Play on till 2011 and keep the records: Sunny to Sachin

Wishful thinking by Gavaskar?
Proof that Indians are obsessed with individual records.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/htcricket/8145_1868687,001601400002.htm
Batting legend Sunil Gavaskar has advised Sachin Tendulkar to play on at least till 2011 World Cup to surge ahead of his closest competitors and ensure the records stayed with India.
Gavaskar said players like Brian Lara and Ricky Ponting were breathing down the neck of Tendulkar but he could make it “virtually impossible” for them to catch up with him if he continued playing till the 2011 World Cup, to be hosted by India and three other Asian countries.
Also, that way Tendulkar would “mirror” his own career which culminated with the World Cup hosted by India in 1987, the former Indian skipper said.
“Like everybody goes through a tough time, he (Tendulkar) has gone through a tough time with injuries and now he is just coming back. So obviously it has not been very easy – that’s what can happen at the international level, at the highest level,” he said on the sidelines of the Castrol Awards function here last night.
“I would like to think that he will play at least for next World Cup in 2011 in India. It will pretty much mirror what happened with my career because I finished with the World Cup in India in 1987. And Sachin would be about the same age in 2011.”
“So I am hoping he will carry on till 2011 because that will mean he will score thousands more runs, he will stretch the distance between him and others and will make it virtually impossible for others to catch up with him, which at the end of the day means that the records stay with India.”
Tendulkar currently holds the record of scoring most number of Test centuries at 35, one more than Gavaskar and Lara. Ponting has 33 tons to his credit.

Re: Play on till 2011 and keep the records: Sunny to Sachin

I am surprised that Gavaskar is failing to see that Ponting is in the form of his life while Tendu's been a shade of what he used to be for a good 3-4 years. Add to that the fact that Australia play more test matches than India every year. Besides what makes Sunny think that Ponting (turns 32 on 19 December) who's 1.5 years younger than SRT won't play till WC 2011. So everything counts against SRT IMO.

Yes you are right mate.

gavaskar was one of the most selfish indian players..he considered his own individual achievements more important than teams' victories.he was obessed with scoring century after century on flat tracks.when it came to important games he did'tn achieve much.ganguly was headed in the same direction untill he got kicked out.remember when dravid as an acting captain declared in a test match in pakistan leaving tendulkar a few runs short of his double hundered?Ganguly and Tendulkar got upset and criticized dravid.

Agreed :k: and Imran Khan was one of the most selfless players. He once declared Pakistan’s innings against SLA with his own score on 93*. Can you believe it?

Tendulkar bhi zaleel-o-khuwar ho kur retire ho ga..just like Ganguly. Koi izzat naam ki cheez hai kay nhin?

just shows u the mind set, "he needs to get all the records" cricket is not about records but winning matches and tendulkar hasnt done that much of late and absurdly gavaskar is saying to him play till 2011

Only 6 out of Gavasker,s 34 hundreds were in won matches.Even Younis khan has 7,
That says it all,

YAY!! to IMMI!!! :k:

NAY!! to tendu… :nook:

wow, u have got to be kidding? n e links or stats u can provide?

Come on guys have you forgotten how we were celebrating Yousef's records a few days ago. Of course it is a matter of pride, similarly Gavaskar wants his countrymen to hold the record. Nothing wrong with that. Personally I think Tendulkar will not be able to do what Gavaskar wants him to but that is a different matter altogether, Gavaskar is saying this because he feels that Tendi is the best equipped to bring all those records to India.

ehsan bhai, I personally think that ‘bringing/keeping/storing records in Bhindi-land’ or any land in the world, mentality shows someone’s narrow mindedness. If Dhoni breaks Anwars 194ODI innings record tomorrow, I will not feel sad. Similary if Ponting (32) breaks Tendilia’s 13K runs record, it should be OK. Indian cricket fans (and ours too) need to be educated. Records and there to challenge young blood to break it. It should be enjoyed if someone lifts its game high above the par to break someone’s record. Don’t get emotional over who did it, or my countrymen have all the records. Tendulkar, Anwar, Yousuf, Gawaskar and their uncles will still be remembered as greats. Even if a 16 old comes and break their record.

I want Inzi, Rana or even Abdul Rehman to hit a blind SIX at the last ball of the final of the World Cup 2007 off McGrath bowling to lift the trophey.

Now this will cause millions of hearts to skip several beats. Wouldn’t it? But Miandad’s six in Sharja will still have its own charm, that launched Pakistan as the most thrilling cricket powerhouse for next two decades.

Or Panesar to take 20 wickets in last Ashes test to be the first one acheiving it. :k: Breaking all records…all of 'em. I will be equally delighted. :slight_smile:

Yes Yousuf's record is a matter of pride for Pakistan but **we would n't want him or anyone-else to carry on playing just for the sake of breaking records once they are over the hill. That's the difference. **Tendu's batting has been in decline for 3 years or so. Commonsense and his own form in the last 3-4 years dictate that Ponting would have the last laugh

Form Book (since 2004)

• Kallis (since 2004)
    29 Tests - 2880 Runs - Ave: 68.57 with 11 hundreds

• Yousuf (since 2004)
    25 Tests - 2944 Runs - Ave: 68.46 with 13 hundreds

• Ponting (since 2004)
    34 Tests - 3492 Runs - Ave: 65.89 with 13 hundreds

• Dravid (since 2004)
    30 Tests - 2632 Runs - Ave: 64.19 with 7 hundreds

• Lara (since 2004)
    31 Tests - 3037 Runs - Ave: 55.22 with 11 hundreds

• Inzi (since 2004)
    25 Tests - 1935 Runs - Ave: 52.29 with 7 hundreds

• Tendulkar (since 2004)
    22 Tests - 1505 Runs - Ave: 51.89 with 4 hundreds incl. 248* v Bangladesh
    if you exclude that innings his average drops to 43.34

Stats from HowSTAT: The Cricket Statisticians

I am wondering why you choose 2004..why not ‘Since 2003’ or ‘Since 2002’ … :smiley:

Lara recently said "I will trade all my records for a winning West Indies cricket team"

SPoke volumes... Gavaskar was indeed a player for the records. He was a great test batsman and won India a couple of memorable matches but I always sensed the selfishness in his batting.

And let us not compare Pakistani with Indians when it comes to records. I have met many Indian cricket fans in the USA and they are obsessed with records...oh man, he is the only cricketer in the whole wide world, crap. Pakistanis on the other hand don't even know many of the wonderful records our cricketers hold. We are more into winning and playing positive.

Sorry Indian guppies, but this is the truth.

Form/consistency has to be measured over a period of time plus 2003/2004 marks the decline in his batting. So I wanted to see how others have fared compared to Tendu since then. I did n’t even bother to check Hayden, Jayawardene or Langer’s stats but I am pretty sure they have all done as well if not better than Tendu during that period.

Tendu’s stats would look even worse if I were to include his performance in 2003. So if anything I did him a favour :slight_smile:

More bad news for Tendu. Lara 37 wants to carry on playing test cricket till he’s 40
http://content-uk.cricinfo.com/westindies/content/current/story/273852.html
Brian Lara, the West Indies captain, has said that he could prolong his Test career till the age of 40, at the same time also indicating that his one-day career could end after the World Cup next year.
Lara, now 37, was speaking after two of Australia’s bowling spearheads - Shane Warne and Glenn McGrath - announced that they would quit Test cricket after the Ashes series concludes in Sydney. While McGrath will continue playing till the World Cup, the Sydney Test will be Warne’s last as an international player.
In an interview to The Sunday Mail in Australia, Lara admitted that one-day cricket was starting to take a toll on him, especially since taking over the captaincy. West Indies have just completed a gruelling tour of Asia - the DLF Cup tri-series in Malaysia, the Champions Trophy in India and the tour of Pakistan, which included three Tests and five one-dayers. Lara was at his devastating best in the Tests, scoring a double century at Multan, but his form dipped in the ODIs, compiling just 71 runs in four matches.
“I’m not sure how much one-day cricket I’ll be playing after the World Cup,” Lara said. "Hopefully we can win it and that would be a great way to go out. I don’t know if I’ll get to 40 but I want to play as long as I can. I still have the competitive spirit. My enthusiasm is still there. I know I still have some Tests ahead of me, and hopefully some more big innings.
“It [quitting one-day cricket] is looking that way. Since taking over the captaincy again, it has had an effect on me mentally and physically. A one-dayer is now as tough as playing two or three days of a Test match.”
Lara’s career coincided with the period in which West Indies were on the decline, and he admitted that he would be willing to relinquish his runs and records to be part of a world-beating unit.
“Unfortunately, my career has been through the declining years of West Indies cricket and at times it’s given me great sadness,” he said. “There is a sense of unfulfillment. To be honest, I would give up any runs, any record just to be a part of the current Australian cricket team or the West Indies team of the 1970s and 1980s.”
When asked about Warne and McGrath, Lara stated that their decision took him by surprise, one that would leave a big void in the Australian team.
“I want to speak to Shane and Glenn before I say anything publicly. But, yes, I was surprised. I didn’t see it coming. Australian cricket will miss them. Shane and Glenn are as good as anyone I have played against.”

you dont know cricket ...... try to check the record books