Well I cannot agree with It totally. Yes It has not the same standard like It once used to have. But It is still one of the top Unis in Pak.
HEC (Higher Education Comission) has released a national ranking and you will find Universty of the Punjab on second place:
You got me wrong Ali. I know UET and King Edward Medical College (which are both good institutions) students get their degrees from Punjab university. I was mainly referring to students who study at the the university campus (mainly arts students) itself plus the influence of ghundas aka jamaat there.
Mashallah. It really is good to see all MNA’s now have to be graduates. Thanks to the policies laid down by great President Musharaf of only having graduates as members of elected assemblies. :k:
^ I give Mush credit for that but I believe still more needs to be done to ensure that only 'really' educated and 'clean' people enter politics. Guys like the chaudharies, Wasi Zafar and even NS etc. should never be in a position to run for such high offices in the land. There is a huge difference for instance between having an MB BS from King Edward/Agha Khan or Chandka Medical College, having an MBA from LUMS/IBS or some ordinary institute. At the end of the day it is not just degrees (you can easily get a BA from some third rate institute, there are plenty such institutes on the market) but schooling and parental upbringing which I believe has the greatest influence on one's development as an individual. It shows in how you carry yourself in public.
^ I give Mush credit for that but I believe still more needs to be done to ensure that only 'really' educated people get into politics. Guys like the chaudharies, Wasi Zafar and even NS etc. should never be in a position to run for such high offices in the land. There is a huge difference for instance between having an MB BS from King Edward/Agha Khan or Chandka Medical College, having an MBA from LUMS/IBS or some ordinary institute. At the end of the day it is not just degrees (you can easily get a BA from some third rate institute, there are plenty such institutes on the market) but schooling and parental upbringing which I believe has the greatest influence on one's development as an individual. It shows in how you carry yourself in public.
Its a good start. sorry it was a good start. Now this BA requirement will be pulled back ... soon.
along with the 2 term limit.
^ I give Mush credit for that but I believe still more needs to be done to ensure that only 'really' educated and 'clean' people enter politics. Guys like the chaudharies, Wasi Zafar and even NS etc. should never be in a position to run for such high offices in the land. There is a huge difference for instance between having an MB BS from King Edward/Agha Khan or Chandka Medical College, having an MBA from LUMS/IBS or some ordinary institute. At the end of the day it is not just degrees (you can easily get a BA from some third rate institute, there are plenty such institutes on the market) but schooling and parental upbringing which I believe has the greatest influence on one's development as an individual. It shows in how you carry yourself in public.
I guess MQM is allowing ordinary middle class to participate in national politics,khushbakht Shujaat is one example...sorry but i don't like MQM politics.
You got me wrong Ali. I know UET and King Edward Medical College (which are both good institutions) students get their degrees from Punjab university.** I was mainly referring to students who study at the the university campus (mainly arts students) itself plus the influence of ghundas aka jamaat there**.
I guess MQM is allowing ordinary middle class to participate in national politics,khushbakht Shujaat is one example...sorry but i don't like MQM politics.
Let them evolve as a political party....may be Khushbakht Shujaat and Mustafa Kamal will become bigger leaders compared to Altaf Hussain one day...who knows?
Yaar, as mentioned before, in Pakistan it is not easy to get new party leaders. It appears party leaders change when the existing leader passes away.
If political parties cannot have democracy within their own parties, then they should not be asking for democracy for pakistan. It only smacks of hypocracy.
*We will not become a part of the federal cabinet as to become a member of the cabinet, one has to take oath from Pervez Musharraf," central leader of the PML-N Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan said while addressing a news conference here at the party's secretariat. *
Chaudhry Nisar said there was no change in the PML-N stance that Pervez Musharraf was an unconstitutional president. "How can we take oath from an unconstitutional president," he questioned.
First, they said they would never take part in elections under Musharraf, as that would legitimise his rule. After some flip, flopping they did in the end, as we all know now.
Then after the elections they said they would never be part of the federal cabinet, as that would in effect mean they are accepting Musharraf's Presidency as legal. Well they have backed down from that stand as well.
So what made Nawaz change his mind now? By taking oath under Musharraf, wouldn't these PML (N) stooges be accepting him as the legitimate President of Pakistan?
As if Musharraf didn't get in bed with most corrupt politicians and made them acceptable by dropping charges against them i.e. NRO, what saint is Musharraf?
Obviously, they are accepting Musharraf as the legal President of Pakistan. It will be quite a sight seeing them line up next week, and repeating after Musharraf.
AS they say Zaroorat parhney per ghadday ko bhi baap abna letey hian. Once they have taken the oath from the illegal president and restored the judiciary they would have achieved their aim of getting rid of this guy from the country. Watch and enjoy the coming show of his humiliation. Lets hope he is not thrown out of power at 2am in the morning.