politics in the workplace

how do you deal with politics in the workplace?

is it something you get involved with or try to stay clear of it? What if you’re the one liasing with the client and are being told by the upper management what to say and what not to?

Im just seeing people burn out… nice people getting stuck with the mud-throwing.. just being mere puppets..

man.. its a tough job

Re: politics in the workplace

I doubt there is a workplace immune from the politics. I try to steer clear from it.

You could try discussing the issue with the management...negotiate....suggest ideas that would help attract more clients and also benefit them. Is that possible?

I do not get involve in office politics neither I discus it with anyone. Many people in my department starts off their days with "kis nay kiya kya or kaha" and "kis kay sath kiya hua". I have learned this from my bosses who are fair to everyone and does not involve themselves in back biting & gossiping. Because today you are talking about someone as a subject/topic of the day , tomorrow you yourself will be the topic of the day , I have seen it happening so so many times.

I don't get involve with clients but with suppliers at back end. I have been asked many times by top management to send emails which they themselves were reluctant to send. So what I did was I created draft emails before sending , took their prints , gave to the top management for review , they marked on it with changes and I kept them safe with me (just in case) . I know those draft papers can not do anything if any need arises but they will be a good proof that whatever I sent was seen by many eyes before it reached the intended receiver.

I don’t involve in office politics I’m very straight forward guy, due to this most of the people said im very rude and arrogant but the real thing is,I use to talk every one in a polite manner when those people who don’t work or just talking about irrelevant things and try to force that what they are saying is right at that time I cant control my self when they ask me to comment on that I out burst that time slowly gradually, don’t know what to do

see nothing, hear nothing

is terha kaam kero gay ya kero gi, to kaafi lamba arsa guzar jaey ga, the moment u open ur mouth........... ur done!!!!

then tell me what should i do ?

In my line of work happens all the time...

Politics is a big thing but i always stand my ground and before i take a job i let the management know my maverick attitudes and deeply religous values.

If they accept those things then it's simple all the way.

Co workers are quick to catch on your rank but if your a newbie no need to suck up to them, let them no who you are fast... and for the sake of teamwork sooner or later they will have to rely on you.

Form a bond with the workforce in such a way that you are integral to the system and so everyone needs to work as one unit...

Masha Allah my current job is not the easiest and has been made harder now but it's easy to keep ones head up and between the officers, intelligence and resource as well as the general constables and sergeants there is a good comradrie that carries through in the field.

I stay clear..... thankfully its mostly at the upper management level and we're spared, sometimes humaari team bhi zadd mein aa jati hai, but I usually defend our work and stay clear of everything else.

aaah politics is much words in govt jobs. I have worked in many US Govt departments as a consultant and although I always tried to stay away from it, believe me pressure of politics made me stressed to limit sometimes. There was only one law to work there i.e SYA

SYA ?