Pink Tea

or Kashmiri Chaye or whatever it is called. I didn’t get a chance to drink it while in Pakistan so could someone let me know how do they make it.

Some people say that it’s is just the green tea and some people say u just buy the kashmiri tea and then boil it in milk and then shake it well until it turns pink. I have tried all these methods but it didn’t work. So could someone please do rehm on this karachi wala and teach him how to make kashmiri tea?

I believe u gotta put some bakin soda in it.

Yaar but what is the procedure to single detail. Ab tarpatay hi jao gay ya kuch likho gay bhi?

I dont know how u exactly make it but I heard my mom sayin that in USA because of the water u gotta put bakin soda in it.

Originally posted by byousaf:
I dont know how u exactly make it but I heard my mom sayin that in USA because of the water u gotta put bakin soda in it.

yaar ask your amman, please. how to make this nice tea?

Okay khan sahib, I just asked my mum. She has the recipe written down somewhere but told me what she knows.
You take the kashmiri chai (or kewa) and boil it in the required amount of water for quite some time until the quantity of water is considerable reduced. Then you add the milk and again, boil it...boil it and whisk it and add a pinch of soda for the pink colour. Add ilachi and badam to it as well.

Any other alternatives?

:-*

mohterma cat-woman sahiba, Thanks very very very much

(many more smilies if Gupshup could have allowed).

I have discovered that I have still got some kashmiri tea and I will try it soon.

Originally posted by cat-woman:
**Okay khan sahib, I just asked my mum. She has the recipe written down somewhere but told me what she knows.
You take the kashmiri chai (or kewa) and boil it in the required amount of water for quite some time until the quantity of water is considerable reduced. Then you add the milk and again, boil it...boil it and whisk it and add a pinch of soda for the pink colour. Add ilachi and badam to it as well.

Any other alternatives?**

sari thanks wapis. I tried and it didn't turn pink and I embarrased myself in front of bhabhi who I invited her for her wedding anniversary.

how much soda do i have to put in?

baitay ghabrayo nahi main jou hooN

Main batati hooN kaisay banatay hain,

chalou shabash 6 cups water THUNDAA lay ker pan main dalou saath 2 ts kashmiri chai,
itna pakayo k pani 4 cups rah jaey,cahmach say ready qahwa nikal ker daikhna dark golden hou gaa,bilkul aisa hi chaheay,
phir iss main THUNDAA 1 cup pani daal ker doodh nikalnay walay chamchay say wou karo wou jou GAWALAY log apnay karahi main doodh k saath karatya hain yani phaintou,thouri dair k baad qahwa ka colour pinkish houna shuroo hou gaa yani uss ki jhaag pink lagay gi,tab ready hay,

ab dhoodh ko pahlay boil karou,phir qahwa dalna ager ilaychi chouti wali achi lagti hay tou daal laina 4 aded,suger as u like or 2 cup tea ready karna hay tou namak 2 cup main 1/4 ts dalna hay namak or suger mill ker isska taste banatay hain,

ager iss simple tareeqay say qahwa na niklay tou 6 cup main baking SODA 1/2 ts daalna,asel kaam isko phaintna hay ager dhoodh niklanay wala chacha nahi hay tou 2 aded pan lay ker yaa koee container lay ker idher udher daal ker phaint laina

yaad rakhna thuday pani main chai daal ker qahwa nikalna hay.

Hmmm....I have never heard any of the recipes mentioned above, nor have seen any baking soda being used. Coming from a Kashmiri back ground every time it's made at our place, it's cooked in milk and dry fruits only and for a good 2-3 hrs before it actually starts producing a color somewhere along the line of pink. The preparation takes a couple of hours to give it the good taste that it has.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

kia karoon kia na karoon

Khan Sahib, try a bit of everything. This way, you'll be making the best tea ever! Oh, and don't forget to give us the verdict!