Hey all, I was just wondering if there are any guppies from Philli?
What are some nice places to see? How can one spend a week there. I am planning to visit for a conference and will have evenings open.
Is it safe for a lady to travel around there alone? Any particularly safe neighborhoods where I could stay?
This is not from work so I have to make all the arrangements myself. The conference will be downtown, but I don’t want to stay there. I will have transportation so I can drive around freely.
There are the rocky steps if your into that. Can't really say I know much more than that lol. Only been here a few months. Everything closes around 9 :(.
Wallnut Street stretch and the park there is nice.
the down town Phili is cool just like anywhere, it will be wise to be careful around new neighborhoods.
Skukul river area park is good to explore on a good day.
plenty of shops in downtown Temple and Drexel university areas.
i think if u're a woman + new to a city and doesn't know anyone over there than better search for a mosque or muslim community centre over there .............(for instance the city where i live , here the community centre offer a lot of services + they've online website where in a classified section u could easily find postings for a room or apartment for rental ), this way u can even contact it's certified officials/ members and ask them for any kind of help or guidance u need .
or u can search for islamic school in that particular area , and look for some place to stay which is close by, usually families with kids prefer to live in neighbourhoods which r closer to schools ,just another suggestion, hope it helps…
niksik, philly is a fantastic place to visit
independence hall, liberty bell etc are part of the historical stuff u can see. slate roof house site, 1st bank of USA, betsy ross house, elfreths alley, carpenters hall ;), chris church that is the burial site of several declarationof independence signers including bejamin franklin, edgar allen poe historic site, franklin court,
walk around in society hill
south street and manayunk are happening places you can go for an evening out
south philly is a must visit to have the best dang cheese steaks in the world, u will have to decide between genos and pats.
schuykill river boathouse row in a nice sight as well as the massive park that is fun, historical and beautiful right there.
rittenhouse square area is a nice place for some nice shopping, R&R.
penn's landing by the delaware river has events going on and is just a nice poace to stroll, and its so close to liberty bell that you can just walk.
oh yeah and across the city hall which btw is a histroical bulding in itself is the miost beautiful masonic lodge in north america, only one that even comes close to rival it is the virginia one possibly. its the grabnd lodge of pennsylvania and the interior is something to see.
offcourse run teh steps of teh art museum although rocky statue was moved from there.
I'm totally forgetting the name of the street/area but if you go to market street all the way till you reach water, there are some nice restaurants there + walk around the water spots. there was this restaurant I used to frequent that I can't remember the name of but it had kick-ass bread + some oriental dishes but it was like multicultral sort of place so you'd get pasta as well as some veitnamese dishes.
huh, i've been here almost an year and yet dunno anygood places arnd that i cud recommend. actually universities are pretty cool but u dunt seem intrested in that.
bhai shab u did not find any good places in philly, yaar its like usually in the top 20 tourist destinations in US. Seems like more ppl find something worthwhile than not :halo:
X2, I've been to Philli a few times but stayed downtown with family. It was so much fun I tell ya. So much night life, great places to eat. But I've just been downtown.
I will definitely keep all the suggestions in mind. Thanks.
I dj'ed during undergrad and grad, many uni parties, fraternity events, and a few club events mostly elecronica, industrial and techno. pics from those days, yeah but hafta scan them.
as far as transit goes, i dunno now, it is in a safe area dn is usually safe, the cool thing is the downstairs bar which is in a vault..the bldg used to be a bank.
XO is a place u hafta be a litle careful, if it is still the way it was when i was there, if u go alone other ladies may start hitting on you.
i know centre city cud be fun, only if u enjoy night life,.. i dunt drink and i dunt see a point going for clubin and so on if i am not goin to drink... anyway i have been there for sheesha couple of times which was fun.
anyway i think if i was you (niksik) i wud go to edison nj which isnt too far, however i never had to travel alone Mashallah lol... so i dunno how can u have fun goin anywhere by urself ?