Phatima1 makes Chicken Balti

My first time all by myself (without any help from Ammi). I think I did a pretty good job. =) It tasted okay…not as good as my mom’s though. :bummer:

First you fry the onions and tomatoes…

smiley faceeee!! =)

Then you put in the cayenne peppers, salt, garam masaala, garlic, ginger, cumin seeds, cardamom pods, cinnimon, vagheyra vagehyra…

Garam Masaala: The ultimate desi secret weapon

Then you wash the chicken and drop it into the pot. (I always hate this part because it’s so gross touching the raw chicken)

Then you stir it around so the masaala is mixed into the chicken…and saara chicken ka paani nikaltaa haiy. :phati:

Then you have to cover it and put it on low heat and wait wait wait (but ya have to check on it once in a while otherwise it will stick). And if it starts to stick too much, then add a little water.

Then you warm up some tandoori naan

yum yum yum. :]

Re: Phatima1 makes Chicken Balti

ur still alive n kicking after eating that? bara hosla hai bhai…maan gaye…:k: :halo: :stuck_out_tongue:

oh shush it was edible. :snooty:

next step -> digestible....if possible...:p

did you ferget to add pink dye in it?

no no i save that for the biryaani kay chaaval. :phati:

look nice, next time try rabbit karahi

it looks quite mild, i take mine hot! yeah! thats right hot and spicy! balle balle! nach kuriyeh nach! chakh deh pateh! hareepa!!!

^ ohooo what happened to your whole “Alhumdulillah” “mashaAllah” act? :hoonh: abh yeh kya nach kuriye shuriye bol rahay ho? :hoonh: :stuck_out_tongue:

Yea there weren’t enough spices in it so I had to go back and warm it back up, add some more water and some more spices. :smack:

lol :cb:

sometimes the hari mirch are just too much!

but your salan looks nice >>> ‘Alhamdulilah’ <<<

when i cook some i add tomato puree in it

along with spices such as haldi, mirch, salt

pepper etc. and to complete the salan you must

add daniya (corriander leaves)!!! :slight_smile: :blush: :slight_smile:

Yea I knowwwwwwww man we didn’t have any coriander at home that day! :bummer:

you can always grow some in your back garden :slight_smile:

good tip from CrescentWarrior... :)
Mashallah Phati you're a good cooker....

My first time

I don t know wht i was thinking .....But the recipe is looking nice...
I will try tht very soon ..

:smack: i thought you put chicken in a baltii (live chicken) i came to see that.

we have plastic baltis at home so we only cook kaRhaai ghosht. :)

NO OFFENCE!but it looks like the stuff u get from asda's (thts walmart 2 the yanks) theres no dhaniya in there, looks a bit off colour! lol....but all the same if its wat u like then fair enuff! Also wondering...is it regular practice to have a digital camera in one hand whilst trying to do a "tarka" on ur saalan?!

hahaaa

nice:)