phoonkni, seenkna...

are grand inventions by the grand people of the East. Tatta garma garam seenkna on people who need it the most, better yet phoonkni is better to handle. Eko vaari maro te aglay banday nu lag pata javay.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

If I’m dreaming, never let me wake. If I’m awake, never let me sleep.

LOL

And you know when I first read the subject, it seemed like you were talking about some Phophi Sakeena

DM worry naat, shehri kakay ho, tumhein kiya pata phoonkni aur seenknay ka. Good stuff man, you should try um out.

I love the sound that phoonkni makes when you blow through it. It should be made the official sound of rural punjab.

Duuno seenkna but phunkni has never been good to me. Our Quran teacher back in Pak used to phhonk us nalaiqs with it. I think I only got hit once, waise I was very nalaiq student - all the other girls and boys suffered on a regular basis.

Phoonkni in summer and actually winter too is a pain. Winter meiN raakh uR uR ke aati hai, and in summer, oh well choolha is a mini jahanum and phoonkni black devil.

seenkna is a 2’ iron rod with a 6" ring at the end. You use it to saink rotis on fire.

You sure dont know how to use phonkni then! The TV image phoonkni with a woman sitting on besides the stove and indus river flowing from her eyes is very inaccurate. Sahi jaga phook maro to na raakh urti and aur na dhounwan, and the fire lights up in less them 5 second. Oh and as for summer…well did you know that once the fire gets going..you have to stop phonk maring?

i think i know now what u r talkin bout

i wish i could experience life in a village sometimes…never got the opp…would definitly avail it if i do later on

If I’m dreaming, never let me wake. If I’m awake, never let me sleep.

DM: Man, let me know when is the next time you are going to Pakistan and I will treet you with a free trip my chak choranway! :) Promise!

??

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad.gif

Toteee **Pahalwan ... my apologies ... DM yar, its **OUR chak choranaway

Sabah ji jhapphie Though kabhi lagi to nahi, but i was aimed at many times, but missed it every time. Waisay aapki story se yaad aaya, ke meri dadi jaan used to go to the molviaani to read the Quran. My dadi's sabaq was to recite/ratta laga hil jul ke 'Wata bara qasmuka'. Dadi must have been paying attention like you and said 'watta(small rock) maar khasmanu kha' :-O Molviaani ne bhi lagai ek takka ke, aur saath chand ek gaaliyoN se bhi nawaza.

ahmadjee & totee pehalwan, tussi baaz aajao nai te taanu vi ek ek seenkna laggay ga.

Actually my Dadi Amma (we call her B-G) teaches Quran to quiet a few mohalay-dar kids. Every morning after Fajar its like a school at our house. Wish I could somehow find all those pictures! sighz

Hmmm..DM, Sehar and AJ, I might be able to get a hold of some pics of genuine pind life from my neck of the woods. keep your eyes peeled.

khasmaN nu kha

Sehar, you might have roots in a Sindhi village but that's pretty hardcore punjabi - what gives?

Mr Xtreme

Hard-core punjabis settled in Sindh, thats about all. Looking forward to the pictures...

i would definately love to see an image of phookni and seenkna..i didn't knew that people used them other than the use from kitchen..

can you folks (sehar, ahmadjee, who--me) talk about phookni and seenkna more.. as i don't know much about them..phunkni i do remember very vaguely from childhood..its used with matti ka cholha.

lol Qrius :)

I was just joking yaar. Phoonkni and seenkna are primarily used in the kitchen, but we cannot rule out the fact that they maybe used for thukai purposes, right? You know like bailna, and other kitchen utensils :-P

Phoonkni is basically used just for starting up a fire or keeping it going in those mitti walay chuhlay. Seenkna is basically what who---me described above and is used to saink rotis. Its usually used with a tavi, which is a bigger variation of tava and is curved downwards and about 4/5 rotis can be made simultaneously on a tavi, depending on the size. Tavi speeds up the process of making rotis since in villages, there's usually a joint family system and therefore a lot of family members and hence you have to make a lot of rotis. So getting back to the seenkna, when the roti is ready to be saink-ed, you put it on the ring part of the seenkna and take it inside the tavi over the fire until it puffs up. Then you take it out, flip the roti to the other side and do the same. Then you are ready for the next roti. Putting the roti on the seenkna over the fire is a process in itself that needs a little getting used to. You have to know 'where' on the fire to put the roti, otherwise it comes out all black and bruised. I remember when i first seenkned rotis, a few of them came out all black in the beginning but then you get the hang of it. Hmmm thats about all i could think of, hope it helped. You know our village isn't all that far from Karachi, so maybe Inshallah if we are in Pakistan at the same time, I could take you there :)

I always found that to be funny.

Sehar gave a pretty good description of dinner time. Tavi are usually outside in the open, Cuz the wood stove under them is so big.. and they are usually fixed to the stove. I remember, our veRha had the tavi on right side and we used to line up chapai and tables in front of it. About 20 people used to eat together every night, with rotis being made on the tavi and in a tanoor at the back.

MMmmMm Maybe ill bring some pic when I go home this time.

~Sehar~, thanks for such wonderful old memories!

Sehar and who–me, thanks for the descriptions

i really wanna see how a seenkna and tavi would look like. I am kind of confused after reading about seenkna..is it something that can classified as part of that long seekh thing that is used in tandoors? don’t they use chimta for the saikn-ing of rotis? and i am wondering..don’t those rotis drop from tavi if its curved downward, Sehar? i have seen those huge tavas that are flat but not the curved ones.. I really want to see a village one day insha-Allah.