Potty training your child

How did you know when to start and how did you do it?

So here’s what we’re dealing with (some parts are not for the squeamish):

Ever since she was 8-9 months old, Bunny has suffered from chronic constipation. Though she tries, she can not “go” on her own, in her diaper, so we’ve had to sort of help her into a potty position and dangle her over the toilet. There have been some rough moments throughout that process.

A couple months ago I got her one of those toddler toilet seats that goes on top of the regular toilet. She does sit on it and attempt to “go.” The problem is that when she is straining, she goes completely straight putting pressure toward her feet rather than where it needs to go, and 99% of the time she is not able to actually go until we’re holding her in the seated position above the toilet. (as she’s gotten bigger, that has also gotten very hard on us, especially for me)

Anyway, now Madam is 17 months old, mashAllah. When she does have to go she sort of starts straining and looks at me and nods to let me know “it’s time!” Sometimes she even says, “Poppy” to let me know she needs the potty. If during the process she pees, she recognizes it and says “peepee.” Her awareness of all of this makes me wonder if she’s ready for training, but physically she still seems to have trouble going for #2 on her own. And I don’t think she has control over #1 yet, she just knows when it’s happening.

So how do I know when to start and how to do it?

Re: Potty training your child

She is definately ready as she knows what is going on down there....especially being able to differ between potty and pee .... Mashallah

Ask her to place her hands on either side of the toilet chair and push down.... Its natural for them to lean fwd... Practice makes perfect.

I started at 15 months cuz midget was ready.... He hasnt pooped in his diaper since then... He starts wimpwring and says potty arahi hai... S werun for it. Pee is getting better with a lot of axcidents... I cleared a week and re,ained indoors with him.... No pamper.... Imagine with carpetting... But its worth it... He learned he didnt like being wet... I would also put him on every hour .... Night time isnt in the clear yet.. Still wears diapers... But getting there.

17 months may be too young for diaper free days.. I remeber midget got the real hang of it close to 2yrs of age... So u can try... Put her on regularly so she understands... But dont fret if she doesnt tell u in time... She just may not be ready for the whole deal...

If she can tell when she is bout to poop... Thats a great start.

Midget would poop in the morning and evening... S i staryed like that... Eventually he learned that is where u poop... And would tell me.

So the way you do it is to put a stool under her feet so she can direct the pressure there. You sit in front of her and hold both hands.

I started training them at 2 years. Both got done very quickly. Every kid is different and needs their time and your patience. I took a few days to follow her around, take her to pee every now and then, sometimes she did, sometimes she didn't. Eventually they figure out what you're trying to help them with and they get it!

Night time pullups don't usually go away until they are 4ish. At least for my kids.

Is she still constipated most of the times? It might be hard for her to go potty when she's constipated. It's harder for it to come out. Just imagine the force adults have to use if they're constipated.

Perhaps you can get her those child seats that fit over the regular toilet seat. That way you don't have to hold her over the toilet, yet she will still feel like she's sitting on the toilet.

Hang in there! It takes a little time, patience and some messy accidents before they get the hang of it :D

Yes, she is almost always constipated.

And yes, she has the toddler toilet seat.

My daughter is 16 months. I didnt start to train her yet. I have got a potty trainer for her. Is it better to start with a toddler seat directly?

i started training my daughter for no. 2 when she turned 1 yes one coz like sahar,s daughter she was always constipated and i had to sit holding her on the potty seat and a before she was 1.5 yrs she used to let me know that she has to go eeeee ,it was so difficult for her to push that she gave no. 2 the name eeeeee .Now the trick was that i used to give her squash baby food or oat meal for cereal n it made her go effortlessly within minutes n as soon as i was done feeding her i used to race to the bathroom but it wasnt that easy there were moments of extreme frustration and i used to sit in the bathroom crying n weeping n then she developed a fear for toddler seat n until she turned 2 it was trail n error for me
for no 1 i used to take her every hr n eventually she understood ,night diapers were also gone by 2.5 yrs so dear my advie is to be patient its as hard for a child as it is for mother
her constipation got so bad that i had to give her suppositories n wat not but for her it only got better when she was weaned at 2 n started regular cow milk
best of luck just note what time she usually needs to go n take her to bathroom each day at that time n sit with her for make faces as if u r also straining ,she ll hopefully copy u n do it thats wht i did with DD

MIL got one of those training seats for her, but I don't understand the point of them. Just one more thing you have to keep clean. Why can't they just sit on those special toddler seats that attach straight to the toilet? I never put her on the potty trainer, tho MIL did a couple times.

Thank you for your advice!

Mine weaned at 1year and is already drinking cow's milk (about 2 cups a day). She rejected mashed and liquidy foods very early, and I do think that's part of the reason for her constipation.

What about a regular cut up banana or pear? Would that help her?

^ She eats tons of fruits, SGC, mashAllah. Pears, strawberries, prunes, kiwi, papaya, peaches, blueberries, etc, she really loves all of them. And lots of fruit juices. It may help a little, but this seems like a bigger problem. It doesn't go away. The doctor doesn't really have a solution, but he does think she will grow out of it. It's just something that happens to some babies/toddlers, and often they outgrow around 2years. He gave us a referral for a specialist, but doesn't think we will need it inshAllah. And her grandparents are against her being poked and prodded unnecessarily. Let's see if things will get better soon.

But really, I don't wish that kind of torture on any one. I usually end up crying trying to deal with it and help her.

I love these toddler seats, they are much better and cleaner than a potty, thats a bit disgusting to be honest.
We never had a problem with the toddler seat that goes on top of the regular toilet with 2 small steps and handles on the side to keep balance.

^I agree

^ I'm sorry I dont have the solution to your problem. Just give it more time, you are on the good track. I think my S is ready too but in my condition I will have to wait a bit till we start doing it on the seat.

Sahar try giving her chickpeas (puree) may be and that may help her with constipation.

Your potty training thread has turned into a relieving-baby's-constipation thread. :D I don't have any tips on that, but I would love to read more tips and tricks from experienced moms.

I also initially (when she was 18 months) got the toddler seat that goes on top of the regular toilet seat, but my daughter freaked out. She STILL does not sit on it because she's too scared of falling in... even if I hold her in place. We had no choice but to get the toddler potty -- two of 'em actually, and that's what she uses while still in training. I would love to read more tips because so far it's been a disaster. She has really good control over her bladdar, so she's barely had more than a couple of accidents. She'll squirm and scream and cry, but she won't go.... to the point, where she even stopped going in the diaper without a hissy fit trying to hold it. It's the same issue with poop. She's made herself constipated by holding it. :-\

ceebs... i say give it a rest for now.... a friend at daycare was just telling me her 2.5 yr old is still in diapers cuz their attempts at potty training have been met with failure... they will try again after a while... cuz if you stay at it.. u freak them out more.

sahar... i think i told you... my sil's son had bloody stools and god knows what else due to severe constipation... the day he popped hsi last molar... it all went away... sure it took him 2 yrs ... but now its a smooth sailing... she used to be cry just like you... but its true... it gets better when they hit teh 2 yr mark .. there is a link between teething and constipation or diarrhea.. though some think its a myth..

hang in there.

I don't think she's ever had chickpeas. I'll give it a try. She won't have the puree tho, I am sure.

thank you, khawa.

Also when do you transition from diapers to pullups training pants type things?

Sahar, constipation is a root cause of a lot of other issues. I hope your bunny outgrows this, IA. My son used to be very constipated and I buy this prune extract juice form from whole foods. Give her if she likes it as is or you can mix in other foods, her milk. Works like a charm at least has been for my son, MA. I think she is more afraid because of all the pain caused by constipation itself. Good luck!