PM, COAS to visit Iran, S. Arabia for mediation

Excellent move. The present civilian-military leadership is acting maturely. They have taken some bold steps for which both NS and Raheel should be applauded…credit where it is due.

Saudi-Iran Unity (or some form of interaction between the two) is the need of the hour not least because both are equally responsible for destroying peace in the muslim world by shamelessly trying to force their particular version on others.

**PM, COAS to visit Iran, S. Arabia for mediation

**Pakistan has decided to launch a mediation effort to end the standoff between Iran and Saudi Arabia amid growing international fears that a prolonged confrontation could have serious consequences for the region.
Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and Army chief Gen Raheel Sharif would travel to Riyadh and Tehran together on Monday in an attempt to persuade them to de-escalate and resolve their disputes diplomatically.
Islamabad’s surprising move caught Pakistani and Iranian diplomats unawares. Foreign Ministry officials, who had this week briefed the National Assembly’s Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, had said the time was not right for mediating between the two countriess. The government had also this week cancelled a scheduled visit of Defence Minister Khawaja Asif to Iran for discussing defence ties.
It was not clear whether any fresh development had prompted the government to start mediation.
A senior source confided in Dawn that the mediation effort was Gen Raheel Sharif’s initiative. The source said the general had cautioned Saudi ministers, who met him last week, that tensions were harmful for the entire region.
[HR][/HR]Govt under pressure at home to avoid taking sides in the conflict

[HR][/HR]The government was also domestically under pressure to mediate between the two and avoid taking sides in the conflict.
Relations between Saudi Arabia and Iran have always been uneasy. The tensions heightened last year due to the strife in Yemen and the death of over 400 Iranian pilgrims during the Haj stampede. The execution earlier this month of Saudi dissident and Shia cleric Sheikh Nimr Baqir Al Nimr, who was a fierce critic of the royal family, further inflamed those tensions and Riyadh snapped its diplomatic relations with Tehran after its embassy was ransacked by protesters.
A number of other Arab countries also followed suit by ending their diplomatic ties with Tehran.
Pakistan too had been under pressure from Saudi Arabia to side with it in the row. Saudi defence and foreign affairs ministers visited Islamabad last week in connection with the aggravating situation.
The Pakistani move coincides with the expected implementation of the deal between Tehran and the West over its nuclear programme.
Additionally, Chinese President Xi Jinping will be visiting Saudi Arabia and Iran from Tuesday where he is expected to emphasise on defusing the situation.
“China will continue to carry forward China-Arab traditional friendship and … safeguard peace, stability and development of the reg
ion and the world at large,” a policy paper on China’s Arab policy launched by the Chin*ese foreign ministry read.

Re: PM, COAS to visit Iran, S. Arabia for mediation

Bad move. Dont step in this mess. Its just gona get uglier. Things are just going to get worse. Stay outta there and focus on own issues which are enormous.

Just a flashback for those keeping higher hopes for one "ummah", hizbullah and hamas leadership once shook hands and vowed to never fight inside holy kaaba. It took three weeks for them to break the fight again. Good luck!

This is about mediating not about taking sides or sending troops anywhere.

Some form of diplomatic interaction (if not friendship) between Saudia and Iran is essential for minimising extremism in the muslim world. Both have done enough harm through their proxy wars in other countries.

in case of war, Pakistan should keep re-assuring Saudis that they are coming to help them out just like Americans used to assure Pakistan that their 7th Fleet was coming in their aid which of course never arrived. :)

it is a good move Sid.

look lets be practical. our problem is saudi arabia and how to keep them satisfied because lets accept the fact that we do owe a lot to them. saudis still have millions of pakistanis working there and who can forget saudi help after nuclear explosions in 1999. so yes, saudis have helped us many many times financially throughout our history. and jab kissie say bheek mang mang kar khaya ho, to attitude kings wala nahieen ho sakta meray bhai. you will agree to it.

Iran, we dont give a damn, we dont owe them anything. we have been so nice to them always but they have always tried to hurt us . so go to hell you arrogant Persians as far as we are concerned except we have our shia brothers in pakistan and we have to respect their feelings.

so one thing is clear that no matter what, we will not take sides in this messy fight...what to do then? how about going on a tour of iran and saudi. it will at least give an impression to sauid arabia that we are trying to strike something between them and iran. it is better than doing nothing and keep on giving airless statements. and who knows we may bring saudi and iran leadership on table. you never know.

so overall a good move as long as we keep our neutral pose.

^^ So all the proxy wars will stop around the globe as a result of this mediation?
Please let me know the amount of money spent on the visits of these delegations :chai:

Errrrr it might be useful to know that Pakistan is meditating to keep these industrial scale proxy wars from coming to its country. Pakistan is not meditating to stop the whole Middle East crisis!!!

It is an excellent move. Pakistan must communicate with both countries so they regonise and respect her desire for non-intervention (if not absolute neutrality). You need good relations with both countries, but at the same time, you don't want to fight their wars.

Excellent idea from COAS to include PM in his delegation, lol!

Iran is neighbour and your future trading partner. And no we have never been nice to "arrogant Persians", we practically haven't had any kind of relationship with Iran for past 30-40 years. Always toed the lines of Yanks and Saudies, and as result created a very passive aggressive air between the two neighbours. Time to reverse this. Saudies must be very pissed at Pakisatn's reluctance to pick sides and the prospect of COAS and Pakistani PM visiting Iran, but oh well.....

It is massvely in Saudies' interest to not push - their only Muslim nuclear armed ally who has time and time again pledged to defend your territorial integrity - so much against the wall, to the point that you lose this much leverage as well.

The new threats in the region, Pakistan is in good position to ease down the tension, not Saudi neither Iranians are in position to keep the tension high.

apnay mulk ko to sambhal nahi saktay, chalay hain doosron ko naseehat kernay
thaikaydar of islam bannay ka kitna shouq hai inn corrupt logon ko

hoga kuch nai, bas awam ke kherchay pe umrah waghera aur ayashiyan kerni hain aur koi kuch nahi keh sakta.

continue taking loans and corruption, when the world comes knocking on your doors you will be selling yourselves. keep these looters in power so they can come and control you totally, at that time even this fauji's will not be able to do anything, because you would be defaulted in loans

Excellent move by PM and COAS. Mediation is the right way to move forward instead of taking sides and it is also in the interest of Pakistan otherwise the fall out is bound to reach Pakistan as our warrior brothers have proved time and again that they are prepared to fight others proxy wars in our country.

Excuse me? Do you even know what you are talking about? Middle East had been burning for good last 5 years, when did you see Pakistan the so called thakeydaar of Islam play an active role to any diffuse tensions? Pakistan is only playing the role of mediator so neither of these countries launch yet another war against each other through Pakistan! Do you see the point now? Realise how the real the pressure is on Pakistan to pick sides.

Sanctions have just been lifted from Iran. This is an excellent opportunity for Pakistan to initiate top leadership level talks with Iran even under the pretext of 'mediating'. Iran is aiming to join the regional market, not destabilise the region (and have burning borders). Both countries see each other as mutual trade partners. If Pakistan manages to maintain its neutrality and stop the war from coming to Asia - it will be a massive diplomatic achievement for the country, and set a precedent for the future.

Yes Saudi-Iran war not spilling over to South Asia will massively benefit Pakistanis.

After continuous mediation between Taliban & Afghan Gov't another foolishness
They could never found a mediator for issues with India
Both N$ & RS are mindless

Err.. Just like mediation after Afghan war stopped all the proxies reaching Pakistan and we never paid price for that. Well when you decide never to learn from mistakes, just be ready for the possible damage as a result of it. And congrats for making the COAS your foreign ministry incharge. Certaily a great example every country must follow!

on COAS part... you do have a point. I mean you will hardly see a PM and COAS going together on such trips in other democratic countries but what else you can do? that is the reality in pakistan. Lets face it and accept it. COAS is an integral element of our foreign and internal issues. we can act he is not but he is. Every international delegation meets him as well.

Guys now imagine this.....if Pak can bring Iran and Saudi close and strike some deal, imagine the positive leadership image of Pakistan. The whole world will be looking towards us as we will be considered as a genuine player in the region who has influence in afghanistan, iran and saudi arabia. The world will realize that it is not India but Pakistan who can act as a stabilizing element in the region. This will be huge for our image and stature plus will save us from taking any side.

