There was a time when we had decent na’ats recited by Wahid Zafar, Khurshed, Saied Hashmi sahab. How well written and respectful they were and how simple were the naatkhuwan themselves.
But these days, what I am seeing on ARY is totally techno-opera na’at that are not even good on ears let alone any sentimental effects or ishq-e-rasooh (saw).
Last night there was this middle age man singing some ‘dil nahi lagta, Mecca bina etc etc’ Hamd/Na’at with three guys sitting with big duffs on the left and half a dozen women with all the cheap makeup and mini duppattas sitting on right. I mean where this world is coming to. The na’at too resembled to one of anIndian song’s tune.
Another pop Na’at I saw a couple of days ago was one in which a man with brown turban and long white chicken kurta is singing (literally singing) na’at with rock star poses on the Sonmiyani beach hills. The way he was jhooming all the time was first made me really mad and then I started laughing like crazy.
Khursheed Ahmed himself has turned into a semi-qawwal-cum-popsinger and has couple of very pathetic productions these days.
Where has the real essence of Na’at evaporated? Who feels the same spritiual hights when listening to these pop naat as compared to the ones aired in 70s and 80s.
I hear you Smooth Guy. I think it is ARY which airs portions of its Qtv shows during 12 Rabi-ul-awwal and other months and you see this one main guy singing naat and the chorus in the background. I don't like to listen to these naats anymore. They have turned into songs and don't evoke any sort of emotion. The old naats are still such a piece of gem from people like Saddiq Ismael, etc.
I agree, these naat type gaanay make me turn the TV off. The shaiyri of such naats is really low standard.
Also, on one chennel you see shahida minni, dancing and showing off her body from every angle, and then you see her in white dress, full makeup trying to look like a hoor pari, and singing naat with music.. Such double standards.
Basic purpose of the hamd-o-naat is to divert and make a person to think about Allah :swt: and Muhammad :saw: and these kind of music-supported naats make me shake my body (unintentionally of course) and make me think of a song more than hamd-o-naat!
This style of naat is part of modernization of literally everything in Pakistani media. Same goes for religious programs with music titles and with hosts like that fat face double chinned thug Amir liaqat.
I actually like some of them. Is it haraam to try different things?
I haven't seen the ones described in the first post. But some of the ones I am seeing are pretty decent. Like the najam sheraz ones, and right now there is a one by Fariha Pervaiz that is really precious.
I totally agree. What bugs me is that they dont sing them live anymore. I used to watch naats on PTV when I was in pakistan and they use to be great. They would sing em live when recording them for tv and that gave em great intensity.
Now, they just look really phony. Even Najam Sheraz after his first really great Hamd, sounds weird now.
well we have heros like owais qadiri making fun of islam from every angle...we have tv programs in which women appear and "sing" naat with all the makeup of the world on their faces.....all such things should be banned
Gimme a break. Your "respect" amounts down to insulting and kicking a girl around to preserve "ghairat" when you have no idea what the real story with the girl is.
The comment that they should be banned from all channels because they are exploited as toys of attraction is so full of crap.
dont be emotional my dear ecg....wht i wrote is totally right...i can understand ur pain beac ur NGO,s have to face lot of "mazak" from people nowdays.... u people make women toys of attraction on the name of freedom and blah blah...and if u women r exploited physically,u will shout( ngo,s will shout for dollars from pentagon;))
infact i even think tht women playing sports r also exloit beac of their beauty...no the hell cares wht they r playing but every1 cares wht they r offering to see while playing...lol
kafi deep baatein hai jo app ko samjh nahi aai gi.....so apnay "brainay" par zor na do.
third class thinking…pervert
so you want girl to sit at home…dont participate in sports simply because you can’t help looking at her while she is playing to earn her living? guys like you should be locked up…soooo sick!!:yukh:
aur asiey batein sirf tum jasiey loogon key liyeh hi hain… decent larkiyaan fazool apney deemag mai nahi rakhtin.
Guy1 is right. There is no standard of women sports in Pakistan. They know that they will never be able to compete with rest of the world. All that women sports in Pakistan has started by modern degenerates who have no interest in sports or skills of females. Let’s be honest. No woman is earning any money by playing sports in Pakistan. It is the sick mentality of ‘open minded’ secularists who are using woman freedom rights as an excuse to carry out their agenda and unfortunately females are falling for it.
Guy1 I whole heartedly agree with your post :k:
bottom line..women should be banned from performing naats at channels...infact those ads which exploit women beauty must also be banned..;)..ecg,i think i m right
You guys are derailing this thread already. The thread is not about women but the Na'at both male and female naatkhuwan are performing on TV.
PCG, I think you know you have not seen the ones I am complaining about, so please do not taang araaying in a topic in which you have no knowledge of. Thanks.
You're using those few examples to insult the whole movement in the entertainment industry of moving away from singing naats on a stage --> professional video naats/hamds.
Therefore, I've used examples that I know of to refute your claim meant to rebuke this movement.
Therefore, sir, YOU should be talking on the subject once you've seen further naats, because obviously, you will naturally come to agree with me.
Phuleeeeeez, stay away from this thread! bohat ehsaan hoga sub per. Thanks in advance.
I haven't seen the ones described in the first post.
You yourself don't know which one I am talking about, and yet you have to argue on everything that you see on GS. That alone tells you about your mentality.
You think everyone in this thread who agreed to my comments are fool or don't know which na'at I am talking about. Perhaps you are the one who knows nothing about history and glorious days of na'at in Pakistan. So please shut the crap up!