Phoenix Rising - Karachi on the road to recovery

Re: Phoenix Rising - Karachi on the road to recovery

I am delighted at Karachi's success. I love Pak in its entirety. Not just Punjab, but all its provinces.

looking forward to saqib maliks and humayun saeeds films,

dnt know about jami's cause thats just been talk and no action for the last 2 years, and samina peerzada proved to be a diesaster with sharat.

i also dnt like the idea of 2 film citys, every country has 1 and pakistan should also keep it with lahore, its the main entertainment spot, im not just saying this cos im from lahore but its good for the industry and the punjab gov. have been really helpfull whereas sindh gov. are to corrupt and dnt care about the film industry.

Brother I think you dont know much about movies.In a country like USA majority of the movies are made in hollywood but there are production houses and independent movie makers who make movies outside hollywood.woody allen is famous for his movies which are normally based in newyork.

In India they have different centres like bollywood(mumbai) is for hindi movies.In the south tamil ,telegu malayalam movies are made and same goes for other reasons.

Lollywood(lahore)is not making good movies for the past 20 years.If some media personalities are trying to establish film industry in karachi and they feel that karachi will be able to make better movie what is the harm in that????
By the way there were some movies made in karachi in the past.Faisal rehman started his movie career with films that were produced in karachi and these films were the major hits of the 80s

Sindh government is corrupt and Punjab government is helpful wah lahori bhai wah

Capricorn predicted that it could turn out to be a race-bashing thread i think some guys have started with provincial governments

^ The talent market seems to be race-based too :D

Some of the best movies Pakistan Film Industy ever produced were in 70s when Karachi Film Industry was booming. Does anybody know?

Karachi. :k:

Karachi awakens](http://ecommercetimes.com/story/40418.html)

You guys hsould have said MAshallah on all that !...

a bomb struck 2 days back !

Sadly! you are right. We should have said Masha Allah. However the issues of Karachi are beyond Mashas and Tolas (little measures). As long as my Urdu People continue indulging in Islamo-fascistic mumbo jumbo, we will be subjected to these bombs and guns.

It is high time we turn our Port of Karachi areas to a Mullah-free zone. Any Mullah or beardo caught in the protected area will promptly be exported to Punjab and northern areas.

48% of the karachi’s population consists of your “urdu people” rest belong to other ethnicities.what about the 52% of the population and secondly other cities have also had bomb blasts.karachi has its significance thats why it has a bigger impact.
P.S
either you have some problem with the people of karachi or you are ashamed of your background if you are really urdu speaking because your comments certainly reflect that,

China to help develop basic infrastructure in Karachi

BEIJING (May 28 2006): China has agreed to help in development of Karachi’s master plan, its basic infrastructure, road and train network and solid-waste management system. This was stated here on Saturday by Karachi City Nazim Syed Mustafa Kamal at the end of his weeklong visit to China. It was decided that Karachi and Shanghai would strengthen their interaction and co-operative partnership as sister-cities. He termed his meeting with his counterpart in Shanghai Han Zheng as highly productive. Han Zheng assured him that he will send a team of planners to Karachi next month to help in preparing the master plan and promoting other facilities. This will be in line with the strategy they adopted making Shanghai as one of most modern cities in the world. In an interview with APP, Mustafa Kamal said they were agreed to maintain close interaction to help in executing development projects. Pakistan, he said wished to learn from the Chinese experience and expertise for improving the basic civic amenities. Both sides, he said would set up a secretariat of dedicated staff to carry forward their working relationship on regular basis. Mustafa Kamal said, the Karachi’s elected representatives were in process of developing mega projects to improve the living conditions of their people. He hoped that the support from their Chinese friends would help to realise the future target. The Shanghai’s mayor also assured that the city’s major entrepreneurs would be encouraged to participate in the Karachi’s development projects. The two port cities have the potential to undertake joint ventures for socio-economic uplift, he added. Mustafa Kamal said mayor of Shanghai accepted his invitation to visit Karachi soon.The meeting was also attended by the deputy mayor of Shanghai Tang Deng Jie and Pakistan’s Consul General in Shanghai Zafaruddin Mahmood.

http://www.brecorder.com/index.php?id=431130&currPageNo=1&query=&search=&term=&supDate=

Guess where prominent Al Qaeda operatives were arrested from? Jamaat Islami worker houses. JI has the honours of introducing terrorism in Pak college and universities, latest Punjab University saga is a classic example where JI hoodlums are not only beating up students they are harrassing and assaulting teachers.

Erstwhile Qazi Hussein, Hafiz salman buttand liaqat baloch are prisitine examples of university thugs. Ask any Punjabi student and he/she will narrate stories of Butt and Liaqat Baloch of how these hoodlums got away with murdering ordinary students.

It was the same JI who partnered Yahya Khan in their dispicable operation back in 1971 against the awami league, attacking murdering innocent bengali students and teachers. Then, in the time of so-called afghan jihad how these scumbuckets traded in heroin, klanshikoff culture throughout Pakistan.

