Pooch Kooch

Why are desis so nosy? Always wanting to know about other people’s business. How much do you make, why are you doing this, why arent you doing that, why aren’t you getting married, etc etc.

Like is it some sort of khoojli that happens to people that when they meet someone they want to know A to Z of what’s going on in your life, and then on top of it they have to pass their bloody comments on it?

Urgh, I really hate desis. I staunchly oppose any further desi dawats in my home.

Re: Pooch Kooch

what a good reason to hate all desis

arent u a desi as well?
besides its very common in italian or portugese community as well.
so akhir howa kya? being typical desi aunty :D

i know exactly how u feel...

i dont think its just limited to desiness though

i dont like nosy people.. sheesh

Did you ever notice that the exact same individuals would not reveal anything about themselves or their families. Even if you ask, all you get is vague answers or them changing the topic altogether.

I believe a person’s personal life is a person’s personal matter…

There are many who do not wish to divulge their past and there are some who do not dig too deep…It’s a fair balance and keeps everyone happy…:sunny:

Hz. Ali :razi: stated; that if you ever feel the urge to divulge your secrets, do speak it out in a well…

A secret once shared is not a secret anymore…I don’t like digging up secrets…Unless there is a treasure involved…:wink:

So asking appropriate questions is justified…If they are accompanied by manners, even better…

There are better things to discuss than just people…

This is typical Auntie behavior. They have nothing better to do than snoop and then gossip. It's not even that they're necessarily concerned about you or have some wise words of advice. They just want to ask the most annoying, awkward and offensive questions as they can and leave you with a bad taste in your mouth. C'es la vie.

PCG, the best you can do just ignore them or if they really get on ur nerves, politely let them know that you dont appreciate that. Ofcourse most nosey folks dont get the idea, but atleast you will get it off your chest.

Excellent thread :hehe:

Yes, I have. And this is very very true.

I think all of us are guilty of this at some stage of our lives. Some of us might be doing it and may not even notice..

sar par dupatta rakh kar, paan munh mein chabatay howay pooching, larki akhir howa kya, zara pata to chalay? :D

Suroor, masha'Allah say aapto pakki 'aunty' ho gaee hain. :p

sadiyah, desi to tehri, there is an aunty in every one of us.
we just dont like to admit it.
in our lil world, we are always better than others, its a human nature.

I have nothing to add to this discussion but "pooch kooch" can be taken as something else.

Its not just the aunties, guys, some uncles take the cake. God forbid you meet a nosy uncle and recieve the 20/20 blitz. am still trying to avoid the local store at all cost. :halo:

the correct term is 'pooch guch'

You know its not just the aunties but even the younger generation now. It all boils down to desis being very competitive. Whos got the bigger house, nicer car, better grades, job, salary, married, nicer gf/bf (or more specifically, fairer skin) etc. Their trick is to turn around and say 'but ours is better....' in a more indirect and polite manner.

The way to deal with it is to give a serious facial expression with cold and blatent answers each time they repeat the question. Yes, once isn't enough, they keep asking the same question/theme with sweet words to try and get as much out of you as possible. But keep giving the same cold response and they'll tend to get the message and back off. Its isn't about being respectuful towards these 'aunties' but letting them know you're not comfortable, nor is it right to discuss personal or intrusive matters.

Someones gotta put them right. Your rep may decrease in their eyes, but hey, who cares, you're better off without them:)

are you thinking what i am thinking…

Actually, I like Kooch much better…

^ :nono: