Re: plans for old age ?
if you did good with your parents, you will have a charming Burhapa. otherwise expect da expected.
learn something new, piano maybe if I don't do it before. Visit places, live off the fat of the land.
The desi community in the west is going to face some serious challenges as it ages. Just save up money for your retirement so you don't need to rely only on social security to get by.
Medicare may or may not be around at that time and Americans will be working their butts off to pay off the current deficit. And who knows what programs will get cut in the future.
And kids are increasingly unwilling to house their parents so...you never know if your kids will abandon you to a nursing home.
^ to nursing home mai bhi shugal hi hai.pura din peray rahoo.tv dekho khana khao,mauj kero tension free mahool.america kay old homes to bohot saaf suthray hotay hai likin kabhi kabhar nurse serial killer nikal aati hai
kaun ... i heard teh place in pickering is fantastic ... i've never been there but i've heard its like a proper proper restaurant ... i forgot the name of that one thou ... as for karamia i think i shld give it a shot ... as for nursing homes ... nasir i don't think u need luxeries and stuff at that age ... wat u seriously desire is love and company of ur loved ones ... or something else to keep u occupied ... which wld be teachin and cookin for me INSHALLAH
What are your plans for old age & after retirement. I mean when your kids will be married , settled and busy in their own lives. How do you plan to spend your days without kids and job ? How would you keep yourself busy ?
Since i am one of the older (almost 50 and my father and uncle died in late 50s) on GS, and children almost grown up also pondering same. Allah blessed me 4 fantastic children a son and 3 daughters, the reason of my working for life is to provide good platform for my children, although it was a mix bag, but i am sure i have done best. 3 elders promised me take care of the younger sisters if anything happen to me. The only thing i am looking forward is marriage of my children (also want to make sure the youngest must be taken care well). I am thinking of early distribution of my assets to children (may keep a property so rental income could support me there), move back to Pakistan, only Allah know where is my final place, but after holly land the only place i wish to bury is Karachi. My wife would be staying with children, and i have slightly different dreams. Once free from pressures of life, i want to spend my time to establish my relations with god, my ideal is find a man of god, and get a small room near the hujra, with minimum possessions (like to sleep on the floor anyway), have a simple life spending most of time praying and finding pathway to Allah, hopefully may Allah accept me. Although i do not wish to burden on children, but in principle they are the one who responsible for both of us. This has been told to them in clear and uncertain term and so far our family culture i do not see any problem at all. This just a dream (may be selfish also) but only Allah know what is in store.
Mirch said
If you are so noble why are you waiting for old age ? You can work for some worthy and noble cause when you are young and have lot of energy to help others. In old age you will need help from others to help you perform many things which you can do easily now.
Just wondering , not pointing finger at ya.
I work hard while i am young too, but before i die i would like to at least leave some legacy behind, and by worthy cause for which i hope to die i meant like liberating a country or something and dying at the point of victory........ Sure one should lead a life of noble spirit and help others, but i also believe in making sure i die before i am too old to wield a sword..... perfect age would be about mid forties or fifties, that way it would be a perfect life. Okay some would not agree, with that but i find it is the best way for a hero to go...... to end everything with one great finale. Hence i pray for my chance for the perfect death.
Well hopefully your all contributing to your RSP's hehehe... and so Inshallah when the time comes for me to retire, I will take that money and go relax and enjoy what's left of life by travelling the world at a leisurley pace..with cane in hand and an old baba budda at my side :P