PMP: Anyone here has one?

Re: Project Management Professional
Need some pointers as I may be going for it :smiley:

Re: PMP: Anyone here has one?

went through PiMP classes, but then my company had its own thing so focused on that.

have ya read the PMBOK?

the issue with PMI is that they have a rather narrow definition of project mgmt, and look at them as more operational or I/T projects.

so understand what their answers are, rather than what you know.

there was a thread here about PMP a while back do a quick search, i believe we have some PMPs here.

Salam Pir Saab,
Yes I've read the 3rd edition of PMBOK, in fact I always followed the guidelines for my projects. And yes I have the work experience needed so I am eligible for the exam, but just never got time off of work to focus on it before.

Well if there are PMPs here then I'd love to hear from them about it. Also, if anyone is planning to write the PMP exam, even better :)

some old threads on this topic

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=153550&highlight=Project+Management

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=173242&highlight=Project+Management

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=215389&highlight=Project+Management

^ Thanks bro :k:

PS:
Umar, when you read this post kindly PM me the link to those lecture notes on critical path and crashing (the link from the old thread is not working). Would really appreciate it bro.

Thanks

Sure na,
reading PMBOK suffices if you have practical experience of project management ( worked 4 me ) owise if u just wanna clear the exam then there are so many books available esp written by rita mulcahy (sp?)
n haan there is a forum called hmmmm pmhub.net, that’s such a good resource na esp it’s discussion forum, here ppl share their experiences like wat resources they are using for exam/PM in general, what kind of questiones came in the exam, how they are preparing for the exam, how to fill the application form(that’s a difficult task it self) etc. plus they hv got a large repositery of stuff like cheat sheets/acronyms etc. you might even find some study grp near your area preparing 4 the exam.

that reminded me I have 2 submit my PDU’s this yr :smack:
m tellin u man, maintaing the certification is wayyyyy tuf then getting them :bummer:

OK na :rotfl:

I’ll check out pmhub.net and yes Rita Mulcahy does seem to ring a bell somewhere (cannot put my finger on it though).

Also, please share what you meant by ā€œmaintaing the certification is wayyyyy tuf then getting themā€ … Can we simply refresh by taking the same courses for PDUs or do they have to be new courses. Won’t they run out of courses? I mean how much more material can they throw your way in three years?

Thank you anyhow for the info Simply Seema :slight_smile:

Pir sahab are you accepting new mureeds ?

Mirch yaar, in this forum we are all each other's pirs and mureeds :)
I will accept u as a mureed if you accept me as one when I have a question.

I mean it’s not tuf it’s just dat if u hv multiple certificationz then u loose track of them, @least I do na :bummer: . Like which one has 2 b renewed when/which courses/publications can sufice the requirements of continuing education/which memberships r 2 be maintained etc.
Recently i have 2 write CISA exam again coz I had forgotten 2 submit my hrs :smack: uskau aik hi daffa paas karna itta mushkil tha, I hv 2 clear it twice, Itney mayn tau I cud hv dun CISM :grumpy:

Just to let fellow-guppies know that I am now an Official PMP :)

^ Excellent news hypnotix - congratulations! I will call on you later this year once I start my prep. I plan to get certified sometime next year inshaAllah.

Sorry I missed this thread last year when you asked for my notes, but looks like you made it just fine without’em :k: :k:

^ Thanks buddy! Yes no worries, although they are switching to the PMBOK 4th Edition in July...

^ aah I see... I wonder how different it is from 2nd Ed. which I've gone through a couple of times for devising curricula for my courses.

Next year, I'm planning to get the PMP and CMC designations inshaAllah... should be good as I've already worked in those capacities but just didn't go for the official endorsements.

God willing you're do just fine!! :) No worries at all! Let me know if you have any questions for PMP when the time comes.

Now I have to worry about PDU's lol

i finished my pmp last year. I found it boring to start with but eventually, I think I did learn a few things here and there. The best book for me was the "Head First PMP"..very logical. One more thing..I work in IT and there is something called Agile Project Management..which is really picking up momentum these days when it comes to project management practices esp in IT...PMBOK has a different philosophy altogether..although there are overlapping areas....anyway, it was still worthwhile to go thru the process.