PPP & Hussain Haqqani

Hussain Haqqani a PPP leader admitting of what otherwise is known as treason… there was a Memo- Gate Scandal and i guess Haqqani is confirming it?

https://www.dawn.com/news/1320175/haqqani-claims-his-connections-led-us-to-kill-osama

Haqqani claims his ‘connections’ led US to kill Osama

WASHINGTON: Pakis*tan’s former US ambassador Husain Haqqani has claimed that his ‘connections’ with the Obama administration enabled the United States to target and kill Al Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden.

In an article published in The Washington Post on Friday, Mr Haqqani defended the Trump team’s contacts with Russia during and after the 2016 US presidential elections and said he also had established similar relations with members of the Obama campaign during the 2008 elections.

Those contacts “led to closer cooperation between Pakistan and the United States in fighting terrorism over the 3 1/2 years I served as ambassador” and “eventually enabled the United States to discover and eliminate bin Laden without depending on Pakistan’s intelligence service or military, which were suspected of sympathy toward Islamist militants”.

Mr Haqqani wrote that the friends he made in the Obama campaign team were “able to ask, three years later, as National Security Council officials, for help in stationing US Special Operations and intelligence personnel on the ground in Pakistan”.

Explaining how he responded to those requests, the former ambassador wrote: “I brought the request directly to Pakistan’s civilian leaders, who approved. Although the United States kept us officially out of the loop about the operation, these locally stationed Americans proved invaluable when Obama decided to send in Navy SEAL Team 6 without notifying Pakistan.”

Mr Haqqani recalled that in November 2011, he was forced to resign as ambassador after Pakistan’s military-intelligence apparatus gained the upper hand in the country’s perennial power struggle.

“Among the security establishment’s grievances against me was the charge that I had facilitated the presence of large numbers of CIA operatives who helped track down bin Laden without the knowledge of Pakistan’s army — even though I had acted under the authorisation of Pakistan’s elected civilian leaders,” he wrote in the Post.

Mr Haqqani said the purpose of his cooperation with US officials was to ensure a victory in the fight against terrorists.

“Unfortunately, the United States did not attain victory in Afghanistan, and the Pakistani government’s behaviour toward militant Islamists did not change on a permanent basis. But for the period I was in office, the two nations worked jointly toward their common goals — the essence of diplomacy,” he wrote.

Examine: Maybe it would have been better if Osama were still with us

Mr Haqqani said his article also covered the diplomatic exchanges about visas and the end result of the US pursuit of bin Laden and cited allegations against him over the visa issue.

“There is no new ‘admission’ over the visas as suggested by some in the Pakistani media who choose not to examine the real issue relating to bin Laden living in Abbottabad for years,” he wrote.

When contacted, PPP spokesman Senator Farhatullah Babar said the visa issue had been raised in the past also. “All procedures were followed in the issuance of visas to the Americans and no complaint had been made by any branch of the government,” he said.

Mr Babar clarified that Mr Haqqani now worked independently and was not a spokesperson for the PPP government of the time.

In an email to Dawn, Mr Haqqani said on Sunday that he had “retained complete record of every visa issued to US officials” while he served as ambassador. “I will be compelled to make it public, with authorisations including those by senior military personnel, if conspiracy theories continue to be circulated to target the patriotism of civilians,” he warned.

Reacting to the huge public reaction to his Post article, Mr Haqqani said: “It is time … to stop agitating over visas to Americans and for facing the real question of why Osama bin Laden was in Pakistan and how Americans were able to find him while our intelligence service could not.”

Quoting from a statement that former prime minister Yousuf Raza Gilani made after the May 2, 2011, US raid on an Abbottabad compound that killed Osama, Mr Haqqani said: “The real issue is not how many Americans – our allies and aid benefactors – got visas but rather who gave visa to bin Laden.”

Mr Haqqani said that after he began reading about the Trump administration’s contacts with the Russians, he rummaged through his files and diaries to “retrace my steps as ambassador in the fall of 2008”.

He said he had maintained relations with three teams of American officials, politicians and professional staffers, the Bush administration and the two major-party candidates.

Mr Haqqani said he had met senior members of the Republican and Democratic national committees, more than a dozen senators and congressmen from each party, and several individuals from both sides who were tipped to emerge in senior government positions after the election. “This is totally normal for ambassadors,” he added.

Re: PPP & Hussain Haqqani

Um..if what I’m reading here is all what we have, this guy is just trying to bring himself in the noting which otherwise has no existence.

First of all, whats the correlation between Trump’s ties with Russia to get him elected and HH’s efforts to get OBL? It just doesnt make sense.

Second, yes Mr. HH wasnt paid by Govt of Pakistan for what he is bragging right now about. It simply means he didnt fulfil his duties as a faithful government employee and hence should be investigated. Shouldnt he be ashamed instead of boasting around?

There was a time when I thought hes a very smart person cuz he was a lecturer in Boston university and all that. But he turned out to be a huge disappointment.

He is an opportunist who started out in JI / IJI of the nineties and then became “liberal” as he shifted to PPP.

Irony is that I have seen more pro-irani / persian anti-mullah iranis than ch***** so-called Pakistanis like him.

He gave out visas to god knows who but then he *****es about getting investigated? For once, the establishment investigated someone by the book.

Imo he 8s making his pow very clear that he and the civil govt want to help war against terrorism n believe that obl and likes need to be eliminated but our army thinks opposite.
He did all under the agreement of civil govt of that time. Hence he was performing his job.
It was his and his bosses narrative which was not in harmony with army narrative. That’s why he’s asking who gave visa to obl !!!

There is some showoff in his writing trying to equate with trump strategy which I don’t see as same.

