There have been various reports of some issues among PML leaders recently. The President has had to intervene again and there’s a meeting scheduled for the PML bigshots at the President’s House today evening.
It seems some have problems with Chaudry Shujaat, and Chaudry saab with the others.
Last week there had been issues between the Sindh governor (MQM) and the Sindh CM (PML). The president had to sorth them out too.
Little kids like politikos need to grow up and grow up really fast.
Why can't they sort out the differences among themselves instead of running to Musharraf crying "Daddy Daddy, he hit me, he hit me....".
Sad situation that politikos are so immature. It will take a long long time before Pakistan can have a stable, functioning civilian government.
Or we have an option of giving the country to Mullahs. They will immediately implement Sharia and then shair (bearded lions) and bukri (and good looking goats) will drink water at the same ghat (sleep in the same bed) NOT!
Why can't they sort out the differences among themselves instead of running to Musharraf crying "Daddy Daddy, he hit me, he hit me....".
its not like playing baby, I believe its more of "ego" clashes. saalay har ek ki naak itni lambi hoti hay!
I have two memories of this incarnation of the muslim league one being its formation in 2000 the pictures of the present leaders storming the muslim league house ..it was so obvious that the "party workers" involved in the attack were all army personnel the next was of the conversation I had with a former independent mpa in peshawar in 2001 as the nawaz league was desperately trying to hold on to former parliamentary candidates. the man got a call from a colonel from the isi sayimg he should attend a pml nwfp meeting thèman pointed out he was azad..annoyed the colonel and he sent two armed men to the mans house to encourage him to pledge his support to mush needless to say the man did (the man is now a loyal mpa in the mma)
the point of these two stories is the difference between a real political party and a collection of people collected together to manufacture a party..the pervaiz musharraf league or lota league as imran khan called it will never quibble over real issues..because the only thing they agree on is they all want power...
in the end these mir jaafers of our society with a few honourable exceptions would probably join any invading occupier and sing their praises
the point of these two stories is the difference between a real political party and a collection of people collected together to manufacture a party..the pervaiz musharraf league or lota league as imran khan called it will never quibble over real issues..because the only thing they agree on is they all want power...
in the end these mir jaafers of our society with a few honourable exceptions would probably join any invading occupier and sing their praises
Well said,they are all power hungry.But my guess is,this time its abt the future rather than their everday fights.With U.S. turning its back on mush,the two former PMs sense that they have a chance of coming back to the country.Thats why they met up abroad.There is certainly talk of change and all the political parties sense it.These lotas feel threatened i guess,and now daddy mushy probably has ot calm them down.
Personally,i dont know if it will make much difference.Those two are no better,maybe a bit less corruption(esp sharif,coz we all know bibi sends even her corruption money abroad) but they cannot take some decissive steps like mush did.
i say its time for new faces,like Imran.
Imran Khan is no different to BB or NS - just as power hungry and unprincipled. After the military coup in Oct '99 he was the first to jump on the Musharraf bandwagon, praising him on the BBC and CNN, and stuck to Musharraf well into 2002, including supporting him in the referendum. He waited with baited breath for Musharraf to make him PM, and asked for preference to get elected to 20 seats in the election, but he was not obliged on either demand. Since 2002 he has got more bitter and desperate, now trying to ally with BB and NS (whom he spent the 90's castigating), but they don't want to know him as well. He is getting rather pathetic.
What?i heard he rejected the PM post Musharraf had offered him and i heard him say that on one of these new talk shows and since their was no official denial it cant be untrue.He also mentioned that he supported Mushy coz of his lofty ideals,his promises etc but he started distancing himself after mush refused to take off his uniform.
WHO wud u rather have?those 2 are out of the question.how can u let the snake bite u a third time.Anyone who comes into politics comes for the power,the question is if u use it or abuse it.
Many other people have also made tall claims about being offered the PM'ship and such, and officials have not denied them as well, which does not make them true. Imran Khan has a huge ego as many have testified going back to his western socialising days in the 70's and 80's, and he like so many jumped on the Musharraf bandwagon after 12 Oct '99 without ever being asked, hoping he maybe offered the PM slot in some capacity. Ever heard of the term "Hum sab umeed sai hain"? :) He supported Musharraf to get "elected" as a uniformed President in the "referendum" of 2002, and used pictures of himself with the General as posters when he fought in the general election. That is proof enough of his huge hypocrisy. He even visited the US State Dept to win their approval - this from a man who now blasts the same people.
Now he is trying to coddle upto BB and NS, which shows the level of his desperation. He spent so many years trashing them with as much bitter venom as he has for Musharraf these days. I don't believe BB and NS are even giving him the time of day, so he is trying to cling onto the coat tails of the MMA.
Well as i asked in my last post,do u offer an alternative?
i still say,the guy hasnt been tested,so u cant accuse him of anything really,its all speculation.
you also ignore the services he has done to the country.His hospitals in Lahore and now a new one in Karachi opening soon.
i still say,the guy hasnt been tested,so u cant accuse him of anything really,its all speculation.
you also ignore the services he has done to the country.His hospitals in Lahore and now a new one in Karachi opening soon.
He has been tested, and his party can barely win one seat in an election. All what I have stated is historical fact.
