This drama was good. I liked but I did not like nadia hussain's acting and she didn't even suit the role or the other actor ( forgot his name) she was in love with.
I've heard lots of good things about Do raha as well, I shall watch it when I get the time!
^^^ i think its just the presentation which needs to be jaddid..... like doraha was collectivly all the above... and the manner they presenteed it... just won hearts........
these are the problems of our society..... and they are causing all the problems even more then before......
jiddaid topics kya hongaye? gang rapes? sex before marriage? or if in swat area.... how to live a nomal life..... family of a person who dead in sucide bombing. sumglurs keh bachye.... or the new one which i saw in so many short dramas.... old man getting attracted to younger girls....
all this is happening in Modern Pakistani family!
if these are the topics our dramas are going to show... then i would rather stick to ghissi pitti stories.
^ very true. when networks like hum tv do show the other side of the coin with their new but controversial topics ppl hate that too, you really cannot please everyone.
theres a lot out there to choose from and now n then you do get to see a good play which might revolve around cliques but its put fwd to keep the audience of today in mind, who have remotes in their hands and would not tolerate looooong scenes, no matter how witty or brilliant the dialogues (the key to 80s and 90s dramas) attention span is just not there.
i think thats one of the main reasons a drama like 'Doraha' was a hit despite being an ordinary story because it was catered to fit the audience of today. keep it simple and to the point, times have changed and to accommodate that, art of drama making is changing and ppl seem to like it.
^ uncle app bhi is forum ka issa hain. dont consider us any less or more than you.
[note]guys, its pointless to drag the matter and compare PYLH with doraha. otherwise one can also question why Rotay-dhotay dramas are created in the name of Reality? dont we face enough reality in our day to day life ツ[/note]
No, subbo I'm sure people wud like to see drama's that carry social msg's.. why go so extreme? From family weddings to gang rapes? There's a line inbetween as well.. there can be such great drama's made on Karo kari, acid burn victims, and so forth..
These days u can tell one director from another.. cuz the stories and direction/dialogues are pretty much the same. Seema Ghazal, Fahim Burney, Humayun Saeed, Mehreen Jabbar...
NO doubt Pakistani drama's are really good! These days i'm just having a hard time liking the way drama's end.. they either end abruptly (like madham madham) or it's left hanging..
^^^ i think its just the presentation which needs to be jaddid..... like doraha was collectivly all the above... and the manner they presenteed it... just won hearts........
these are the problems of our society..... and they are causing all the problems even more then before......
jiddaid topics kya hongaye? gang rapes? sex before marriage? or if in swat area.... how to live a nomal life..... family of a person who dead in sucide bombing. sumglurs keh bachye.... or the new one which i saw in so many short dramas.... old man getting attracted to younger girls....
all this is happening in Modern Pakistani family!
if these are the topics our dramas are going to show... then i would rather stick to ghissi pitti stories.
There are lots of positive things happening in our society. our media should try and show that for a change. I don't agree with 'this is happening in modern pakistani familes'...that's a pessimistic one-sided view.
When I say 'jiddat' I'm talking about the jiddat in the way stories are written and presented. Instead of using indian soaps or some past successful plays as blueprints, try and come up with your own ideas. stay honest with the story you're telling and don't compromise on quality for commercial reasons. unfortunately, that's not what we 're doing.
NO doubt Pakistani drama's are really good! These days i'm just having a hard time liking the way drama's end.. they either end abruptly (like madham madham) or it's left hanging..
i agree with you here .the drama is perfectly going well and in the end they simply ruin it.
I have no idea how closely you are involved with showbiz-Pakistan...but the fact of the matter is that HUGE changes have taken place in casting, scripting, locations, directions and general ambiance of TV serials since PYLH days...in fact the changes continue by months now!
I know ke iss forum pe generally ye dekha gaya hai ke agarr koi point koi bhi raise karde...aur uss pe constructive discussion ho...tou discussion tou chalta rahay ga...magarr jiss ne koi point raise kiya hai woh uss se tuss aur muss nahin hoga....chahay kitna irrelevant point ho.
On the subject..I conceded fairly as I agreed to some points...but this is not understandble that PYLH is being compared to DO RAHA ! both poles apart from the technique, scripting, locales, artiste etc...and even if ADNAN SIDDIQUI was there in PYLH...and is there in DO RAHA...there is a wild difference in his acting then and now..which is something obvious!
Peace..( though I do expect more...here that I have already stated on points:))
If you read my post correctly, I was speaking about the story line, not the technical aspect of dramas. And for that, I do not need to be related to showbiz. Heck, even worse dramas with ghissi pitti stories are made now, I don't see anything 'superior' changing over the years, infact, the quality has dropped significantly. That's quite a shame because ultimately a viewer wants a good story and screenplay to watch. While watching a drama, people don't think about konsa camera use hua or whatever technology you're speaking of.
Dramas like Tanhaiyan, dhoop kinaray, etc etc didn't have the best cameras or modern tech but they are still watched because of the strong story, great direction and awesome acting. Not to mention, there were no 'foreign' locations in these dramas either. What you said is exactly the problem and the mentality of drama makers. They are too focused on being modern, getting the best equipment, designer costumes, posh locations and don't give the same priority to drama's story or acting itself anymore which is quite obvious on TV now. As long as the hero or the heroine look pretty and the background of Malaysia/Dubai/wherever looks beautiful along with the cheesy song playing in the background, they think their drama is going to be a hit. Ultimately, good story and acting make a drama, not some fancy imported equipment or location.
Pakistani family's aren't all about alcohol and ciggy's, these days they openly show alcohol and drug abuse as well.. Doraha was a drama close to reality..things like these do happen in our society. The theme/backround/costumes were realistic!
Take a Fahim Burney drama for instance, no matter how poor the family they wear the latest trends in clothes and makeup! The characters don't resemble any real life people, if it's an Arab they find a person that looks the LEAST bit Arab!
Yep there are a couple that are scary! I wasn't impressed with Sarkar Sahab either.. Humayun and Seema claimed to have done extensive research but it was poorly made! The shots in Dubai..characters.. and the acting!