please

teach me how to make rice.

my blasted room mate is responsible for one dish and he mucks up EVERY single time. I wanna enjoy my dal but the rice is too blasted soggy.

could someone please write one recipe without leaving any detail at all (i mean it, dont assume any stupidity beyond me).

I found one previous thread on it but thought the recipes were too advanced over there.

thanku

Re: please

oh come on!

Boiled rice (for two people):

1.5 cups chawal
2.5 cups water

Clean / wash rice until all the starch is gone and the water runs clear. Pour in 2.5 cups water and put on full heat until it just begins to boil. I like putting in some garam masala then and a chicken stock cube and salt. Reduce to medium heat immediately and cook until there is still some water left, then reduce to low, wet and wring a clean dish towel and seal the cover with it and put the rice on dum until soft and fluffy. It's weird, I sometimes find the rice to be too dry this way so you can add in a few tablespoons of milk on top of the rice when putting it to dum.

ravage, karachi chalay jao..... :D

The way i make is just boil lots of water. Add salt, ONe clove since it gives a strong flavor. Add presoaked rice (presoaked for 30-45 mins). Add the rice to boiling water. Keep on medium high. Check the rice after 10 mins or so depending on the quantity you have. If you think its almost done, take it off and drain it. DO NOT leave in the hot water since its gonna over cook even though its off the stove. Drain immediately. enjoy with the daal while I am waiting for the sakhpaita recipe.

PS: This is the most explanatory i could get. I hope it helps. Need any more help, PM me on msn sometime.

General rule of thumb is , for each cup of rice, use 1.5 cups of water long as its basmati.

Wash the rice first, 2-3 times to remove the starch from it (the water will be frothy and white the first time you wash it).

Then boil it with 1.5 cups of water per cup of rice.

Ideally, get a rice cooker and do the same thing i said above, except rice cooker stops exactly on time :)

simple rice ?

Very easy..

Leking tumhain nahi atey, :nook:

sharam se doob jao… kisi larki ki haseen ankhoon mian :Pretty:

Put water in rice boil and add salt, take the water out and add roasted spring onion(in butter) little soya souce add 2 eggs after slightly frying them in pan.

Add something else you find in fridge, which you want to add in rice.

Its readly egg fried rice (my ishtyle ) :smooth:

Hey it’s very easy. which one do you wanna make? boiled or the one with oil and onions or zeera rice? i can cook both :smooth:

temme about both!!

thanks folks.. ira and maniac’s recipes seem easy.. sarah bibi has an agenda other than teaching me what with her ultra advanced rice making and wet cloth based dumming :hoonh:

code red aap bhi kisi aisi hi jagah doob marein.

Ira, doesn't the rice get too soft that way? I've tried it your way, i.e. making it in lots of water and presoaking beforehand but it was always so soggy that I stopped presoaking it.

Ravage, I think you wanted a way to make plain rice but try this some time, it's instant palao :D My khala used leftover chicken ya gosht ka salan and would put the water and rice in there and cook as normal. It was pretty good and the food from the day before didn't get wasted.

okay :D

boiled rice - take one cup of rice. wash them up real good. then when you see all the white water running through. keep them soaked in the bowl and put lots of water in the cooking pot and boild it. put lots of salt and put rice when you see the water boiling. keep checking the rice. if you feel the salt is more, add more water. if you feel salt is less, add more salt. when you feel it is cooked (like when you are able to eat them). pour out all the remaining water, and keep the rice back on the stove and cover them at a very low flame for about 10 minutes. boiled rice are ready :D

onion / zeera rice - get a cup of rice, wash them real good and soak.

get two medium sized onions. cut them and fry them. add 3/4 cloves, 3/4 black corns, 2 black cardamom and some black spice. fry them all. when you see the onion turning pink / brown, add a little water and let it boil for a while. then add red spice and salt. my mom says it is silly to put red spice in zeera rice but i do cz i like it. then add some zeera (i put lots cz i like it) fry it. then put some coriander powder and fry it. after you can smell the nice fragrence..., just add 1.5 or 2 cups of water (if you added any water to the gravy that you cooked and that water did not evaporate while cooking than do not add more than 1.5 cups). then add rice when you see the water boiling. keep checking the rice. if you wanna add any salt, spice, add before the water has dried up. sprinkle more zeera (as much as you like) then when you see just a slight moisture in the rice, cover them and cook at a very low flame for 10 minutes.

matar palao - you can cook matar palao in the same way as above. only difference is that you have to add two medium sized tomatoes or tomatoe paste after adding all the garam masala and after cooking that for a while, add washed peas (about quarter to half a cup for one cup of rice)

Recipe for rice

Items needed:
pair of legs

Instructions:
GO to your nearest Chinese food restaurant.
Buy a quart of white rice.
Pay the nice man behidn the counter $1 (price may be higher depending on location of restaurant).
Walk home.
Serves however many you want.

basmati rice (1 cup)
water (2 cups)
combine water and rice and add a tsp salt
cover partially and bring to a boil
when most of the water is boiled away, reduce heat to low, cover completely
cook till all water is gone.

another easy recipe for boiled basmati
add your rice to lots of boiling water ie half pan of water boil on high heat for ten mins
drain in colander

put the rice back in pan cover with tight lid (or foil and and lid)on very low heat for 5 mins

success!! :hula:

i used a mixture of recipes.. started off with ira’s recipe, used chicken stock like sarah suggested, put a clove like ira, put zeera in like tnwb, and used a colander like lazy daisy

oh and i put oil in too (ammi’s suggestion).

rotfl Sara516!!!!

another easy option is a"Minute Rice". Buy it boxed in a local grocery store...you boil water, add an equal amount of rice, turn off the flame and let it sit for 10 minutes. Never fails. The rice is a little drier than a"real" cooked rice but its not bad and its totally idiot-proof

ravage, are you a girl or a boy?

He is a girl.

LOL CareBear. Still it doesnt clarify.

ravage, 2 ghantay mein procedures likhay thay rice cooking ke. ap ne zeera daal kar bohot ehsan kiya :snooty:

new wannabe dont listen to the Carebear ( :grumpy: )… Im neither girl nor ‘boy’ im a Man :snooty: … aur your zeera rice recipe was too hard, i just went with the pani mein dalo add zeera and call it zeera rice.

and this is the second time i've had to clarify that.

what am i doing wrong? :(