite to his sunnah, like talking to Musa (AS) in this material world or making Isa (AS) born without father, etc]

To understand ‘Praising of Prophet (SAW)’ by layman… we have to acknowledge that it is Allah alone who created everything, including Prophet (SAW).

Muslims know Prophet (SAW) as messenger of Allah but reality is much more than that, such that even Allah and his angels praises him (from Quran). From hadiths we know that soul of Prophet (SAW) was the first creation of Allah and Allah loves him (SAW) more than any of his creations.

It is human nature (nature that Allah gave in human) that when we want to praise someone we do not praise that person but praise the work that person done and that is considered as praising that person more appropriately. Actually praising someone for what someone does is lesser praise than praising what that person has done. For instance:

Consider an artist … a painter, a writer, an actor, poet etc.
If we say that:
What a great Painter!
What a great Writer!
What a great Actor!
What a great Poet!

(For Allah, such praise would be Allah-o-Akbar)

Here we are praising the artist but that praise is not equal to nor would be liked by the artist as much than if we would say:

What a great painting! (Regarding particular painting by that Painter that the Painter likes most)
What a great article or book! (Regarding particular ‘article or book’ written by the Writer that the Writer likes most)
What a great acting! (Regarding particular acting by that Actor that the Actor likes most)
What a great poetry! (Regarding particular poetry by that Poet that the Poet likes most)

As in all above cases, we are not only just praising the work done by these artists but are also approving the work that artist considers as his best.

For instance if we say that to get ‘Pakistan as homeland’ for Muslim in India was a miraculous political achievement (amongst people who know that this achievement was made possible by great leadership of Quaid-e-Azam)… than we cannot say that it is praising ‘Pakistan as homeland of Muslims from subcontinent’ but would be praising Quaid-e-Azam and this way of Praising would be better than just saying that Quaid-e-Azam was great politician.

Prophet (SAW), about whom we know very little other than his life in this world as messenger of Allah, though we know that Allah loves him most, love his creations praising him (SAW), Allah praises him (SAW) and Allah’s angels also praise him (SAW) and that Allah calls him ‘Rahmat-ul-lil Alameen’ than obviously praising Prophet (SAW) is same as praising best of Allah’s creation and thus is best form of ‘Praising Allah’ and is also ibadah of highest order.

[Note: When we talk about people Praising Prophet (SAW) we are talking about Muslims who consider Prophet (SAW) as creation and messenger of Allah and it is Allah who saves Prophet (SAW) from getting considered by anyone as anything above being creation of Allah... so one should not get worried of praising Prophet (SAW). Only those get worried who are ignorant or are friends of Shaitan and hates Prophet (SAW) and his status in front of Allah and love of Allah towards him (SAW)]

Monk … this post is crossing the line … Humour is okay to a certain extent, but this is not funny and extremely problematic regarding Tawheed. Even if this is true, repeating this in such jest is a massive problem … “an amazing solution” it is not …

What is wrong with people these days … :nahi: I have seen an increase in this type of sentiment towards Islam lately by people born Muslim … :frowning:

aay hay dil khush kar ditta tussi.
so beautiful truly so beautiful post on my prophet s.a.w.
no hater can reply against this.
masha allah.

Beautiful, what a nice post. JazakAllah.