Photography - Past and Present

“There is something strikingly different about the quality of photographs of that time. It has nothing to do with age or colour, or the feel of paper. . . . In modern family photographs the camera pretends to circulate like a friend, clicking its shutters at those moments when its subjects have disarranged themselves to present to it those postures which they would like to think of as informal. But in pictures of that time, the camera is still a public and alien eye, faced with which people feel bound either to challenge the intrusion by striking postures of defiant hilarity, or else to compose their faces, and straighten their shoulders, not always formally, but usually with just that hint of stiffness which suggests a public face.”

An extract from ‘The Shadow lines’ by Amitav Gosh.

How do you see this observation? @mahool @hybridkamal @KKF @LP @Kinzz @Laiha @hareem01 @TLK @Southie @the_kaur @queer @Arleitter

Re: Photography - Past and Present

India 1940s

http://www.fas.harvard.edu/~histecon/exel/headers/indian_family-800.gif

India now:

Look at the children in black & white picture and compare it with children in colored picture :rotfl:

Yes. There was charm in that era. As a kid, I was part.of the black and white generation

@muqawwee123 Can you please explain first post in *saadi aur asaan *English

People are a lot more comfortable and casual around the camera now :)

The difference in the pics posted in post#2 is what muqa is talking about.

Candid Photography… :cobra:

The biggest difference of then and now pictures is not how people would look at the camera but how camera would look at the people. The slow shutter speeds of the cameras back then would require people to stay still and often hold their breaths for many if not tens of seconds. The casual. laughing, goggling, looking back at the last moment poses were impossible back then. The stiffness that the author mentioned is because of the movement restrictions, that photographers would impose on the photographees.

Bari achi pics hain sleepy

@muqawwee123

Bro,you reminded me of a book in my collection .`India through the lenses 1840-1911'

So many old photographs are there in that book and you would even wonder old photos of yesteryear are more striking than photos of our times!!!

I would post the picturs of the book once I go back.

There is a striking photo in that book among many photos.That is a photo taken of Madras Railway station in the early 1900's. So panoramic.

Photography was formal affair in past, new everyone is a photographer and people are not afraid of camera.

aap post karen purani pictures.

Now Cameras are afraid of people. :D

Oh acha,pics post karni hain

nahin purani aur nai pictures ka comparison karna hai.