plz help... NT results!!!

hey guys i just got my NT reports yesterday im 11.4 weeks and 22 years old.
The results for trisomy 13 and trisomy 18 wer very low risk so im not worried about those, but trisomy 21(downs syndrome ) has a background risk of 1:1480 and my adjusted risk is 1:512 far more then it should be for my age m worried sick:( i hav a triple test in 3 weeks to confirm the risk, does a ratio like mine necessarily mean my baby wil surely be affected with downs syndrome??

Re: plz help... NT results!!!

It doesn't. It's important to talk to your hubby during this time, to decide how you two will support each other and handle whatever results 3 weeks from now.

InshAllah all will be well.

The NT test alone is not a very reliable test to tell the exact risk and is associated with quite a few false positives.To generate a more accurate risk ratio it is computed when taking the results of the triple screen alongwith the NT test results....
Inshallah your baby will be fine ....but once you get the triple screening done you will have different numbers..and hopefully they will be able to ease you and enable you to have a discussion with your doctor....
all the best....Inshallah....

no it doesnt. my sister had the same result; we spent 4 months in pain, no life at all, thinking wats going to happen as abortion was not an option. before that my niece was born very sick and doctors thought that she had DS but she didnt.
but thanks to Allah baby was fine,

my mum did Aed kareema (not sure if i called it right) that is reading 125000 an ayat from Quran. do the same and everything will be fine.
dont worry.

hey hina dont worry inshahallah everything vl be fne my sincere prayers r wth u..............i was also just discussing this test wth my doctor today i had to done it after 2 weeks..........lil bit affraid..........

my cousns's son had a lot of water in his head n it was 6th month when my cousn came to know n doctor told her that baby will be abnormal she did a lot of zikar n prayer to ALLAH n allahumdullah when baby was born he was perfectly normal ALLAH can do anything so just pray to him n give some sadka........ inshahallah everything will be fne sweety.........

Roshni it's Ayat Karema :)

Ayate Karema does wonders ! May Allah Bless You & your baby ameen.

hinaz21 ...just out of curiosity I want to know in which hospital you have registered your case ? I want to know because I have seen anybody from pakistan posting question on this . I myself was not given this test neither so any of my acquaintances who had babies in Pakistan were given this test ! Infact I did not know about it till I read your question. Seems like you are going to a very good doctor , thats why I want to know. thanks

thanx for all ur support guys i need everyones prayers and yes we will b keeping an ayat e kareema khatam this week inshallah.

diomand321 as far as i know NT scans have become very important over the years they were commenly practiced abroad frm the 90s and also introduced in pakistan not sure if every ultrasound center has knowledge of such scans, i know back in the old days they did not exisit.. but i suppose these scans r now carried out to make awareness of any sort of problems that could exist so that couples r prepared and can make a choice for themselves.

Im registered at south city hospital in karachi my ultrasound is performed my dr lubna khalid and my gynecologist is dr parveen kanji irshaddudin as far as i know she and dr sethna are one of the best gyns.
i dont regret having the NT done at all, but i do admit it has put me under quite some stress:(

Re: plz help… NT results!!!

Dr. Parveen Kanji is a good doctor. My mom used to visit her.

loads of hugz & prayers for you . I believe in miracles of Allah. Just think positive & don’t let any bad thought come to your mind. I was being told many thing about my daughter when she was born but I never ever believed anyone , I had complete faith in Allah. He is the most merciful & He can put life in anything. :hugz:

Like everyone has told you read ayate karima.

you can also read sura-e-muzamil , because uskay parhnay sey bhi mushkil asaan hoti hai.

Hina, its easy to say...but try not to worry. In two of my 3 successful pregnancies, my NT results were 90 percent or higher that my child had down's. Nuchal sacs also indicated downs. Neither didhave downs though. These results are highly unreliable and I think they tend to do far more harm than good. If you want to know for sure, go for either an amniocentesis or a CVS test which either will give real results for. The CVS (chorionic sampling) test is more risky (2 percent chance of miscariage) but can be done earler, week 11 or 12) and is less stressful as no needles are involved. A smple of the placenta is removed thru the cervix. If reliable nd experieced doc does the test, the risk can be less than for amnio. Amnio is done around week 18 and they remove a smple of amniotic fluid thru a needle in the abdomen. Both tests give reliable results for known genetic abnormalities.

Dont rely on those blood tests and nuchal sac results alone. It will cause needless worry. All the best to you!

hey guys just thought id update everyone, mashallah we had an ayat e kareema khatam on friday.
I went for a second opinion NT scan to mussarat hassan today, allhumdulliah the result was much better, my NT dropped frm 2.2mm to 1.7mm, the first thing i did was show my results to my gyni and she said im out of the risk and no longer need further testing.. thank all of u guys for ur support and prayers it really means alot!!:)

congrats buddy keep reciting ayat e kareema best wishes for the rest of pregnancy

ive been following ur posts and other responses here. m v happy n relieved for u:) i have a 2 mnth baby and also thot of downs syndrome and all but never tok the test. there r so many diseases and health related issues that babies face and yet ppl are alwys talkin abt wantin a baby boy(or givin u prayers for baby boy) and all. its soo pathetic really. we shud always pray for the health of the baby. i m so glad for u.. i m sure u took alot of stress becus of this.. i m sure any wud b mother wud anyway after the results u got. prayers r wid u! :)

Congrats on having a baby, and InshaAllah your baby and you will both be in the best of health.

Btw... I take care of 3 kids with down syndrome, and they are the sweetest little things ever! I am childless from 4 years of marriage, and i pray to Allah that at least give me something, i don't care if has Down Syndrome or anything else, they are also human and have feelings and emotions.

thts really sweet of u KS my prayers r wth you inshahallah ALLAH vl bless you wth a healthy baby........ just remember one thing khuda k ghr mei der hai pr andher hai sooner or later u vl inshahallah be blessed