phuppos/khalaa/ mamu/ chachu ruinming weddings

How did any of your relatives try to sabotage your wedding functions? any incidents as such?

Re: phuppos/khalaa/ mamu/ chachu ruinming weddings

I know this family and they created this big scene about their family drama at their brothers wedding. it was horrible, cant ever forget that, lol they probably got it on video too, I should ask

My wedding was ruined by all my khala’s and mamu’s. I am the eldest in family amongst our generation of cousins so I guess it is usually done with eldest kid. Mom was really nervous and disheartened since it was unexpected and she was looking forward to support from others instead of dramay-baazi.

My sister was married 2 months after mine and my mom told her MIL that hamari family may sub tamashay walay rishtaydaar hain. Dont mind if I dont invite them at the wedding..and then she announced to trouble makers that I have told the susral about all of you and we dont care if you dont attend the wedding :smiley: aik dafa tamasha laga diya,dekh liya, kaafi hai. We aint got time for bakwaas. And sub chup kar kay shadi may aaye without complaints.

Now, we sit back with popcorns and see all the drama by the karma that happens in other cousins’ weddings every year :hehe:

It is all about attention seekers and party poopers. The more you pay attention, the more they dance on your nerves.

This is a must in desi weddings. Where do you think the entertainment comes from? lol. But in all seriousness i couldn’t ever imagine going and creating such a mess on someones wedding but I’ve seen people do it and it leaves everyone flabbergasted. My phuppo created a scene at my cousins wedding but all the brothers (phuppo’s brothers, including my dad) quickly handled it. For a second there i thought we would end up with full blown Indian TV serial type drama but they saved the day. :slight_smile:

I feel left out. I’ve never witnessed a family drama at weddings. My family usually marry all the kids together, and then create the drama AFTERWARDS. But then it’s no fun. Just depressing.

^^You have NO idea what a blessing you have missed all your life :hehe:

Sometimes it doesn’t go as far as creating a “tamasha.” It’s bad enough to make condescending/insulting remarks about some aspect of the wedding either on the day of the occasion or soon after its conclusion. As for the dramay-baaz lot…I marvel at how they don’t see their own “baizzati” when they bring others down…that they don’t realize how much of a paindu or a jal-kukkar they appear to others, lol. How bitter do you have to be to deliberately mar what should be looked back on as a fond memory. :confused:

yassssss! My mom and phupo went at it on my baraat day. Oh well.

One simply does not get married without family drama in desi culture!

Given this was a rolla thread, I thought it was made in jest. That there are so many with stories to share on this topic, is pretty sad :hinna:

Mind you, I remember liking this post from a Guppan and quoting it - and trust me, there is soooooooooooo much truth in this:

Yes :bummer:

One close relative complained as soon as we came back from baraat that we didn’t introduce her to the extended family and didn’t give her attention. She had flown in from another country to attend the wedding. Now she was regretting her decision. So from 1am to 3am, everyone was gathered around her trying to make her feel better.

Another relative had misunderstood a simple instruction and taken it in a whole other direction. So they were saying on the morning of valima that they don’t want to attend.

Another was complaining that if all her siblings aren’t invited then she will take it as a sign of disrespect.

Wow. If I’m not mistaken, surely it’s the bride and grooms big day and attention should be showered on them.

How about introducing oneself to others, instead of waiting for others to do it for you.

My family’s passive aggressive as opposed to making a big scene. Not so fun tbh.

Here’s one from me

My khala said while greeting and congratulating me on my brother’s nikah that she once remembers me saying my mom is going to be one “dadi saas”. I plain denied at first because doesn’t sound like me. Then I told her not to say anything of that sort here given that everyone including the girls relatives were there. Also you should keep in mind that this khala forgets where she keeps her stuff but she remembers what I once said.

Then in another close wedding chachu x wanted to sort out his issue with Taya y. So father of bride stepped in and told them to sort it out else where , not on my daters wedding

Yep, my wedding planning has been drama, drama, drama.

First, everyone was upset that I married outside of our zaat (mom accidentally heard my mamu and Nana talking crap about it when they called to congratulate us but forgot to hang up the phone after). Then when my parents went to Pakiistan, no one helped them with anything claiming they were too busy.

My parents printed wedding cards with none of my family’s name (besides siblings) and told them that they’re more than welcome to NOT attend the wedding. My in laws are already aware of a particular khala of mine that has managed to ruin and end 2-3 rishtas that I’ve gotten in the past. To prevent drama, we didn’t invite her or anyone she’s friends with though I’ve been hearing whisperings of them trying to get invites/find out details about the shaadi.

good riddance

My mum’s mami is creating a fuss for the non-invite to my engagement. Dude, we’ve never visited your house and you’ve only visited twice and that too when my grandmother got ill. We aren’t as close as you think we are.

I don’t remember any drama in my wedding. My parents have pretty good radars for that sort of thing so they only invited people who were drama-less. Some of my first degree relatives weren’t invited because my dad was sure of the kind of things that would happen if they were allowed to come.

I don’t believe in elaborate wedding functions myself! I believe I have South Indian pathan roots, and I think too many involvement of mamuns or chachas and tayas in weddings only ruins the milieu! Currently I live in lahore, and at a function I am female, and right now 31 years old! :slight_smile: