Physical Disability impacts on Rishtas and Potential Marriage Prospects

When you open Pandora’s Box, you just don’t know what to expect. I feel like that’s what I’m about to do here…

So this summer when I was in Pakistan, I met a second uncle…aka the son of one of my grandfather’s brothers. For the sake of anonymity, I will call this uncle: Junaid.

He suffers from Polio.

When I use to be younger, Uncle Junaid, would have some sort of brace and use “arm walkers” for mobility. At that time, as a young child, mostly naive and ignorant of these sorts of things, I would stare in bewilderment. You know, you just don’t see, these kinds of things, especially at that young age; my exposure to polio or disability was non-existent to limited.

Well this Summer was the first time I met Uncle Junaid after maybe more than 16 years. I don’t know if his polio worsened, but he was no longer using any arm walkers or braces. A servant would carry him like a baby, from point A to B. If I had to speculate his age, he is easily in his mid to late 30’s.

I walk into the dining room, and I see Uncle Junaid to my left sitting down on the sofa. Across from him, is this servant playing with this small 2 year old baby. Pretty cute baby if you ask me… so a dull thought runs through my head, “even without use of this lower body, still conceived a kid – that’s pretty impressive.”

I take a second look at the servant, she’s not a terribly bad looking nanny, but let’s be real, she looks — like a nanny. I greet Uncle Junaid and sit to the left of him. I put my iphone in my lap, and his kids walking about. Another thought crosses my mind, “So maybe the dude can’t walk, but on a genetic level, he’s achieved mobility through his offspring, that’s a miracle of its own.” We talk a little bit, catch up. After a few minutes I dismiss myself and go upstairs to shower, get ready. As I stand up, plop goes my iphone on the marble tile….just great.

Upstairs, my other cousin is preoccupied watching a movie. I tell him, I met Uncle Junaid. “He’s downstairs in the dining room, with his nookrani and son”.

“Abey! Voh uski nookrani nahi hai! That’s his wife!” my cousin exclaims. To my faint disbelief, my jaw drops slightly. My cousin then tells me the Saga of Uncle Junaid.

As legend goes, one day, Uncle Junaid was caught in “the act” with a servant. Somehow, he got caught or exposed. The facts are a bit blurry, we don’t know if the servant disclosed the details to someone; or word got out (servants are extremely nosey/observant), or he actually was caught being served. Point is, the elders had their pow wow. They got together and decided it was time to find a wife for uncle Junaid.

His first wife ran away. She could not quite cope with his polio and physical limitations. So they got him another. Lucky guy right?

His second wife, came from a moderately poor family. They didn’t have much, and they happily obliged to the arrangement. I do not known if money was exchanged, but the girl was very young, quite possibly 16 years of age. She seems illiterate and uneducated, even lacking trivial etiquette and manner. It’s like she doesn’t know how to carry herself like a proper wife (educated & mannered) would.

My first reaction and response to the tale was a bit silly…

“So, like… uhhh how did Juniad, actually seduce a servant? Like I mean… you know? How did it happen?”

“Yaaaar! does it look like I was there? Stop being bevakoof” my cousin scolded.

Don’t get me wrong, I am happy for my Uncle Junaid, but at the same time, a little saddened that it seems like he got slim pickings. He had to settle for less, because people of the same social/economic class, would not approve marrying their daughter to a person with a physical disability. Heck, it could be a collective decision, in which all parties involved on the brides side (including her) would not consent.

And I understand also why – because in a physical impairment situation – such as polio that has rendered the functionality of the lower extremities completely…it almost requires the spouse to carry the male’s burden. She has to literally “take care” of her husband. Yet, this is Pakistan, there are ample servants…none the less, it is what it is.

So here’s the situation: I have a close Pakistani friend that I grew up with in our “local community” – He happens to be physically disabled. To what degree you might ask? Well, he happens to be a tri amputee (missing three limbs) – but is completely able bodied, meaning he can do everything that a “normal” person could (drive, sports, etc)… but lets be real - He stands out. You can’t really hide an arm you don’t have. Nor can you hide fake legs when you wear shorts.

The point is, with my current “cousin facade” situation that transpired this summer, him and I have been talking about possibilities. I mean he has no problem dating women in the states, but I’ve actually seen my Uncle Junaid’s fate (which I’ve told him about)….and we’ve been talking about options for him.

Is he in a privileged position, in which he will be able to pursue rishtas (seeing how his circumstances differ)? If he does go the arranged marriage route in Pakistan, will he be treading down the same path as my Uncle Junaid (having to downgrade social/economic class)?

That being said, what is the mentality of Pakistani families, concerning the prospect of a spouse with a physical impairment? I mean marriage is for life (until death do us part or divorce of course).

It is common sense to assume, that obviously a significant number of prospects can deny him based of physicality alone, but people frequently get denied on looks, yet alone physicality.

Also, another important tidbit, I’ve told him, is that rishtas, are a family decision. Meaning, one rotten apple, could spoil the whole deal.

He seems like quite the sensible bloke, and has great personality… but this is not really my area of expertise.

Does anyone have any first hand experience or know of a relative/family member with somebody which a physical limitation?

So Ladies besides the obvious “I’d have to get to know him”, what’s your take?

Or would you say, this is more or less – the way it goes.

And so this little sheep walks, into the den of wolves.….

Re: Physical Disability impacts on Rishtas and Potential Marriage Prospects

I think he will have slim pickings anywhere he looks. It really requires a selfless person to look past everything. It also sadly depends on his job. I know a couple where the husband has polio but he's a doctor. If he is able to provide a comfortable life, he may have better prospects. But he may have to look at less well off girls or divorced/widowed women, inshallah he will find someone, but realize that someone will be compromising to be with him, so he may also have to compromise (physical/financial/social/past).

Also, I don;t think a girl would even get a second look if she had polio.

I have an uncle who had polio as a child as well.. He's in his early fifties now and walks with a limp but it's not too bad from what I can see.. I know of other families where the people just married cousins or imported a bride or groom..

My own uncle never got married but he's in a relationship with a white woman.. My dad did say to him once 'why not marry her' but I think in his head he still lacks confidence even tho he's with her..

I think it is defo possible to marry with a physical disability but going down the arranged route those people would really struggle.. If you don't fit the criteria of having a good degree, light-skinned, young etc. even being physically 'normal' people can have a hard time (esp obviously girls).. By letting someone get to know them away from the pressure of tea trolley meetings and the influence of elders it becomes much easier..

Obviously if they're religious they might not want to get to know a person well before marriage but the problem with that is people are going to have to get to know them to see how that disability affects them and see if they can handle it..

Agree with Snazzy about the compromise thing as well..

My dad has a friend whose sister has polio. She unfortunately never married. She is a practicing lawyer in Pakistan. She is pretty and humorous. She can walk with help, but she does require a wheelchair for strenuous walking. All the rishtas that the family could find for her were downright insulting ... guys who were easily more than twice her age, alcoholic or abusive in nature, divorced with kids (and here we are talking about people who actually deserve to be divorced and left alone), those who were married to 2 or 3 wives and wanted one more, or barely educated / good for nothing guys.
Whomever they considered, people acted like they would be doing the family a huge favour and expected in turn to be taken care of, since the family was well off. The mother and sisters of the potential guys would make mean comments directly to the girl and basically, the mentality that the wife has to physically take care of the household ... and this girl was limited in her ability to do that so no one wanted her when they could just as easily get so many other perfectly normal girls.
Eventually, she decided life is more than just marriage and told her family to stop entertaining the idea.

A couple of posters have mentioned that a person with disabilities should agree to compromise since the person who marries them will also be "compromising" by marrying them. While I agree with the sentiment that people should set aside unrealistic standards and compromise, I disagree with the statement that marrying a disabled person will always be a compromise. This is not the case with every disabled individual. Whether or not it is a compromise depends on how much their disability affects them, whether they are able bodied and whether they are able to live a relatively "normal" life. I can understand how it would be a compromise if the disabled person in question is not able bodied, requires constant care, and cannot live a normal life (unable to work, drive, live independently etc.) because in that particular situation their spouse would be their default carer, which would require loads of adjustments by the spouse.

However, if the disabled person is relatively unaffected by their disability, is able bodied, doesn't require any sort of care (yes, that's possible), and is able to work and live a normal life, why would it be a compromise? I brought this up because during rotations/training in my field of study, I've come across several patients with amputations (mainly war veterans), and from my understanding and from observing them, they live normal lives and can do most things "normal" people can do (albeit with prosthetics). In such a case, I don't think the spouse would be compromising anything because nothing would really be different (aside from the physical appearance).

I really do think that one who is physically challenged or are with any kind of baggage should marry someone like them too .... why put someone in soo much trouble .... why not do some justice as an individual ...... if someone has a polio then why not marry someone who is deaf, blind etc ..... i mean they can have a family together without putting anyone in a compromising situation...... there are people out there who are physically disabled & are unmarried, why dont they just marry each other .... i mean they can understand each others situation well & can get along well too ......

A little limp is not much of an issue, severe disabilities requiring help in daily activities are.

Compromise maybe on the physical attraction part (I mean in some cases.. obviously this isn't necessarily an issue)

Or if the disability is genetic? For ex someone comes from a family where deafness is in the genes and there's a chance the future children could be affected..

I don't think marrying a disabled person will always be a compromise tho.. There are all sorts of cases and scenarios..