The whole point is, he is trying to portray Pak Army as s rogue army, an army who want to support terrorism and is supporting terrorists…

He brought up this issue just in time when Trump admin is in charge and when Republicans are lobbying to declare Pakistan terror-sponsoring conutry…

This guy is true disgrace to Pakistan and should be declare traitor by the State.

He is not PPP. He was originally illegetimate child of dictator Zia-ul-Haq like your leader. He kept on changing his loyalties and one of the Pakisuper permanent lota. As far I know PPP also disowned him a longtime ago. You should change PPP with PML(N) or father of PML(N) General Mohammad Zia-ul-Haq. You are misleading public here.

He was enough to be appointed as amb. In US by PPP govt…and later saved by them…

I wasnt pointing finger on PPP but Shah say zayada Shah kay wafadar like u always get PPP a bad name..

I heard Khurshid Shah calling him a traitor for this article and they are going back n forth alleging which could be pretentious to save PPP from catching a bad eye in Army.
But what I wonder here is that, he is the one who came out in public literally and is accepting many things, some of which he might have not even done. How many other ‘officials’ or politicians are out there who actually commit treason and are still in service or are hopeful for that.

and my question to you is that, after considering all the background and past affiliations etc, why was he picked to be given such an important and super-sensitive post in govt? Shouldnt PPP be charged for promoting a traitor?

Pai Hani Bal… OBL killing was a concise decision from Gov’t, Army and agencies…

kiay koi helicopter pakistan ki hadood main dahkil ho aur air space ki violation ka pata na ho… radar system sab bata deta hia…

Memo Gate was nothing but a setup from agencies to defame Hussain Haqqani…

After sad demise of ZAB, the politics of corruption was introduced by General Mohammad Zia-ul-Haq. He created NS and others like him. Then he said 'yeh siasatdanon ko haddi phenko to kuttay ki dum hilar kar puhunch jaatay hain" After ZAB all Pakistani politicians except very few, followed his mantra. Back to topic, HH was creation of Zia-ul-Haq, NS gave him new lease of life after his guru’s death. Changing loyalties was no more problem. That was why I opened “Super Permanent Lotay…” thread many years ago.

is ka shujara-e nasab kuch is tarah hay

Ziaul-Haq----> Nawaz Sharif--------> BB-------------->Zardari----------> (vacancy) :slight_smile:

Change of Politics

JI------>PML(N)---------->PPP------------> jo sub se ziada mal dega HH usi ka hay :slight_smile:

If HA did it - then he is the greatest patriot who got rid us of the evil of OBL.

شاہ محمود صاب وزیرِ خارجہ ہوندے ہوندےسں اودوں

ہن سمجھ آئی تریکِ انصاف کے سناٹے کی وجہ.

We should appreciate the success of PPP govt in fight against terrorism… With less amount of time, less number of resources, without involvement of Army and security agencies… terrorist killed.

jinhon nay usko host kiya tha.. woh to ajj tak iss baat par ary hoye hian kay mara kion… unhon nay pichlay(2011).. 10 salon say nahi bataya kay yeh unka bagal bacha PMA kay barabar main betha howa hia…

Saudi Intelligence was taken in confidence.. promise was made with Pak gov’t that he would kill in mountain…

From Obama’s public positions and from my meetings with his aides, it was clear that a democratic, civilian government in Pakistan could join with him to help attain his objectives in Afghanistan in exchange for support of consolidation of democracy with greater U.S. economic assistance. I sent this message to my bosses in Islamabad and told Obama’s campaign team that we would be willing to play ball. Once Obama took office, this is exactly what happened: Civilian aid to Pakistan was enhanced to record levels in an effort to secure greater cooperation in defeating the Taliban.

In November 2011, I was forced to resign as ambassador after Pakistan’s military-intelligence apparatus gained the upper hand in the country’s perennial power struggle. Among the security establishment’s grievances against me was the charge that I had facilitated the presence of large numbers of CIA operatives who helped track down bin Laden without the knowledge of Pakistan’s army — even though I had acted under the authorization of Pakistan’s elected civilian leaders.https://www.washingtonpost.com/posteverything/wp/2017/03/10/yes-the-russian-ambassador-met-trumps-team-so-thats-what-we-diplomats-do/?utm_term=.b520373c32d2

main yeh baat yaqeen say kah sakta hon… uss waqt Shah Mehmood Qureshi bohat uchal uchal kar defend kar rahay hongay… ajj establishment kay takra milnay par namak halali kar rahay hian…

Hussain Haqqani was best and intelligent Pakistani Ambassador in 21st century. Mostly Pakistani ambassadors are very intelligent but he changed the world diplomacy and proved that war is not only solution of problem but diplomacy.

Qadeer kalam kala (akeely akeely) atom bech aya…

Haqqani amreekion ko visa banta rah…tum uss waqt kiya kar rahi thi basanti…

Janu main tab bowarchi khany main daliya, khaad, aur cement ki quality behtar bana rahi thi…

Double cross did not work. It ultimately brought humiliations for them and unfortunately for Pakistan too. In my opinion HH was playing with fire like Zia-ul-Haq in the eighties. He should not have involved as he was not member of any intelligence agency or was he???

https://www.dawn.com/news/1323595/army-says-state-institutions-concerns-regarding-hussain-haqqani-stand-vindicated

Plan was to make relations with US at civilian level , hence major decision making will be by the civil govt not involving Army…
USA will assure zardari in power and in return get many things including

1. Zero ties with afgan taliban and haqqani network.
  2. Strong relations with india by chargining all involved in mumbai attack of Pakistani origin , whether outside government or inside any part of the government, including its intelligence agencies.
  3. Inquiry whether pakistan army was involved in keeping OBL in pakistan purposly…

This is clearly a big step to break strong hold of army in policy making but failed. Allah knows whether it wud have been good for pakistan or not but definitely good for Zardari.