Musharraf and Aziz are the best leaders by far for Pakistan. I have no doubt whatsover that the PPP and other parties will accept this fact as we come closer to the 2007 elections.
Yes best leaders indeed,when i never had to pay any bribes till the Nawaz and Bibi tenure,i had to pay 45000 Rs in 2000 bcoz the meter was taking wrong readings and the colonel incharge wanted bribes in addition to the WAPDA ppl?i mean can you imagine the frustration, the meter reader was taking wrong readings to make up for the ppl he had DEALS with,and when we reported him they blamed it on u?.Plz,Mushy didnt do anything from 99-01,it only got better for them after 9/11 and the diaspora following 9/11.Look at things now,U.S. is gettin frustrated with Mushy and u see a slight change in policy.If this continues,who know what will happen.
And Aziz,he spent 180 million dollars on armoured luxury cars for himself and 34 minister while the whole of cityof Lahore doenst have a single working fire TRUCK?They are all the same.
There are many other smaller parties who win like 2 or 3 seats in the elections.Back in 96,he was being labelled as a jewish agent and what not for his white wife and he was greatly under funded.Its hard to make room for urself in Pk politics.
Musharraf started vastly improving things straight after he assumed power in 99, and the great majority noticed that fact. People have been predicting that Musharraf would be out of power for the last 6 years, and how foreign powers were not happy with him and all. He has survived all that, and believe me he is going nowhere, whatever the hopes of some self-exiles and egotist tonga-party wallas are. There is now strong indications that negotiations have already begun with PPP on the drafting of an 18th amendement to the constitution, which would in effect turn Pakistan into a French-style Presidential system with Musharraf being re-elected in 2007 for an extended term (6-7 years). The PPP would form the federal and Sindh governments (in alliance with the MQM), and the PML Q allowed to continue to rule Punjab, while there would likely be alliances in other provinces.
^I'm totaly freaking out. This 'negotiations' stuff is beyond me. What do they negotiate on...? And by whose permission? Such setups would be like painting a rusting aircraft and declaring it airworthy.
I do somewhat support the French system though.
Meanwhile, a wall on the National Stadium still read a slogan from the pre election times until few months ago. I think it was whitewashed before the India-Pak matches.
"Awaam ki hai ek hi raaye
Musharraf o Imran hi aaye"
But that was until Imran saab began realizing he wont be paid much heed and so shifted his stance. He's made a joke out of himself. If he's such a principles fanatic why is he readily available to forego some principles to whine for some other principles? He sides with the ARD and MMA against the govt for its alleged trampelling of principles, but what of the many principles ravaged by the MMA, ARD members in the past...? Don't his principles teach him anything about the principle of not allying with the corrupt...!?
Whats very common practice in Pakistan is because of the biradri/wadero politics in Punjab and sind you get a lot of factionlism in those areas. Especially when the appointed leaders don't have any power outside their constituency there colleagues have no reason to listen to them..the CM of Sind is a feudal who can't really give a boost through speeches and jalsas..all he can do is announce a new road and transfer the patwari/DCO/DPO. The same goes for the Watoos (who I should remind everyone broke all records in corruption during his stint as Punjabi CM), Legharis and other feudals or Pirs.
The other possible reason for all this factionalism ..is that the guys sense that things may change soon..either Musharraf making some form of deal with the (corrupt and suddenly clean) opposition or by his ouster and they want to have their turn as Minister before that happens (and before they defect back to the new rising sun)
"Awaam ki hai ek hi raayeMusharraf o Imran hi aaye"
But that was until Imran saab began realizing he wont be paid much heed and so shifted his stance. He's made a joke out of himself. If he's such a principles fanatic why is he readily available to forego some principles to whine for some other principles? He sides with the ARD and MMA against the govt for its alleged trampelling of principles, but what of the many principles ravaged by the MMA, ARD members in the past...? Don't his principles teach him anything about the principle of not allying with the corrupt...!?
Yes, he is being totally ignored by the ARD as well, which is pretty humiliating for him.
Whatever the likes of Benazir say, there have always been on and off negotiations with the government. Until recently she had insisted that she be allowed an important political role in a future set up i.e. Senate chairman if not PM again. But what seems to have finally been agreed is that this government will complete it's full 5 year term strictly as per the constitution i.e. till Nov 16 2007, and then there will be a 90-day interim government, followed by general elections in mid-Feb 2008. After that a government will be allowed to be formed which can command a clear majority i.e. a PPP-P led coalition. The term of the National Assembly (and provincial assemblies) would be fixed at 4 years. Musharraf would be re-elected by the the present assembly in late 2007 for an extended 6-7 term, and this would be confirmed by the new assembly in early 2008 as well. The sweetner for BB is that the two terms bar on her (and NS) becoming PM again will be amended in 2014 i.e. which would also allow Musharraf to be re-elected for a third term. She has also agreed to stay out of Pakistan until just after the 2008 elections.
Hmm...but why will the 2 term bar be ammended in 2014?
If there has been some legal loophole to it then the gradaute condition and various other conditions might also be ammended...? Which is again a not so good sign.
On the whole this strategy of 'catering all' and making friends with all the wild beasts term by term sounds smart, but it can not be a proper way to go...it negates the concept of having a proper natural political process going...
Wonder what cooks inside...