^ M3 is NOT an option. I am sure you know how much a NEW M3 costs, and it is in no way comparable to G35 - price-wise. Used cars are not being considered.
Other than that, interesting observations. Yes, it comes down to personal tastes. BMW does have the brand power behind it.
By the way, how does C230 Sports compare in this whole game? Its priced below $29k, so out of the door will be about $35k. I have heard that its RWD and thus has great road manners. Any info?
Coef. Drag .28 Cd .32 Cd .33 Cd With Aero Package
Wheelbase 112.2 in 107.3 in 107.5 in
Length 182.2 in 176.7 in 176.9 in
Width 71.5 in 69.2 in 70.1 in
Height 54.8 in 53.9 in 54.0 in
Front Track 60.4 in 57.9 in 59.4 in
Rear Track 60.8 in 58.4 in 59.2 in
Fuel Capacity 20.0 gal 16.6 gal. 16.6 gal
EPA City/Hwy 19/26 mpg 21/30 mpg 16/24 mpg
Turning Diameter 37.4 ft. 34.4 ft. 36.4 ft.
Brake Disc Size (F/R) 12.8/12.7 in. 12.8/12.6 in. 12.8/12.9 in. Brembo Brakes
Braking Distance (60-0) 111 ft. (sedan) 120 ft. 112 ft. From edmunds.com testing / Coupe should be less with Brembo brake Package, bigger rubber, and less weight.
Tires - Front 225/45WR18 225/40R18 225/45ZR18 330Ci w/ M V-spoke 18"
Tires - Rear 245/45WR18 255/35R18 255/40ZR18 330Ci w/ M V-spoke 18"
Warranty 48 mo. 60,000 mi. 48 mo. 50,000 mi. 48 mo. 50,000 mi.
Price $32,595 $39,285 $49,545 M3 with Xenon and Leather Power seats;
325Ci w/ Xenon, Leather, and Sport
Package; 330Ci with Xenon, Leather,
Sport package, and 18" wheels. (all
standard on G35 Coupe 6M)
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
By the way, how does C230 Sports compare in this whole game? Its priced below $29k, so out of the door will be about $35k. I have heard that its RWD and thus has great road manners. Any info?
Faisal C230 is not a good car, i repeat it is NOT a good car. I pulled up the service calls on c230/c240 in north america and guess what in all the mercedes family this car has the highest rate of issues ranging from minor to major.
Actually, Pilot had it for a year and a half may be he could give you indepth analysis of his personal experience with 230.
A friend of mine (who considers himself quite sophisticated in terms of car knowledge) just bought a slightly used (<10k miles) 2002 C240 manual stick shift with sports package. He raves about the car. Ofcourse, its still new, so he will find out down the road, how it is, but he tells me that due to rear-wheel drive, the car has excellent balance and control on the road.
hskhan... u have told us repeatedly that you don't think much about C-class or 3-series. Its not that we don't know your opinion, its just that if you repeat the same thing so many times, it starts getting redundant. AMG is not an option. Do you know how much does a brand new C32 costs? There is simply no comparison. I can also start raving about E55 or M5, but is it useful in this discussion? No. Most people buy cars within a certain budget. In this case it is $35k, and no used cars. Thank you.
^Just read all of your comments. I bought c230 in Jan 2002 and have to be honest; I've had one or two major problems other than that the car was really great.
1. Rough engine. Bothered me a little at 1st, but then got used to it. Just didn’t have that throaty rumble that I thought a car like this should have. Engine is supposed to be very reliable though and so that’s good.
2. Opening windows, etc with keys. Yes, it’s a problem, but I don't really do it, so it hasn't bothered me too much. It wasn't just my imagination that you have to hold the key close to use this function. If this is the case, what's the use of the function anyway? Hope MB gets this fixed for later models.
3. Had the sport package and noticed quite a bit of wear on the tires. Didn’t think I'll get more than 12000 miles on these (Michilin zr rated). Have gotten varying answers from the dealer, but this is what I've found out and what I'm going to do. The Mich's I had on the car right were the summer sport tires. They only have a tread wear rating of ~ 200. This is very low. Combine this with the car's heavy weight ~4000 lbs (that’s alot for sch a small car) and it’s no wonder the things wear out quick. So, Michelin makes an all season YR rated tire that has a tread wear rating of ~400. 1st, I've driven this car in snow once and it’s an experience I don't want to have again. Rear wheel drive, wide tires, and lots of power, look out. 2nd these YR rated tires are still low profile, etc, etc, so the look will be the same. 3rd, I don't think I'd sacrifice so much in handling.
Anyway, just some issues I had but I sold it within a year and bought Accord coupe 2003 model. Hope this helps
Yes Faisal Sahib that is right, call me crazy but I am very much happy with what I have now. Primarily my wife drives that car so you can guess the rest of story from here. :)
Well, ofcourse its your choice and I am sure you have your reasons, but if I were deciding between what my wife (and by default my family) will be travelling most, I'd go for more safer car, in case of crash. Isn't MB a much safer car compared to, say, Honda?
Ofcourse this is not a sole decider in which car you keep, but I am just curious as to what is your take on safety features in C-230.
Faisal Sahib, we (my wife and I) did go thru all the aspects and decided to go for Honda. As I said earlier she is the primary diver for that car and she doesn't drive on highways (may God keep our family safe). But Faisal Sahib life is so uncertain that one can even get killed in an armoured car (personally experienced the accident in Victoria,BC). Yes, you are right c230 was way more safer than accord but it cost me less for service and tunning now. :)
First of all, I am not "sahib". I am just "Faisal". You are probably same age as me, if not much older :)
Second, I know maintenance costs of BMW and MB are higher than Honda, Toyota and Nissan etc. That is the price one pays to drive in a brand-name which is associated with status, around the world. Albeit, these are, as hskhan has repeatedly pointed out, just the entry-level cars in their respective brand-names. :)
Lastly, another friend of mine was in a SUV (either Expedition or Explorer) with his family when they had a crash and the SUV totally gave up on them. Alhamdollilah they all survived, but the first thing he did was to buy a used S500. He claims, though zindagi aur maut khuda ke haath mein hai, but it is our responsibility to minimize the risk and the chances. He claims MB has some of the best safety features in cars of comparable stature. He says, if, khuda nakhwasta, one is in an accident, one should pray he is in a German car. All three (BMW, VW and MB) put a lot of emphasis on safety. Volvo is another great name in safe cars category.
He finally bought BMW 325i with premium package and sports package. Its probably cost him close to $35k but obviously he is delighted with his purchase and is driving up and down the state at every conceivable opportunity.