Plate ogling

I don’t know this is the appropriate place to post this thread or not. So my question is what you can do to the peeps who are in the habit of looking into your plate. I mean they want to know WHAT and HOW MUCH you are eating? I won’t mind if someone’s takes something to eat off my plate but please don’t look into my plate like seriously.. I don’t do this so naturally I want you to do the same. I know of a person who does it religiously… You have a plate in your hand with food and that person can’t walk past you without having a quick peek into your plate. ugh

I consider it bad manners.

How to treat them?

Re: Plate ogling

Yeah that’s bad manners.

Next time they peek, offer them your plate they won’t peek again ever.

I never post but had to reply to this. Both my bhabi’s do this, like actually strain their neck to see how much is in my or my mom’s plate. My response is to do it right back to them or hold out your plate and ask if they want a better view lol. It’s better to be the bigger person and just let it go

Wohi to. It’s too bad if you have to deal With these kind of people daily and that too in your home.

bad manners? probably. should it bother you? no. :smokin:

Tou aap loug Zara kum khaya karain naa. Jab plate main Biryani ka mountain bana hua hoga tou loug pgir dekhain ge na

^ timatar coming flying at TLK :hehe:

To OP:

When you catch someone doing that…offer them…“acha apne qorma nahin chakha? lein mere mein se chakh lein”.

stop taking all the botiAAN from the daigCHEE and people will stop starring at your plate..

Take it easy. Consider them PCEs. Portion Control Enforcers.

People are yet to see me doing this. Mein ne kabhi mountain nehi banaya.

Wo chakh b lain gey par baaz nehi aain gey,

if only I could take easy…

lol. I’ve seen people who do this constantly. I usually have a reply ready which suits me perfectly. You see, I’m quite thin and am considered under weight amongst most Pakistani’s although quite honestly I just can’t gain weight. Anyway, so when they stare at my plate I go straight up

“Aunty ji, itna gor se mut dekhain, pehle he kuch jism pe charta nahi he, baki ka bhi uttar jae ga” and then I laugh and encourage them to laugh as well “par salan zarror try karna, bara maze ka he” lol. Some aunties look at me like Im a weirdo the others give an awkward laugh and walk away. lol

bad manners, just ignore it and keep enjoying the food on your plate and start your meal with Bismillah.

And, also I have noticed that these weirdos are mostly kanjoos. Believe me I know them personally and they are super kanjoos.

Slowly start sliding the plate away from them until they realize what’s happening. Be sure to maintain eye contact for maximum social awkwardness.

I would prefer plate ogling to seriously loud noises when someone else eats… I can reciprocate with plate ogling of my own to give them a taste of their own medicine but I can’t eat with someone going chapar chapar.

I take it that the oggling “peeps” in question are either extended relatives or in-laws. OP, is it possible for you to maybe eat elsewhere so that you are not in their sight? If not, then you can try saying something like…“Aap itnay ghor se dekh hain meri plate ko, lagta hai that you’re hungry. Aap bhi lain na”…and encourage her to eat as well. Say this very nicely and I think that if you say this to them every day…they will eventually stop staring at your plate. Repetition is maddening. :D. Now…IF…you know that saying any remark at all will only create unnecessary drama…then ignore it.

I am sorry I hate it when people stare, I would just make a face at them or something.

People with narcissistic tendencies do this - they’re looking for a response.

These are learned habits - And parents shouldn’t do it themselves because kids are picking everything up and if a kid is caught doing such things at home, should be straightened out immediately.

My husband had this annoying habit of eating things without me knowing; like I would find a banana peel in awd places or he would drink a glass of milk chup chup kay…Then as I found it; his mom has the very same habits; I obviously can’t changer her or want to, but I made sure to get him to stop, he did thank God; now even he offers me a piece of twix from his own bar or eats freely around the house just like I always have :biggthumb: