Poor Faisal Iqbal

Faisal Iqbal looked one of the most - if not the most- solid batsman against Australia. And guess how he is rewarded!

HE IS DROPPED.

AND THE KING OF DEAD WICKETS -MR. ELAHI- STARTS EARNING CHANCES!

What the heck is wrong with our selectors!

Another point to note:

Faisal has played at # 3 all along his career, and is no starnger to a new ball, i.e. HE CAN OPEN.

They should take an empty and long well, throw Elahi in it, and pray to God he never climbs it, or he will end up in the team again.

Re: Poor Faisal Iqbal

*Originally posted by Pathan Bhai: *
Faisal Iqbal looked one of the most - if not the most- solid batsman against Australia. And guess how he is rewarded!

HE IS DROPPED.

There is nothing new, we have a long history of discarding promising youngsters and Faisal is just another one. I'm in fact less surprised over Faisal's ouster but more so over Salim Elahi's inclusion in the team. I am sure he does not have a cricket bat with him - rather a magic wind to which our selection committee dances. Shoiab Malik could have been far better a choice for opening in tests. And we all know it could have also reduced some burden off Saqlain.

The PCB selectors are very stupid as they have shown their stupidness in the past, and they are showing it right now. Saleem Elahi is a Safarshi player, so I don't think we can do anything about him. I don't even understand how he got into the team all of a sudden. Everyone forgot about him, and next thing you know, this dumb a$$ who doesnt know how to play replaces Saeed Anwar in the team, a great legend. There is no answer for this stupidity shown by the PCB.

As long as we are on the topic of safarishi players.
Here are some more.

Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Imran Nazir.
Saleem Elahi is not the first and not the last.
Though PCB might have done good to the Pakistani team by not picking Anwar, the opener job is open currently, and I don't think it hurts bad to try out some more guys.
I think Naveed Latif and Faisal Iqbal should be tested in South Africa as openers, the middle order is already full with 4 specialist batsman, Faisal Iqbal is the best!

I think you should take Afridi out of list of safarishi players. He does have his own style of talent. Can you forget his century to help Pakistan win against India in a Test in India.

*Originally posted by analyze it: *
I think you should take Afridi out of list of safarishi players. He does have his own style of talent. Can you forget his century to help Pakistan win against India in a Test in India.

That is the BEST test innings i have seen any batsmen play for Pakistan.

Won the match single handedly.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
As long as we are on the topic of safarishi players.
Here are some more.

Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Imran Nazir.
Saleem Elahi is not the first and not the last.
Though PCB might have done good to the Pakistani team by not picking Anwar, the opener job is open currently, and I don't think it hurts bad to try out some more guys.
I think Naveed Latif and Faisal Iqbal should be tested in South Africa as openers, the middle order is already full with 4 specialist batsman, Faisal Iqbal is the best!

I think if Afridi, Nazir or Shoiab Malik were safarashi's then they would have been playing in the Zimbabve tour. Especially Afridi, he didn't even play in the Australia series. Plus he has improved his bowling a lot over the last few months and it is always handy to have a 6th bowler. Imran Nazir, I think this guy has the talent, just needs to work on his shot selection and foot work, some more domestic cricket should help him. Shoiab Malik, again showed promise but didn't follow through. He needs a bit more experience and I think he will be a fine all rounder

I dont think any of the 3 players that umair mentioned is a sifarishi.. afridi is a good player and he can win matches single handedly.. Imran Nazir is a extremely talented player but he doesnt use his brain as much as he should, Shoaib Malik too is good but he is not getting a fair trial, i mean sometimes he is being sent as an opener, sometimes in the middle order or the late order.. first of all he is not a batsman but he has better techniques than many other batsman and he should be fairly tried..

Re: Poor Faisal Iqbal

*Originally posted by Pathan Bhai: *

HE IS DROPPED.

Yaar Pathan Bhai...Faisal Iqbal is no better than Mohd Wasim or Hasan Raza...and he is also Shifarshi....just like Saleem Elahi (whose brother Manzoor elahi and uncle has root links in PCB)...

Fasial is a good find..but he is a long time investment..for World cup..we need Saeed Anwer and Imran Nazir ( i know ppl will complain about the number of chances he screwed) but Nazir is a much more talented..w/experience (compared to Faisal)..he need a parthner like Saeed and a guide like Javed Miandad ..Nazir major flaw is his poor shot selection o/w he is an exquisite batsman to watch...

for WC we need Saeed and Nazir....plus Moin in place of Waqar(as captain) and Rashid(as keeper)

P.S: Yaar Pathan Bhai..Ramzan Mubarik..after long time i saw your post...i hope you are doing good.
best regards
/Jeera

Re: Re: Poor Faisal Iqbal

*Originally posted by Jerablade: *

Yaar Pathan Bhai...Faisal Iqbal is no better than Mohd Wasim or Hasan Raza...and he is also Shifarshi....just like Saleem Elahi (whose brother Manzoor elahi and uncle has root links in PCB)...

Fasial is a good find..but he is a long time investment..for World cup..we need Saeed Anwer and Imran Nazir ( i know ppl will complain about the number of chances he screwed) but Nazir is a much more talented..w/experience (compared to Faisal)..he need a parthner like Saeed and a guide like Javed Miandad ..Nazir major flaw is his poor shot selection o/w he is an exquisite batsman to watch...

for WC we need Saeed and Nazir....plus Moin in place of Waqar(as captain) and Rashid(as keeper)

P.S: Yaar Pathan Bhai..Ramzan Mubarik..after long time i saw your post...i hope you are doing good.
best regards
/Jeera

w’s bro Jeerablade,

Aap ko bhee ramazan mubarak ho bhai. Bas yaar, aaj kal hum zara farigh rehti hay, issi waja say gupshup karnay ka moqa milta hay. Faraghat ki waja ye hay kay ramazan ki waja say -during the day-, humari niswaar ki business kaafi halki para rehta hay. Aftaari kay baad phir ja kar thori jaan aati hay……kher, malik ka karam hay, Alhumdollilah.

Abt Nazir being preferred over Faisal, well, we are talking Test matches here. I don’t think Nazir is suited to test match cricket at all. On the contrary, Faisal has solid technique, and excellent temperament.

Acha bhai jaan, apni duaon mein dummay yaad rakhna.

Kh
Pathan Bhai

wessey jahan tak Shoaib Malek ka pata hai.. woh to Wasim Akram ki waja sey khelta hai! but he’z very quick in fielding aur khel hi leta hai bas… but Shahid Afridi and Imran Nazir? :nono: i dont think so that they r in list of SAFARISHI PLAYERS… they got their own talent!

No one said that the player I mentioned above are not talented, we have some of the most talented batsman in the world today.
I think Afridi is the single most exciting batsman to watch but these guys have been given too many chances, specially Imran Nazir and Afridi. yes they have won couple of matches single handedly for our team but whats the use of having batsman who score a half century every 10 innings, if you look at the openers for other teams, they are constantly scoring runs, half centuries and centuries.
Though Shoaib Malik was a safarishi but he did very well, his slow batting tactics booted him out of the national team, he is the kind of player we need at the top order, who do not tend to throw their wickets earlier on, they may not score centuries but they get some sorts of partnership goin to help the other batsman.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
No one said that the player I mentioned above are not talented, we have some of the most talented batsman in the world today.

Though Shoaib Malik was a safarishi but he did very well.

If they ARE talented than what is the harm in sifaarish for talented people? Given the fact it's more rampant for other who do not deserve to play even in domestics.