Plane Spotting as a hobby, as a passion, and profession

So, it turns out Plane Spotting is not just a hobby, but a passion and for some it is a profession.

Often airports around the world will have dedicated Spotting areas reserved for enthusiasts, or there will be some flexibility because the Aviation authorities understand that people are fascinated with these beautiful beasts of birds that transport us around the world.

Growing up, I for a fact, and I’m sure most others had a desire to air travel. It’s just one of those things you want to do as a child. Then it morphs into wanting to become a pilot when you grow up. However, even when we mature and settle into our respective work fields, the child inside remains. Perhaps that’s the reason Plane Spotting is an existing hobby.

What do you think? Have you ever gone Plane Spotting, or know anyone who is passionate about it?

Where I live, there’s a pretty decent crowd of people who regularly plane spot, and their works can be viewed online by searching Chicago Plane Spotters. Some of the photos and/or videos are absolutely stunning, and really give you an idea of the magnitude of air transporters when they’re passing you by at a few hundred feet or less.

I’m not all that fond of plane spotting per se, but when waiting to board a flight, I enjoy window watching to pass time.

Re: Plane Spotting as a hobby, as a passion, and profession

yes, i am one of them...it's my passion. i used to stop by airports in Toronto and New Delhi. i can identify the types of different planes in the air. i can look at number of engines, their position of mounts, the shape of wings, the presence or absence of wingtips, sometimes, even the shapes of the engines in itself is a giveaway to identifying a plane.

i LOVE watching airplanes landing and taking off at airports.

I luv it.. especially while waiting at the airports, its fun to watch different movements. Its amazing.

Urgh

some' spotted a Malaysian plane over Ukraine andmanaged' to bring it down.

Most beautiful plane spotting moment I ever had was driving from Toronto to Niagara falls with my brother. Flying overhead towards us was a plane in the distance. As it got closer, the conversation was

"Is that an airliner?"
"Maybe, but I think it's propeller driven"
"I don't think it's an airliner, is it military"
"I don't think so, it looks like its coming to land but there's nor military airbase here"
"It's definitely propeller driven..."
"Oh my God is that a ......"
"LANCASTER! It looks like a Lancaster!"
"Wow... that's definitely a Lancaster... beautiful"

It was one of only 2 Avro Lancaster bombers from World War 2 that was still in flying condition anywhere in the world. Went to the museum to see that plane in person 1 week later.

i was one of the lucky ones who watched the first landing of Airbus A-380 at New Delhi airport and it was an amazing site. wow! :)

aaaah. As a kid, I used to stand hours beside Karachi runway's fence (good old days in 80) waiting for a "jumbo" (747) to take off. To just feel the thrust and then wait for a "jumbo jet" to land....it was sight to die for me at that time! I tried pushing my kids so hard so many time "chaloo lets go watch planes" my daughter was like "baba, youtube per daikh leen" :(

aaj tu Karachi runway k pass jaoo tu pata nahi zinda wapus aana hota hai ya ASF waley goli maar deen gaai

I mean as a kid it was fun to see a plane and go "look plane!" but as a grown up can't be bothered tbh. I have other things I need to know about, than know the difference between a 777 or an Air Bus 320 or whatever, besides as a flyer of course. I do know people (old couples typically) who like to park right besides Pearson Airport and do plane spotting. It's cute I think, for them.

Barey hwe to din men bhi taare nazar aagae :bummer:

And old couples.. cough cough.. be ready :wink:

Hain?

I’ll be watching netflix as an old couple :snooty: