pooris

Can I make pooris ahead of time, freeze them or refrigerate them, and reheat them later?

We are having a larger eid crowd than we planned on, and I don’t want to spend the entire morning making pooris… any suggestions?

Or can I just serve nihari with the rest of it and have naans instead?

Re: pooris

yes you can.
wrap each pori separately in a plastic wrap, stack them, and freeze...

thaw for about half hr or so before you fry them on the eid day and they would be as good as freshly made.

EDIT: just noticed, i don't think reheating would be a good idea once you have fried something.

deep fried tortillas is the way to go!! tastes just as good...in fact...i like it better then homemade poori's

Yes you can magar is Eid par unko khilana, aglay saal ki Eid par nahi.

AE - Which tortillas work best for this? I've used the carb choppers from Sams in place of roti before, but haven't tried to fry them.

just make sure ur not using corn tortillas..
the flour ones work as pooris..and make sure u fry them just how u would fry a poori..

any flour tortilla should work. deep fry it until golden.

oh yea....i bought the corn one accidentally once...it tastes terrible. Please dont make the same mistake amana.

ok so the other day, i was craving halwa puri so i attempted to make some. i used all purpose flour and made the dough well pat on back however, when i fried it, it came out so STIFF! :( i was so disappointed. should i have used maida instead? or do i need to add anything? any other tips?

^ hmm you're not supposed to use allpurpose flour for these fried puuris to begin with. just use regular flour, throw in some oil n some salt n knead away!
you use all purpose flour for meethi (sweet) puuris. they're like those circular lil puuris, (3-4" dia or so), thicker and harder (like cookies).

and amana, you can totally do that! like cgirl also said, just stack em up with cling wrap in between and throw them in the freezer! i often do that with rotis too if ive time to spare on the weekends and they work just the same :)

thanks bj!

i think you can also look into any desi store for puris, i usually use pack of indian puris for halwa puri , choley puri they work perfectly fine. its a pack of 8 and i think for $1.49 pretty reasonable.

Well I just buy small tortillas and fry them on medium high heat. They always turn out great.

the oil should be very hot.... i mean VERY VERY HOT

The last time I tried using tortillas for pooris they
ended up being very very stiff. What did I do wrong?
Not enough oil perhaps?

SAJAL tumhe kuch sahi bi banana ata hai?

Not enough oil, small pan, and not enough heat. Make sure before you start frying, the oil is really hot, really hot. Then add tortillas and keep the heat to medium high. Make sure you pat the tortillas and quickly turn them.

ok, i did NOT know this- you just made my day! thanks!

Hi,
I have a question. Whenever I deep fry tortilla they become hard and like a paapar.
I take a lot of oil in a karahi , make it very hot and then fry but still they are not soft. What am I doing wrong.