Even though it is good to discuss such matters, my personal experience in daily life has not been that good with people who try to compare the two and give more importance to one compared to the other. Whether character or appearance, when they over-emphasize one (the one they are practicing) compared to the other (they are not practicing), their practical life gives a clear impression that they are satisfied that their practicing one aspect loyally would compensate for the lack of other, which isn't true.
Oh I totally agree with what you said in the rest of the post. I believe that the beloved prophet (s.a.w.) could have made it clear. Fact is that he didn't. Which leaves us to derive a conclusion from his actions and of course it would be ideal to both appear and practice.
In the same vein I also believe that had he been asked to answer the same question I have posed, he would have agreed that character supersedes appearance.
And I also agree that adhering to one aspect while ignoring the other does not compensate for the lack.
.. namaz na parho aur mullah ban ke ghoomo to kia faida.
namaz perho or disco clubs main ja sharab peo or naacho to namaz ka bhi kia faida ?
dunno if anyone addressed this or not but.....
mullah ban kay goomnay say app ka koi farz ada nahin hota
magar namaz perho to app ka farz ada hota hai....uss kay baad aap aur kitnay rules break karo uss ka hisaab ho ja'ay ga
and no, I don't mean to suggest that one should break the rules or that one will definitely be forgiven. Allah knows best.
dunno if anyone addressed this or not but.....
mullah ban kay goomnay say app ka koi farz ada nahin hota
magar namaz perho to app ka farz ada hota hai....uss kay baad aap aur kitnay rules break karo uss ka hisaab ho ja'ay ga
and no, I don't mean to suggest that one should break the rules or that one will definitely be forgiven. Allah knows best.
Reminds me of the ayat in Quran that says that Salah stops a person from obscene and wrong acts.
If someone's salah is not stopping him or her from intoxicants, murders, stealing, rape, etc. etc., then, clearly there is something missing in salah - intension, purity, faith anything.
Oh I remember watching that... had Bollywood muslims. Agree with TLK.. namaz na parho aur mullah ban ke ghoomo to kia faida.
namaz perho or disco clubs main ja sharab peo or naacho to namaz ka bhi kia faida ?
Reminds me of the ayat in Quran that says that Salah stops a person from obscene and wrong acts.
If someone's salah is not stopping him or her from intoxicants, murders, stealing, rape, etc. etc., then, clearly there is something missing in salah - intension, purity, faith anything.
granted. the salah may be incomplete.....but it is in fact being offered.
whether it is being accepted or not is something we will never know.
Alot of us are saying appearance is as important as practicing Islam. This is an ideal situation I believe and if we all did this, the currently wreckless and lost muslims around the world would become a strong Ummah.
In the non ideal world though, which one is better:
A muslim who dresses decently covering up, behaves decently in language and morals , practices Islamic values but doesnt do a hijab/beard
Or
A muslim who does hijab/beard, but lusts , lies, gali galoches, drinks, etc?
Which one is slightly better off then the other one? though both fall short of representing a complete muslim.
Practice in fact is "the most" important thing. but appearance is no less, that you could leave it and say because I pray i dont need to follow the rest. If still there is some doubt, this verse from Al Quran should remove it
........ Do you, then, believe in some parts of the Book, and disbelieve in others? So, what can be the punishment of those among you who do that, except disgrace in present life? And, on the Day of Judgement, they shall be turned to the most severe punishment. And Allah is not unaware of what you do.Al Baqara - 85
and "the Book" ----> shariya/ Quran + Sunnah + Hadeeth
and ALLAH knows the best
PS: this thread is full of valuable discussion from both sides, no matter how many people reject or bring up whatever excuses, some will read and accept INSHA ALLAH. Part of the credit of their islah will goes to OP, irrespective of the purpose of the thread
Alot of us are saying appearance is as important as practicing Islam. This is an ideal situation I believe and if we all did this, the currently wreckless and lost muslims around the world would become a strong Ummah.
In the non ideal world though, which one is better:
A muslim who dresses decently covering up, behaves decently in language and morals , practices Islamic values but doesnt do a hijab/beard
Or
A muslim who does hijab/beard, but lusts , lies, gali galoches, drinks, etc?
Which one is slightly better off then the other one? though both fall short of representing a complete muslim.
