Phone marriages...

What’s the nitty gritty behind them?

You mean "nikkah on the phone"?

I have attened two as a witness on the groom's side. Its usually pretty straight forward. There need to be witness on both sides to confirm the identity of the people on the phone line. What I have seen is the groom at a foreign location. The nikah-khwaan along with rest of bride's family and groom's family was back in Pakistan.

The first variation was that the nikah khwaan first confirmed the identity of the groom from the witnesses formally and then read the nikah over the phone and the groom responded to the various questions.

The other variation is that the groom was in US and his father is in Pakistan along with the family of the bride. The groom formally gave his father the right to act as his attorney. The nikah khwan confirmed this from the groom and the rest of the nikaah was answered by the groom's father while the groom listened over the phone.

At the end, all the people on the phone exchanged congratulations.

Just out of interest what were the reasons for the guys not being able to attend their own nikah?

I just find the whole nikah over the phone thing quite strange, I mean wouldnt you have to (sooner or later) go to pakistan anyway, why not do the nikah then?

One common reason is that the groom is working overseas and has limited vacation time to go back home and get married. So months in advance of the actual shaadi, they they have the nikah on phone. Then the bride (her family) can use the nikahnama to get the new ID card for the bride (with her husband's name) and the new passport, and in some cases even the US visa too. Then the guy goes back home, and they have a proper wedding ceremony (rukhsati) and valima etc, and both the husband and wife can return to US together.

If they don't have nikah in advance, then once the nikah is read with groom back in Pakistan, it will be many weeks before the wife will be able to travel to be with her husband in the US. And many of these girls have never travelled by themselves, let alone to saat samandur paar (i.e. US).

So it makes sense in certain cases. I have not seen a case where the whole thing i.e. nikah, rukhsati etc took place over phone.

But from what I know according to the Immigration rules and regulations the bride and groom must have met within two years of their marriage to file a petition. Am I right? then where does the whole phone marriage thing fit in?

Well, never heard of this rule. In any case, the guy and the girl had "met" in both cases. Larka daikhay baghair larki nahi milti. The guy had gone to check out the girl his mother had selected and came back before the whole thing could be finalized. Baat paki karnay ke baad phone nikkah and then the guy flew back for the actual shaadi. INS khush. Though they never asked for this. They just check wedding pics (sometimes) and nikah naama (urdu wala).

The reason why I asked is because my cousin filed a petition for her Fiance (fiance Visa) and they rejected her case because they two had not met within the last two years.

A fiancee visa is quite different from a wife's visa. A fiancee doesn't have a nikahnaama.

Rukhsati on Phone.. that would be awsome.
people will save lots of money on ticket. :p:

"Just beam her up, Scottie!"

A friend of mine had his Nikkah on the phone (he in Vienna, Austria and she in Karachi) and now wanted to file an application for an Austrian visa for his wife.

What he did not know is: The Austrian Embassy appoints a lawyer in Pakistan, who :alhamd: seems to be honest and is not a rishwatkhoor. That lawyer has to check everything and he ALWAYS checks for wedding pics and other things which confirm that a valid wedding ceremony has taken place.

So my friend will most probably have to go to Pakistan for the actual wedding ceremony and then he can actually get the whole application process started.

^^ I've heard that the US is not allowing Phone marriages anymore either. I think in Canada it is still valid since someone I know, just got her bro, nikah-fied on the phone.

Hmmm phone nikah. What if the dulha party calls and the voicemail answers from the other side saying 'they are not available at the moment'?. Would this be considered as a NO?.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
Hmmm phone nikah. What if the dulha party calls and the voicemail answers from the other side saying 'they are not available at the moment'?. Would this be considered as a NO?.

As per Shariah... Silence from women side is considered YES !!!!
This means that you can hire a maulvi and call the chick that you were chasing yesterday, when she is not at home . You will get voice mail and this means Nikah is done. :p

*Originally posted by funguy: *

lol....this one was really a good one.....

nikah on phone, talaq on sms…kya zamana aa gya hae :mudhosh:

aww — MATRIX :slight_smile:

thats strange, is that nikah valid?
what about the witnesses?

they're valid too.

Sorry…Forgot all about this thread…

:jazak: for the reply and info Faisal…Appreciated…Thanks…