If there is a terrorist in Pakistan, it is the jaali Mawdudi Jamaat Islami, Mqm thugs are cheap clones of their parent company ie JI.

Karachi is the nerve cell for Pakistan, melting pot of ethnic nationalities, religious diversity, birth place of Jinnah, gateway to Pakistan, thriving financial centre and largest commercial port.

Sadly, Karachi is also busting out of its seams with a huge influx of refugees (Afghanis, Bengalese, Burmese), migrant economic workers from North Pakistan (Frontier, Punjab, Kashmir), lack of resources to support rising populations, illegal settlements, water crises, power breakdowns, dilapidated infrastructure, smog, lack of basic hygiene.

Probably what was most damaging to Karachi was its weaponization during the ISI/JI led arms smuggling during the Afghan Jihad (??). Port of Karachi was used as a conduit to ship and smuggle arms and ammunition to the western borders. I n order to supplement their efforts, ISI created these supply routes which required people who were willing and believing workers. To finance their illegal gun trade, drugs were used. Thus, KK and drugs combined introduced into Karachi a wave of criminality which this peace loving city had never experienced. Patrons in chief of this sad story were ISI/MI/JI and other Jihadi outfits. This network of drug and gun trade which has its tentacles across Pakistan and all the way into central asia has become Musharrafs biggest enemy and the current war is being waged to uproot this evil empire.

I take your point ..butto be fair FG .. jamaatis were not always that bad..it was mostly post 1978 that they turned violent ..under Zia in fact in the 1960's and 1970's the JI was at the vanguard of most pro democracy movements.

On a side note there was a suggestion by one economist that a solution for karachis problems is a temporary ban on interprovincial migration to the city..i for one can't understand why recruitment in karachi is so lopsided..why aren't there more karachi locals, sindhis and baloch people getting employed in karachi why are all the people from upcountry?

Al Badr, Al Shams in East Pakistan were both vigilante associations under the umbrella of JI, bothrecieved official (Yahya) approval and support in form of finances and ammunition. Then, when Awami League elected members were disqualified 100+, JI got 80 of those seats for services rendered. So, Iam not so sure how they can be called pro-democratic.

Some issues become tabboo for one reason or the other , take the Baluch demand they do not want army settlements or immigrants coming into gawadar or Frontier wanting to name itself Pakhtunistan. Similalry, any talk of restricting economic migrants into Karachi is always considered to be taboo as if though it will spell diseaster. I agree with its basic premise.

No doubt about it.

Sadly that is true. However it is true for almost every large city in the developing world. Karachi in fact may be doing better compared to many other. Have you been to Rio?

Not quite that simple. Bushra Zaidi (A Muhajir lady) riots happened back in 1986. When the underclass (read poverty stricken Biharis) of my Urdu People community attacked Pashtuns in Karachi.

Also JI Moolahs used to sweep Karachi elections with no problem. The reason was simple. UP community has gotten infested with underclass but highly religious and volatile people. They bowed in front of JI fascists until a bigger and meaner fascist organization replaced JI.

Here is a reference for you.

http://www.jang.com.pk/thenews/may2006-weekly/citypulse-01-05-2006/index.htm

It was in 1970’s that the gun culture entered educational institution when IJT activists fired at the National Students Federation’s (NSF) rally within the premises of University of Karachi (KU). It was the first time a student group used an AK-47 in an educational institution. In 1984, the ‘City of Light’ took a violent turn and since then life hasn’t been normal for the Karachiites. It was the Bushra Zaidi case, where a bus overran her leading towards the ethnic riots between Mohajir and Pukhtoon as Bushra belonged to a Mohajir family and the city transport at that time was under Pukhtoon companies. The riots was not only restricted to roads but severe clashes emerged in educational institutions as well.

Sadly that is true. However it is true for almost every large city in the developing world. Karachi in fact may be doing better compared to many other. Have you been to Rio?

Unfortunately, no. Heard and read about Rio but never got the chance to see it first hand, maybe u can educate us with your experiences. True, major cities in all developing countries have problems, that doesnt mean we should not talk about it?

Not quite that simple. Bushra Zaidi (A Muhajir lady) riots happened back in 1986. When the underclass (read poverty stricken Biharis) of my Urdu People community attacked Pashtuns in Karachi.

That was a catalyst, problem was simmering for quite sometime especially after the huge influx of afghani migrants who had not only taken over the transport business but had no regards for local cultures of traditions.

Also JI Moolahs used to sweep Karachi elections with no problem. The reason was simple. UP community has gotten infested with underclass but highly religious and volatile people. They bowed in front of JI fascists until a bigger and meaner fascist organization replaced JI.

