Pictures of neighbooring India

friend of mine recently returned from India a few weeks ago after attending a regional medical conference there for SAARC countries. When I asked him how developed and/or modern it was, he gave me a weird look and said that you should be thankful for how lucky you have it. I inquired some more to what he meant. He went on to say how he had never seen such poverty, degradation and despair anywhere before as he had seen in India (this is coming from a guy who has travelled to more than 20 countries including Somalia, Ethiopia, Vietnam, Sri Lanka etc..) He told me that people literally live and die on the streets with their families, rampant AIDS crisis(has the highest AIDS population in the world) and on one occasion after finishing his food at a street restaurant, some of the left over food was thrown on the street outside by the waiter and instantly 7-12 people ran and started eating it off the ground and fighting over it(one person got stabbed in the stomach!) He said that though there are select areas of development it is not as widespread with poverty and overpopulation being the norm, In the big cities,the shanty towns surrounding them are even bigger and class& social discrimination where rampant. He even told me a story, how when a Italian doctor was travelling with him through the Capital Delhi, people were literally throwing themselves on his feet, bcuz they had never seen a white man before. I was so surprised to hear this recollection so I decided to check out the scene for myself and came up with this collection of photos:

Re: Pictures of neighbooring India

Yaar we all know about poverty in South Asia but there are definitely some better things we can focus on :(
This problems also exsists in Pakistan so there is no point posting pictures from India.

dude, this is about poverty in india.. so keep to the topic. no need to get all flustered and deviate... stick to the topic

thats pretty bad. Feel soo sad. My uncle was in India last year and he told me the same thing too.
theres poverty all throughout Asia, but in India it is way tooo much. It is an abnormal and very saad type of poverty.
I think people in Pakistan should be thankful that our country isnt that bad, we have poverty too, so we should fix it now, so it cant ever get to that extent

some poor getting food thru many of the tens of thousands of aid agencies/NGO

whats the point of this thread? its same in any south asian country

Fine!! Let's see how your thread will help these poor people.

Innn gareebioon ka mazak uranay say acha hai ALLAH ka shukar ada kar bachay warna tera bhi kahen asia he haall na ho jayah. Inn ko dekh kar eeibrat hasil karoo :clown:

some super power, looks worse than ethiopia.
really, these people should focus on their poor people rather than bragging about this & that, subjugating Kashmiris and war mongering with Pakistan. Its actually quite sad that their priorities are all screwed up. some of the afghan refugees dont even look that bad! Makes u appreciate how lucky we have it in Pakistan.

^^ Yaar they are doing pretty well, their economy is one of the best in the world , they need some policies for poor people otherwise they are doing extremely well economically.

thats the flip side of the coin

its the same story in all the third world - specially south east asia
Try getting a few snaps from Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka etc. , from the areas away from the 4 or 5 city centers, and you will see similar images.

Thats no cirteria to judge a nation or its strengths or weaknesses

Wow, very sad. I feel soo sorry for them
pakistan is also a poor too, so we should remember that but to be honest have never seen this level of poverty. Mostly profesional or 'Adit' type that i've seen here.

I think countries of south asia should focus on poverty and not stupid war, specially country like india with so much poverty.

I dont see whats the point of showing this. We all know it exists. Even though Pakistan may have a lesser poverty plague yet some places in Pakistan are on par with those with ethiopia and india, for example balochistan and northern Pakistan. So we should first look at our selves rather than pointing fingers at other nations.

Edit: tsk tsk ... talk talk and talk ... washed away into the guter ...

^ mind your language!

i think i've seen some of those pictures on a different website under the title "Pictures of Karachi"

nice try buddy... these are very much pictures from India. I got them from an Indian site.

I think the truth hurts, funny how these indians are so dillusional about their country(anupsharma,nikhil) i mean, poor people are everywhere, but its a fact that its on an extreme level in india.

Hey Anupsharma. go back to ur own countries site! u dont deserve to be in a Pakistani site!

get lost u pig.. anupsharma..
all these indians can do is bark their nonsense by coming to our Pakistani forums!
moderator.. pllleeasee remove these indians(anupsharma etc..) with all their hatred and racism not to mention inferior complex towards pakistan............

I did google search to see if u were telling the truth and surprisingly u are! (poverty index india etc...)

there some other more gruesome pictures too that were veeeryy sad yaar! glad u didnt post those! dont they have social welfare(zakat type of system) over there?