Poverty reduced to half in Musharraf’s regime: WB report

ISLAMABAD: A World Bank survey has revealed that poverty in Pakistan was reduced by 50 percent on consumption-led growth of the economy under the rule of the former president, Pervez Musharraf.

“The percentage of the people living below the poverty line in Pakistan fell from 34.5 percent in 2001/02 to 17.2 percent in 2007/08,” World Bank said in its Country Partnership Strategy (CPS) paper, based on a survey conducted in fiscal year 2007/08. The bank is going to provide $6 billion to Pakistan on the basis of CPS findings.

According to Planning Commission officials, the PPP-led government asked the commission to conceal the results of the survey because the poverty started rising after the Musharraf’s regime.

According to the WB survey, poverty in urban areas fell from 22.7 percent in 2001/02 to 10.1 percent in 2007/08. In rural areas, it declined from 39.3 percent in 2001 to 20.6 percent in 2007/08, it said.

“This progress was a result of growth in real per adult consumption expenditure and declining inequality from 2005/06 to 2007/08,” the report said.

Key human development indicators of educational attainment, health outcomes and unemployment rates also corroborated these figures, the officials said.

The report showed that the pace of poverty reduction varied across provinces. Poverty in Punjab and Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa steadily declined from 1998/99 onwards. “In Sindh and Balochistan, it recorded sharp rises in 2001/02 and 2005/06, possibly owing to weak agriculture performance in those years,” the report said.

The reduction in poverty in KP is particularly noteworthy as officials believe that it was facilitated by higher remittances through both foreign and domestic channels. “The large volatility in poverty suggests that a substantial portion of Pakistan’s population is vulnerable, living close to the poverty line, and could fall into poverty as a result of shocks,” the report said.

The overlap between vulnerable and poor households is low as about 60 percent of the highly vulnerable population does not belong to the poorest 20 percent. This means that a significant share of the non-poor population is as vulnerable as poor households, it said.

The WB report conceded that the gains in poverty reduction may have been partly reversed in the wake of the recent economic crisis.

“Food and fuel prices rose by 23.7 and 18.4 percent, respectively in the review period, resulting in a 21 percent reduction in the purchasing power,” it said.

The 2007/08 household survey results also suggest that poverty started rising towards the end of the fiscal year.

Officials said that the impact of the recent economic downturn on poverty levels in the country will only be known when the next household survey is conducted.

The Task Force on Food Security estimated that poverty headcount increased to 33.8 percent in 2007/08 and 36.1 percent in 2008/09. This means that about 62 million people were below the poverty line in 2008/09.

Data suggests that between 2005 and 2009, over 12 to 14 million people may have been added to the ranks of the poor in Pakistan. This would translate into an increase in poverty from 22.3 percent of the population in 2005/06 to between 30-35 percent in 2008/09,” the report added.

To the half :confused: I am not sure about it.

And waht about all the hate replies he is putting on my posts.. and what teh hell is ur problem..u better go an dread those too... all the the he is chanting for dictators.. swearing at political leaders..

Re: Poverty reduced to half in Musharraf’s regime: WB report

Not that Musharraf was any better ... but compared to what we are having to go through now with King Ghaddari and his party ruling us, I feel aisi democracy sai to dictator hi acha tha?.

Another reason why Musharraf was good for Pakistan.

I disagree. The time he wasted, was a golden decade, even Zardari and his present bunch would have done eons better, despite the corruption.

really? you do realize that PPP is the biggest political party in the country. it is the only party that is a truly national party with a presence in each province. and that is the party that you have an irrational hatred for?

normally I enjoy reading your posts in other sections... you post very sensible stuff. can't say the same about your posts in PA though.

But for whatever reason the economy was doing much better under Mush

](http://economicpakistan.wordpress.com/2009/02/01/economic-indicators-1999-2007-beyond/)

love how ppl conveniently missed this.

PPP maybe the largest party but it is also a very corrupt party headed by a crook at the moment. same goes for PML-N and others

Infact Pakistan is such a corrupt and chor society (it is sad but true) that democracy is not workable here IMO. I gave up on our politicians long time ago. Army rule is not the answer either. They say the worst form of democracy is better than military dictatorship and while this maybe true worldwide, it is certainly not the case in Pakistan. Not saying generals are not corrupt but in my personal experience corruption, inflation and sifarshi appointments reach alarming levels during every civilian government.

And I do not just blame the ruling elite, I blame the people as well for the collapse of our system. 90% of Pakistanis in privileged positions (politicians, bureaucrats, military officers etc.) do hera pheri/are corrupt and abuse their power & position. The entire system is flawed. Let’s not kid ourselves.

And remember while the judiciary is free in Pakistan, the election commission is still not independent. There is massive rigging of votes esp. at rural polling booths by police thaneydaar (part 2)

parts 2 & 3

http://www.siasat.pk/forum/showthread.php?40758-Imran-Khan-in-Dallas-August-6th-2010
(ps. I may disagree with his WOT stance but I believe in this man. He is atleast not financially corrupt)

kabhi bhi corrupt log corrupt logon ka ehtasab nahin kareingey - IMRAN KHAN

so true

I love his sense of humour (part 3)

And so much for the 18th amendment and independence of judiciary

now the parliamentary committee will endorse/approve appointment of judges!

Have you seen anything like it in any democracy?

The whole system as I said earlier is completely corrupt

Now back to topic....despite my reservations about Military Rule/Mush, I think he ruled the country well from 1999 till about 2002....better than the present goons in government

are you for real?

judges are nominated by the president in the US and confirmed by the senate: The News International: Latest News Breaking, World, Entertainment, Royal News

isn’t the US a democracy?

and why shouldn’t the parliament endorse/approve appointment of judges. and btw it will be a committee where judges will also be represented. in fact, judges will have the majority in terms of numbers on the committee if I remember the details.

please don’t distort facts when you post.

AS always , we are not talking about facts

samb sounds like PPP supporter

Spook as always PML N supporter

and AASHIQ is MQM supporter

ok pakistani bhaion lets not talk like our leaders and just talk about facts ,,,,

in last 30 years who gave what to pakistan I remember when I was in karachi up until 98-99 we only had 2 tv channles, 1 telecom company , there was no foreign Investment in pakistan so the property business was not that good , had only local banks for retail banking , no international food chains $ price was stable as well as Petrol .

all that is interconnected and effects Economy .

pakistan is very unfortunet ....

Imran plays in Taliban’s hands.
This is the guy who was shamelessly proclaimed that Taliban are not burning schools in Swat. He says it is PPP government’s propaganda.
He even claims that Taliban are not extremists at all.

There is a clear difference there. I will let IK answer that for you (part 4) :smiley: i.e. if you can take such

And please do compare our rulers ayyashiyan - Lord Zardari (travelled by private jet and stayed in highly expensive Churchill hotel in London where 16 suites were booked for nawab sahib) and Lord Nawaz Sharif (1000 servants working in his Raiwind palace on provincial government’s expenses even when NS is not in power!) - with British PM Cameron’s lifestyle who recently travelled to US in business class of BA and chose to stay in one of the rooms of British Embassy rather than some luxury hotel in Washington

And ‘bechara, ghareeb’ NS paid only Rs 5,000 in taxes last year…sharam kee baat hai yeh

The daily expenditure of Presidency and PM House is Rs 25 lacs. That is simply unacceptable in a poor country like Pakistan

parts 5 & 6

I know that already but IK is atleast not corrupt like chor Zardari and NS. People trust him with their money

Musharraf was among the best leaders in Pakistan's history.

We get democracy and Pakistanis end up choosing Zardari as its President.

I much rather have Musharraf than Zardari as President of Pakistan.

We were not on top of the world before Musharraf with the crook Nawaz Sharif ruining the country.

As for our economy to grow...it did grow under Musharraf it just didn't trickle down fast enough for other people but I blame that on the economic infrastructure in Pakistan.

As for Pakistani Leaders since Independence

My ranking of best to worst:

1 - Liaquat Ali Khan
2 - Zulfiqar Bhutto
3 - Musharraf
4 - Ayub Khan
5 - Yahya Khan
6 - Nawaz Sharif
7 - Benazir Bhutto
8 - Zardari
9 - Zia ul Haq

^ Why Yahya so high on your list? what exactly is his contribution to Pakistan? fall of dhaka!