UP community is not something unique in Pakistans perspective, u will find same kind of URBAN attitudes in Lahore, Pindi, Isloo, Dehli, Mumbai and Rio. Here again, when liberal/leftists elements are hounded by Govt thugs, who do you think will appear to be dominating? JI has always played the double game, it plays on democratic pinciples, yet has no qualms in sabotaging democratic principles and opponents in collusion with govt/army/dictatorships machinary.

Let's not just blame Afghans. Sure their bus drivers were not the best. However UP underclass has issues with locals right from the 50s. One of my acquaintance's great uncles refused to rent his "alloted house" (the one that was originally owned by a Hindu family) to a high ranking Punjabi government officer. He only budged when a Muhajir Navy officer wrote a Sifarshi (reference) note.

Karachi university was only filled with Mohajirs (on the pretext of Karachi domicile "city residency certificate") all the way until 1980s (read Herald magazine of September 1992).

So UP vs. non-UP has been going on from 1950s. And no you don't burn the busses and kill Pushtoons in Karachi just because Afghan driver was bad. That whole deal was a sign of Mohajir Chauvinism.

Actually if i may interject the average Mohajir has a tradition of opposing the establishment the break with the JI was essentially over it's pro government support and the rise of the Lahore based leadership of the party. Yes the urdu speaking elite did believe it had a monopoly over what a pakistani was initially as the elite was displaced and the avenues of power were fast shut..and karachi faced the consequences of the "jihad" the locals got bitter and struck out at whoever they could find..Karachi has suffered a terrible price for it's opposition to dictators like Ayub, Yahya and Bhutto..but it was their reaction to Zias preference for Punjabis and Pashtuns ..as a means of developing a support base that created the MQM..as I've said before it's the inequalities.

Nowadays the Punjabi elite has now taken over that colonial chauvinism from the Mohajir elite. It's very easy to pick that colonial class of people out regardless of ethnicity..(whether Mohajirs and "pathans" in the 50's and 60's) or Punjabis and sindhis in the 70's.. they support a certain kind of oligarchy in Pakistan with the Army preferably ruling..and share a common belief system that India must be countered at every turn; that nuclear weapons have endowed Pakistan with security and status; that the fight for Kashmir is unfinished business from the time of partition; that large-scale social reforms such as land redistribution are unacceptable but opponents of their rule from that background are to accused of as feudals or tribals; that the uneducated and illiterate masses deserve only to be ignored regardless of how they vote; Muslim nationalism is desirable but true Islamism is not; and that working for Washington at the expense of the people is neccessary to maintain power and last but not least a willingness to serve power at any cost (thats what you call "deal" making in Pakistani political terminology).

wah, pretty cool thread. good stuff zakk, anti, and fg!

You contradict your own statements zakk. Average Mohajir is deep down, torn between Urdu Chauvinism and Islamic Chauvinism.

You can take JI out of Karachi, but you can never take Karachi out of JI. Islamic Chauvinism is the hall mark of Urdu People and it will continue to show strongly even in the form of Brailvis, deobandis, and Shias.

At some stage obviously Islamic fascism fails to save Mohajirs, so they run to ethnic chauvinism saying "Hum hain to Mohajir" (After all said done, we are Mohajirs).

Ultimately this very attitude of "Karachi Hamara hai" has destroyed Karachi where MQM is the biggest Bhatta Khor (illegal tax authority) on Karachi Businesses.

Karachiites worked nicely with Ayub and Yahya. They fell out of favor of Sindhi Bhutto, and Bhutto's enforcement of quota system, big purges in state institutions further highlighted UP verses non-UP conflict.

As I said, UP vs. non-UP conflict dates back to initial years of Pakistan. So blaming one leader of the other is not going to cut it.

Punjabi chauvinism is there for sure. However I'll believe in its effectiveness the day Punjabis will start shoving Punjabi language down other people's throat the way Mohajirs have done so far.

I'll believe Punjabi chauvinism the day they force out non-Punjabis out of Lahore and Islamabad.

Punjabi chauvinism was more pronounced back in the 40's and 50's that culminated with the cold blooded murder of Liaqat Ali Khan. These days, Punjabis do have dominant role in establishing whatever the vision for Pakistan is. Still it is limited to military elite and much more from nationalistic point of view (read Pakistan first view). Unfortunately military elite are handicapped by the lack of support from Punjabi academics and Punjabi journalists. So the nation is going from one crisis to the next.

Muslim nationalism was needed to defeat Commies. It was a tool, a means to the end, and not an end in itself. People who are still dreaming about Islamism in Pakistan mostly belong to the terrorists of Khilafat movement.

Serving Washington is not limited to Pakistan. Every Al-Arab, every Rama-swami, every Ming-lin, every Dietrick, and even Chatteu owner are serving Washington. Heck even the ex-Commie, neo-Ruskies are proud to be the sole suppliers of Gas and oil to Washington.

Still we have little Kabuli Kommies and Islamo fascists who are hell bent on Arabizing, Iranianizing (read Moolah-ising b@$tardizing) Pakistan.