Point to note here is that, happily settling for the non-ideal, compromising and letting go the other important factors of practice, without enough struggle of transforming the non-ideal into ideal, or moving out of that place which makes it difficult, to a place which makes it comparatively easier to practice your deen to the fullest, is in fact negligence and we will not be able to justify this at any cost.
As someone said earlier in this thread, gunah-e-sagheera if committed regularly and with no shame and feeling of guilt, transforms into gunah-e-kabeera, may ALLAH protect us all from this.
This discussion is somewhat fallacious because it assumes that appearing Muslim means dressing like a stereotypical mullah. Do you guys realise that the guy in this picture is dressed as a Muslim as per the fardh male hijab requirements?
Covering one’s awrah is the bare minimum a practising Muslim is expected to follow so no you don’t have to keep a beard and wear shalwar above the ankles as per the sunnah but I also don’t get why a practising Muslim would dress like this, exposing his awrah. His namaaz mightn’t even be accepted by Allah swt if he’s continously violating other fardh requirements.
.....Practice in fact is "the most" important thing.......
PS: this thread is full of valuable discussion from both sides, no matter how many people reject or bring up whatever excuses, some will read and accept INSHA ALLAH. Part of the credit of their islah will goes to OP, irrespective of the purpose of the thread
Thank you Aceones.
An important thing that I have learned from posting such matters on GS is that instead of thinking that perhaps someone might learn something from the discussion and begin to do something that they are not currently doing, people focus on the negative.
Not only here in GS but also in non-virtual life the same applies. People will be quick to tell you where you are "not quite" or "not fully" meeting the 'requirements'.
Wouldn't it be nice to know that perhaps one person will begin to practice their deen or those that are already practising will begin to adopt the prescribed appearance as a result of what they have read or discussed?
in agreement except for the portion in bold.
just a pet peeve of mine that nobody should make a judgement call on anybody’s namaz. that is purely between Allah and banda/bandi.
All over the thread I keep reading about bearded men and hijabi women so obviously the discussion seems to be focusing on that aspect of appearance only.
you're not wrong......if this wasn't the "assumed" appearance then I don't think that anyone would have any issues anyway.
I should point out that the discussion that I watched with Dr. Naik had to do with the bearded appearance and the fact that in some parts of the world this may land you in a position of disadvantage......
An important thing that I have learned from posting such matters on GS is that instead of thinking that perhaps someone might learn something from the discussion and begin to do something that they are not currently doing, people focus on the negative.
Not only here in GS but also in non-virtual life the same applies. People will be quick to tell you where you are "not quite" or "not fully" meeting the 'requirements'.
Wouldn't it be nice to know that perhaps one person will begin to practice their deen or those that are already practising will begin to adopt the prescribed appearance as a result of what they have read or discussed?
quoting only half of the first line of what i said simply changes the meaning of what i said : ) even the same post had a verse from quran-e-kareem on this very subject of selective acceptance.
agree with first two paras of you, but about the last one, well its the desired result when you dont see soo much encourangement from other areas for not to "adopt the prescribed appearance" as in this thread. what do most people need to do bad things? sometimes just a mere hope and support that others are also doing wrong whats bad if i do it a few times, and then those few times never end.
point is, stressing on that "adoption" is whats needed, not the otherwise.
and that for you is a "stereotypical mullah" ? thats nobody's fault if its so, but yours.
in agreement except for the portion in bold.
just a pet peeve of mine that nobody should make a judgement call on anybody's namaz. that is purely between Allah and banda/bandi.
No judgements in there Muzna, just a thought that if I'm a 5 waqt ki namazi but a hypocrite in other matters in life then I should be aware that meri jo thori si ibadat hai wo bhi qabool nahin ho rahi shayad.
quoting only half of the first line of what i said simply changes the meaning of what i said : ) even the same post had a verse from quran-e-kareem on this very subject of selective acceptance.
changing the meaning was certainly not the intent........I was merely stressing a point that you also mentioned......by repeating it.
No judgements in there Muzna, just a thought that if I'm a 5 waqt ki namazi but a hypocrite in other matters in life then I should be aware that meri jo thori si ibadat hai wo bhi qabool nahin ho rahi shayad.
and that is where I differ in my thought process perhaps......
because I would see it as you may have some faults but you are completing your farz so insha-Allah your faults may, at some point, be corrected.