Lets support our PM and COAS on this trip and pray for their success. Slowly but gradually Nawaz has stared to surprise me . yes he still has many brainless folks in his party but Nawaz is acting pretty maturely lately. Also appreciate his all parties conference on china corridor last week and taking a lead in satisfying everyone. COAS has been a source of inspiration as well.

If he won't take COAS with him, the monkies will be again in D chowk asking for Finger....Hence the COAS

Yeah take COAS with you or else the foreign leaders will fly into Pakistan to directly meet the real boss in GHQ which is actually far more embarrassing for Nooras.

I rather see COAS travelling with Nawaz Sharif than his entire family and army of personal cooks. Let's keep things professional. There's so much other crap that happens in Pakistan that is absolutely unacceptable in lot of other democracies, so save your selective outrage for a General who is truly respected by his own people!

Saudi-Iran rift weakening Muslim ummah: Army chief

By News Desk / Kamran Yousaf
Published: January 18, 2016

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/1029699-pmnawazsaudikinggeneralraheelsharifPMoffice-1453121076-257-640x480.jpg

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and Army chief General Raheel Sharif in a meeting with Saudi King Salman bin Abdulaziz in Riyadh on January 18, 2016. PHOTO: PM OFFICE

ISLAMABAD: Army chief General Raheel Sharif met Saudi Arabia’s deputy crown prince and defence minister, Mohammed bin Salman, upon arrival in Riyadh on Monday.

“After arriving in Riyadh, the army chief met the Saudi defence minister,” the Inter Services Public Relations said in a statement.
During the meeting, General Raheel highlighted Pakistan’s perspective on the Middle East situation.

“Due to the situation in Middle East, the Muslim Ummah is weakening,” sources said, quoting the army chief.

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/PM-nawaz-army-chief-raheel-sharif-PM-Office.jpg

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, COAS General Raheel Sharif, SAPM on Foreign Affairs Tariq Fatemi hold consultative meetings onboard the plane enroute to Riyadh, KSA on January 18, 2016. PHOTO: PM OFFICE

The COAS stressed the need for opening up the communication channel between Saudi Arabia and Iran, the sources added.
Saudi-Iran rift: Fear of sectarian fallout prompted mediation, say officials

Meanwhile, the prime minister discussed the Saudi-Iran controversy in his meeting with Saudi King Salman bin Abdulaziz in Riyadh, Radio Pakistan reported.

The army chief, National Security Adviser Nasir Khan Janjua and Prime Minister’s Special Assistant Tariq Fatemi accompanied the premier while the Saudi King was assisted by his cabinet members.

Earlier during the day, General Raheel along with PM Nawaz Sharif departed for Saudi Arabia and Iran in a bid to defuse tensions between the two regional countries.

“The prime minister wants to defuse tensions between Saudi Arabia and Iran in a peaceful manner,” a statement issued by the Foreign Office said, regarding the premier’s visit.

“Pakistan has deep rooted, brotherly relations with both Saudi Arabia and Iran, and is concerned over ongoing tension between the two Muslim countries,” it added.
PM Nawaz, army chief head to Saudi, Iran to mend rift

Tensions between Riyadh and Tehran have been running high since the January 2 execution of leading Shia cleric Nimr al Nimr and the subsequent attacks on Saudi Embassy and consulate in Iran. Saudi Arabia and some of its allies have cut off ties with Iran, triggering a diplomatic crisis in the region.

Earlier, a senior Pakistani official unveiled that in one of the recent high-level meetings, the civil and military leadership was informed that Pakistan could become a battleground for a proxy war between Saudi Arabia and Iran if their relations continued to deteriorate.

Hence, fear of sectarian polarisation and proxy war between the two countries in Pakistan compelled Islamabad to mount a diplomatic push to mediate between the two key Muslim countries.
Saudi-Iran tensions: Aziz fails to clear up ‘ambiguity’ in stance

The visit is being described as a wise step in the best interest of the Muslim Ummah and leading politicians and analysts have hailed the premier’s visit to the Kingdom and Iran.
The premier is also scheduled to travel to Zurich on January 19 to attend the World Economic Forum at Davos.