PPP, PML-N set for talks on caretaker setup

PPP, PML-N set for talks on caretaker setup**

ISLAMABAD: After having reached an amiable consensus over a new chief election commissioner, the country’s two largest political parties are now said to be planning to open talks for bringing in a caretaker setup to oversee general elections. Both are said to want fresh parliamentary polls to be held within this year.

Much is at stake – if the proposed negotiations between the governing Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and opposition Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) succeed, the outcome is likely to be the first civilian-to-civilian transition in the country’s history.

One PML-N leader said the two parties would hold talks in two phases. The first phase would involve only the PPP and PML-N; the second, other groups from the ruling alliance and opposition.

**The provinces question
PML-N insiders also said the opposition party would push for appointing new governors in all four provinces ahead of the polls because they can influence the elections, although their powers have been reduced in the 18th Constitutional Amendment.

The PML-N also wants the ruling party to be clear on one particular issue – the question of who will play the role of the opposition in Sindh and Balochistan, neither of which have an effective opposition. The question remains vital because, according to the formula agreed upon under the 20th Amendment, there has to be an opposition to propose names for the leaders of a caretaker government.

**Second phase
Insiders said the two parties also had differing opinions on how they should involve other parties into the second round of talks. Officials said the government negotiators are in favour of giving them a direct role in the talks while Leader of the Opposition Chaudhry Nisar Ali wants their involvement be more indirect.

He proposed that the PPP should separately take its allies into confidence, while the PML-N would talk to opposition groups in and outside parliament. Nisar, Senator Pervaiz Rasheed and Ishaq Dar are likely negotiators for the PML-N while the PPP team is expected to be led by Religious Affairs Minister Khursheed Ahmed Shah.

Tribune

This is going ot be very crucial for a fair and free election as the current term expires. PPP and PML-N will have to give equal weight to political forces outside of the parliament to have an across-the-board consensus on the caretaker setup. Any under-the-table deal or non-seriousness towards the opinion of other parties will deprive the whole election exercise of credence.

Re: PPP, PML-N set for talks on caretaker setup

Forces outside of the Parliament are the voters...unless you're talking about tangra parties. They're irrelevant.

PTI is a major force outside the parliament with over 1 million registered members (highest number of registered members for any political party in Pakistan) and highest popularity ranking at present according to all the national/international surveys conducted recently. Any set up for transitional period without taking PTI on board will make the whole election process questionable.

For once this country needs a free and fair election where the voters can use the right of their franchise without any interference-outside pressure. Appointment of Fakhrudin G Ibrahim as CEC is a good step to ensure this goal. We need further steps in the right direction to make the upcoming elections more credible..

By spending Chanda money ,party alive on internet and media .

and how PPP survived over this period? :hmmm: Murda parasti aur jaddi pushti corruption? :faizy:

If it is a useless party, is insignificant, is alive on internet only, is not going to win any seats, is a tanga party, why do you spend all your hours being obsessed with it?

Ask the young people/women in your own home.. and if you don't believe them check the latest national-international surveys. As far as media and internet are concerned.. they are not inhibited by species from Jupiter..

You are also on the internet at the moment! Its a new world of internet!

I am using my personal money .

This is some sort of enjoyment for me.
Let me be happy .

May you be even more happy in the coming years. :hypo: And keep us all entertained.

chalain aap enjoy karain. kam sey kam aap loot maar tau nahee ker rahay. aap key leader tau masha Allah haram khori ker key enjoy ker rahay hain... hamara kya hai, bijli ka bill aata hai tau sari enjoyment la'an-ta'aan main badal jati hai.

Aap ka leader bhi kam naheen
Haramkhori through other means
From male ........ to Chanda khori
Not different .

Prey for me .

I wonder Dhar-matmay of anti-ppp can only see through microscope, the corruption in PPP and its leadership, but wearing + 20 glasses they can not see any wrong with their IPB chandah khor with other traits also. :)

I will. I always pray for the good people of the world.

That’s the least I can do, remembering them when I pray.

Had PML-N resigned from the Assemblies as demanded by PTI, was it possible to enforce personality like Fakhruddin G Ibrahim as CEC? in guess had PML-N taken that stupid decision to resign back then, today we might had Abdal Hameed Dogar as a CEC...

I hope PML-N shows same maturity to nominate neutral personalities in the center and the four provincial care take set-up...

The figment of imagination keeps jiyalas hopeful that IK is corrupt like their Mr 10% dacoo :hehe:

Puraaney rates kab tak quote karo ge bhai??? :smack:

kisi ne naya quote nahi diya abhi tak :bummer: