Porter at Lahore Airport

Re: Porter at Lahore Airport

Bhai jaib khali ki baat nahi hai, I was asking for maqool raqam (reasonable amount)...

What amount would you consider as a reasonable amount that they would be happy with??

Now you don't want to be spending all the spending money on them do you??

Beware of porters trying to manipulate you in different ways. Routinely, a second porter will tag along, and both will take turns to push the cart, and as a result, will ask (expect) a fee for both. And 500 is a decent amount.

^^Thanks for the above tip

In Karachi you have to pay at the counter for their official fee. Depending on how nice he is, I normally pay 500-1000 on top as tip once they are done loading the stuff (or handing it to people who are there to receive me)

Now that is very decent and generous of you I must say D6, I remember going for a visit in the eighties and this old man porter at Islamabad airport did excellent job handling the bags so in addition to the standard rate those days of Rs100/- noted on the chit I gave him a 500 Rs note after he dropped the bags in our car, but when my friends found out, their comment was I was spoiling them. personally it is all in how they behave and do the job, if they do a good job I think they deserve to get extra!

btw, why would an able-bodied person need to hire a porter unless he/she have kids? the carts are quite convenient. i never use their services. i push my own cart.

in Delhi, the passengers alight in a huge waiting hall where the relatives/friends wait for tyheir loved ones to arrive. i usually arrive in Delhi late night and my train to my hometown leaves in the early morning so i wait in that hall where they have TV's, cafes and other amenities. it's a comfortable and relaxing place before my 7 hour train journey.

I can tell you are not Married as yet...:)

lol...true.

bride has already been ordered for January, iA! :)

be prepared to start lifting extra heavy bags when you travel, I am sure it will be well worth it, congratulations!

thank yoiu, janaab. vaise heavy bags kiuN? my fiance isn’t fat! :hehe: :wink:

Nahin Bhai Sahib apni desi larkian are not what I was talking about! in general it is what they want to take with them when traveling away from home for the first time!

Its not 80s anymore my friend :)

plus, if i am travelling in family we normally have 8 suitcases and 4 hands carries...too many bags. These are mostly poor people and this amount is just equal to 1 glass juice from jumba juice.

oh yes, you are right. the first time, i hope she will NOT try to bring her sink and loTaa that she would get as jahez. jahez to udhar hii rahe jaayegaa...apun to sirf dulhaniya laanaa hai, bas! :)

this is exactly what i said in my previous post that paying a little extra for a good service will not render you any less fortunate while that extra monies will go a long way for a poor person and his family.

we should be a bit generous towards poor people who serve you in any capacity during your visit abroad and a bit less extravagant with the goodies that we shower ourselves with.

Never had a need to use them. 200 is what you pay to company that hires them. Anythinh above 200 goes to the porter directly.