Post 9/11 - What if Pak didn't support US?

Generally in Pak the consensus is that Pak should not have provided US with any support after 9/11 and in US’s quest to find and capture/kill those responsible for 9/11.

Just curious to know what do PA members think about the the scenario of Pak not providing US with any level of support after 9/11. What would have happened to situation in post 9/11 Pak, Extremism in Pak, Pak/AFG/India relationships and global position of Pak.

I personally believe that it was right to support and join the Coalition and even if it provided no support to US, the terrorists would have always escaped Afghanistan and poured into safe houses in Pakistan where they would have the logistical support by ISI and sympathy of Pak people (In name of Islam/Jihad) and eventually they still would have turned violent and caused problems in Pakistan.

Re: Post 9/11 - What if Pak didn't support US?

You say it like we had a choice.

Well - So do the people in Pakistan.

But then people in Pakistan also think 9/11 was engineered by CIA/Mossad or never happened. That bin Laden is alive in some CIA safe house. so... whats your point?

Pakistan would have been isolated on international and regional front and we would have been in worst situation than we are in right now. As for terrorism, it has nothing to do with Pakistan supporting US/collation even though terrorists have always used this as umbrella. These guys would have fled Afghanistan and entered Pakistan anyway. Even worst collation would have used UN to put boots on ground in Pakistan for Operations in Pakistan.

At the end of the day it was right thing to do (even morally). What happened on 9/11 is wrong and we should not harbor anyone who is/was responsible for such as shameful act. What US do in Islamic states is not a reason to do 9/11. Two wrongs do not make right.

and lastly, baat tu sach hai magar baat hai ruswaiee ki k Pakistan main koi mai ka lal aisa nahi hai jo US ko that day NO kehta. Yes they will blame Musharraf to go on his knees but they would have done the same (may be worst) if they were in Power that day.

True , but we surrounded unconditionally like 1971

Pasha Ji Please explain why you consider supporting US in post 9/11 as an unconditional surrender? This is exactly the purpose of this thread.

You are right. After the US attack on Afghanistan the Afghan and Arab fighters pored into Pakistan. I have seen these Arabs roaming around the streets of Islamabad after the attacks, I am sure Pasha sb can also testify. Yes you are right that the situation would have deteriorated sooner or later. Its a classic example of Frankensteins turning their guns towards their creators.

Re: Post 9/11 - What if Pak didn’t support US?

kaun sai pasha? hamarey waley pasha ya WO waley pasha?

We were the boss of so called Mujahideen world over . Al-Qaida was based in Pakistan , all other networks were facilitated by Pakistan . When we took the U-Turn , It was a surrender although our agencies tried to continue the game secretly till the present operation . Unfortunately we are still protecting Punjabi Terrorists .

Sidha poochain , Uncle Pasha ya Godfather Pasha
Amazing , We both were class-fellows

THAT is the problem, We did not take a U-Turn. We only made rest of the world believe (not for long) that we are taking a U turn. All we did was create a division in our view of taliban and came up with a category of good taliban, bad taliban. Overall the view, actions of GOP remained the same about taliban.

Hamaray Walay pasha Sb :chai:

وو پاشا اور یہ پاشا دونوں ایک ہیں
کون جانے ان مین سے کون قدرے نیک ہے

If money is everything then yes what Pak did in 2001 was the right thing.

Problem is that Pakistan supported US and did not support US, we were caught in dilemma on how to tell the living "terrorists" that your "job is over" and ask them to do something else with their lives. You must have heard about giving fish to a poor and he will thank you that day, you teach poor how to catch fish and he will thank you all his life... yes, terrorists are saying "thank you" to Pakistan and US, all their lives and their next generation.... in their own way.

Wait a minute, So you are saying that "If Pakistan did it because price was right & not because it was right to go after extremists and taliban in Afghanistan"
that was the right thing?

See here is the thing: A country needs to be very strong, all independent economically, defensively, socially etc to make strong decisions in such scenarios. How can a third world country (admit it) can stand up to a super power asking them to kiss their brown a$$? They literally had no choice.

There is one other prespective as well: Pakistani Govt! Then President musharraf came in power just 2 yrs back after doing a coup and was never welcomed by the west. Anybody remember Pr. Clinton's Islamabad visit in 2000? He was supposed to have a longer visit and meet NS but after coup he briefed it to 3-4 hours after staying 3 days in India. And if somebody can pull the video of Musharraf/Clinton meeting, it was really tense.
So 9-11 provided the best opportunity for Musharraf to accept west's offer who really needed him. That not only brought him in good books but also west started him like a real allied partner. It was a complete win-win as far as two governments are concerned.

Pakistan supporting US after 9/11?

Pakistan if it had sane leaders should have never supported US starting from 1979. What makes Pakistan think that USA is their great friend and ally, if anyone has any doubt just show me one project that makes difference in daily life of a common pakistani. Apart from a few weapons and F16s they have not given Pakistan any thing, but even to get those things Pakistan has created enemies for themselves. USA has given Pakistan some money but at cost, and no one knows what happened to that money it is sitting in the pockets of BRAVE ARMY generals. What has the army done for Pakistan apart from losing wars. If some people in Pakistan think that army is great and defender of Pakistan, then look around you and judge the role of army since 1947, what is their achievement, I know one surrendering 91 thousands in Bangladesh in 1971 and breaking Pakistan up, proving the theory of two nation wrong.

In case you did not notice, Pakistan is still flooded with terrorists ;)

Pakistanis would have been living in stone age. So yeah, it would have made no big difference.