LAHORE: A majority of PML-Q leaders immediately went underground after the killing of Benazir Bhutto in Rawalpindi on Thursday, AAJ TV reported. The channel reported that most of the PML-Q local and national leaders switched off their cell phones and were being reported as being ‘not at home’ on their landline numbers. daily times monitor
Through the entire day, i've only seen 1 min of Parvez Ilahi's attempt at condoling the death of BB as well as Shujaat Hussain. I thought they would've played an integral part and come as the first people to condemn the attack. So much for them claiming to be the new hope for Pakistan. Nawaz in my opinion along with others was much more likeable and humble in how he responded to this and turned up at the Hospital immediately. President also did his part as a President ought to, which is somewhat comforting, if not satisfaction.
Announces three-day mourning
HAQ NAWAZ
ISLAMABAD - President Pervez Musharraf headed high-level meeting on Thursday to review the over all security situation in the aftermath of the assassination of former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto, directing the heads of the security agencies to step up efforts to maintain peace.
It was an emergency meeting called after Benazir Bhutto was killed in a suicide attack in Rawalpindi, and it was attended by caretaker Prime Minister Mohammadmian Soomro, caretaker Interior Minister Hamid Nawaz and security chiefs.
The meeting also considered the proposal to postpone the general elections that are just 12 days away, but no final decision has been taken as yet. The issue is under serious consideration and the government will closely watch the situation arising out of the sad death of PPP Chairperson and the emerging political scene, reliable sources told TheNation.
The meeting strongly condemned the tragic death of the former Prime Minister, terming the ill-fated incident as the cowardly act of anti-state elements but vowed the government would shortly bring the culprits before the law.
Addressing the meeting, President Musharraf called the death of Ms Bhutto as a national tragedy, urging the supporters of late Benazir Bhutto to calm down and show patience at this critical juncture.
He also announced three days national mourning and the national flag at all the official buildings would be hoisted at half-mast.
During the meeting, measures to maintain law and order situation were also discussed and the President directed all the law enforcement agencies to exhibit professionalism and responsibility and all resources be utilised to maintain peace.
He urged the PPP workers and leaders to act responsibly and help the government in maintaining law and order and avoid rioting as that damages the country.
The President said that elements behind this incident would be caught soon and would be granted exemplary punishment.
President directed security agencies to increase their vigil and ensure more security at important buildings and highways.
The meeting also discussed matters related to election campaigns, including the suggestion to stop election campaigns for a while.
Agencies add: President Musharraf directed Caretaker Prime Minister Muhammadmian Soomro to convene All Parties Conference (APC) regarding January 8 elections.
The decision was made in a meeting convened by President Musharraf and was attended by the Prime Minister, caretaker Interior Minister Hamid Nawaz Khan, Secretary National Security Council Tariq Aziz, heads of law enforcing agencies and other high officials.
Meanwhile, US President George W. Bush telephoned Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf Thursday to discuss the situation in the wake of the assassination of former prime minister Benazir Bhutto, a spokesman said.
Bush called Musharraf at 12:15 pm (1815 GMT) from the Texas ranch where is vacationing for the rest of the year, spokesman Scott Stanzel said, giving no details on the conversation except to say it was “brief.”
Bush earlier condemned the “cowardly” assassination of opposition leader Bhutto, who was slain in a shooting and suicide bomb attack after a campaign rally in the Pakistani city of Rawalpindi.
COMEONNNNNNNNNNNN u still trust these politicians.
I didn't say anything about trust or intentions...obviously your emotions overrun ur intellect and comprehension. You ought to re-read what i wrote before posting utter gibbrish in response.
I said atleast he was humble and offered his condolences. Why is it that it took the other folks so much longer? Please read before you respond....
I didn't say anything about trust or intentions...obviously your emotions overrun ur intellect and comprehension. You ought to re-read what i wrote before posting utter gibbrish in response.
I said atleast he was humble and offered his condolences. Why is it that it took the other folks so much longer? Please read before you respond....
Actually it seems that your comprehension skills have been affected more severely. What the guy wrote was clearly relevant to your post. He is arguing that what Nawaz Sharif did had nothing to do with humbleness but everything to do with scoring points with Bhutto supporters.
And the point i was making WAS and still is that of the offering condolences. When all the politicians were quick to offer their condolences (even if a show and nothing more) Q-League members such as Parvez Ilahi and Shujaat Hussain were no where to be found, let alone coming out and speaking to the distraut public. Especially Mr. Ilahi because he wants to be the next PM.
They talk about being tolerant and what not, so u'd expect the next potential contender for PMship to be responsible and share in the emotions of people.
Perhaps you can now see the point i was trying to make. If i want to say who i support or don't support i'll open another thread....my message here was something else.
Immi is also underground and qazi sahab is announcing national protest what a retarted.
This is going to add to instability, and things may get out of the control. I don't know what the hell is wrong with these so called leaders. I wonder if the nation's future is more important to them or their stupid protests? " :(
i dont know buddy i jst dont know sirf itna pata hai mera watan meri ankhon k samney tabah ho raha hai aur kuj nahi kar sakta aaah kya bebasi hai
india doesnt need to go to war with pakistan, it can count on pakistanis to destroy themselves, freakin losers. they actually felt threatened from pakistan
Imran is showing his stupidity by demanding negotiations with local Talibans. This could be the end of him. The extremists have been given 'dheel' for last six years and they only got more powerful. Its time to show some brutality over them. Use intelligence against them. Clean up ISI, MI and forces first, bring all extremists in front of shooting squad. Then rage a full scale war against mountainers (not civilians or kids please) but the ones that have 'keera' in their brain. Again use Intelligence agencies against them.