Pink Tea recipe for Akmoti

Re: Pink Tea recipe for Akmoti

Can i use liptons greentea teabags ?

me going to try making the pink tea over the weekend. Better be pink this time

Paki rana, no ,. tea bag tea is no good, it wont have any color , since its already the least quality tea that gets packed in teabags ...

Fizza, make sure you follow the first few steps carefully, that is what makes all the difference , if you dont get enough maroon color out of the leaves before you add milk, the tea wont get pink after you have added the milk .. good luck

I have told mum , I 'll make Pink tea for everyone on Eid day, lol. Thinking to better give it a try tomorrow , don’t want to get insulted later on, basysti. :hehe:

Tried yestrday .. coudnt get the color or taste..splash kr kr k mere muscle ban gaye hain

HAHA :rotfl: wait for my experience

do try it guys i made it so many times n its so freakin yummy…thankyou again CB:)
i’ve never had pink tea before n now m addicted to it!
baby doesnt allow me to put cream n nuts over it:naraz: otherwise pic post karti

i will make on eid too inshaAllah:k:
aik cheez milgai hai mujhe guests ko impress karne k liye :smiley:

If you processed it exactly how i explained and didnt get the color not taste , then definitely you are using the wrong tea leaves :hmmm:

What brand tea are you using?

Akmoti, do you have the picture of the green tea bottle that you are using to prepare the tea? It might help many others here ..

it was yasmeen green tea leavs

its not branded its khuli greentea…bought 2bags 1.5yrs back…n m still using it…
try lipton greentea leaves?

awesome! have been looking for this recipe !!

Does the type of milk you add make a difference ? Whole milk, 2 percent, soy, almond milk ? I can't drink anything dairy (else i'll choke and die thanks to my allergies) - so I stick with soy or almond milk .. would that matter ?

could you add the sugar to each persons cup or to the chai itself? and salt is a must or need be?

thank you thank you thank you !!

haha clever,I am sure your guests 'll ask for the recipe. Say thanks to CB for the recipe and thanks to me for the advice,only joking. :hehe:

CB, where can I get the green tea leaves ? Do they have it at Tesco’s or Sainsbury?

I need to try it again. Will try soon. I hope it will turn out good.

Hi, I am so sorry, I just saw this comment. didnt see it before :frowning:

I havnt tried with almond milk or soya.. perhaps you can try it ? I assume though, that it should be fine. Once the tea turns dark maroonish color before adding the milk, your tea is basically ready. Adding the mik only thickens the consistency .Infact for some of my guests I take the milk separately in a pot so they can add in , only as much as they like.

Same with the sugar, yes you can add it in later on separately in cups. some people like it salty, some like it sweet, some like it with mixed taste. so they can individually customize their cup of tea ..

erm , again sorryfor the delayed response. Saw this message just now :frowning:

Honestly, I havnt tried the tesco or sainsbury’s brand yet. The last time I bought it from a desi shop. They call it green tea, they are dried leaves .. then I bought a few packs from dubai , al okazay tea , its called .. they are also dried green tea leaves ..

next time I go to tesco I will check if i can locate that same tea ..

Good luck :slight_smile:

I don’t get how green tea can turn pink… like normal green tea leaves? I buy Mokhtar green tea leaves to make kava - can you use that?

Also, I heard that because tea leaves are delicate they should be put in water after it’s boiled, otherwise they’ll burn and the taste will not be good - but that might only apply to making kava…

Also, could I make it in advance and then heat it up when someone comes round, or does it have to be drunk fresh? If so then it sounds really laborious to make everytime you want to entertain someone :bummer:

nnabid, I have no idea about Mokhtar tea. The one I got was in a small pack , from a desi cash n carry and it said it was green tea .. basically its dried leaves ..

How does it turn pink afterwards? no idea.. but they do ! and no, Kava is a very different taste to Kashmiri pink tea .. kava means anything that is not very strong ..

I usually make a large pot and reheat it when serving to guests. That works well for me. or after you have made it, you can store it in airtight flasks and you wont even have to reheat it. Pink tea is a laborious process, its better that its done in one go rather then trying to make fresh for every guest ..

i tried making this but failed :(.

i used 1 cup water with 3 tsp Ahmed green tea leaves, boiled for a few min, added baking soda and ice cold water and phaintofied for 5-10 minutes while adding more cold water. i also added a pinch of elaichi dana and a piece of that phool makana stuff. the color did not turn out maroonish. the taste was ok, but not like i wanted with the rich cardomomy sweetness.

any pointers? the only thing i did different is i didnt let the tea leaves boil for 15 minutes. is that the key?

help please! i’m craving pink tea!

CB can I use this Google Image Result for http://img.21food.com/20110609/product/1305521520656.jpg

I tried it last weekend with Lipton Green teabags. Though the tea bags I got were from Dubai and I just cut them and brought the tea leaves out. Followed the exact recipe and it turned out 95% perfect. i think I just added more milk otherwise it would have been perfect. :slight_smile:

Thank you CB! :slight_smile: