Phatima1 becomes an entrepreneur

That’s right, ladies and gentlemen. What IS the world coming to?

No, really. I was talking to my Dad today and decided that I wanted to invest some of my money (that I’ve been saving up for a very long time) and double my dough, you know what I’m saying? :smooth:

First I said I wanted to invest $10, just for practice, but Daddy said, “Beta jee, 10 dollars tay oudi fee hondi ai!”. So, I think I should add another zero to that and thus I’ll be investing $100 (yea I know, I’m a high roller :phati: ).

Basically my Dad said that you just have to know which companies are stable and that if you really think it’s going to come down, then you should sell it rather than lose your money because it shoots down or something. Anyways, I don’t really read anything about economics so I don’t exactly know what stocks to invest in or when. I was hoping some of you investers here might be able to help me out and guide me. (Note: If I lose money, I’m suing.)

Also, I have some questions:
Is the stockmarket worldwide? Or does it vary from country to country?
What percent of your investment does one usually make (on average) from investing in stocks?
About how long should one keep a stock before selling it?

Re: Phatima1 becomes an entrepreneur

ohhhhhhhhh…:eek:…wowwwwwwwwww(wid a paki accent)

Does anyone know of any ETFs of Pakistani companies that I can buy? Someone suggested that buying one of those would be a good idea.

Also, which one of you anonymous thread viewers referenced this link to Queer? :hoonh: And why?!

:clap:…masha’allah…niceeee…:hugz:

I can double your money within a week :p

oh dear. dont play the game withuht understanding it. The pro's loose billions every day, but usually make more than loose. Keep it small, amounts you can afford to loose. Majority of home traders make a net loss, in a bank you get fired after a month but who is gonna fire you?

you would not become a entrepreneur by investing 100 dollars in the stock market.

^ I know that you dumbo. :cb: I said I’m just investing 100 dollars as of right now for experiment. And, if I’m successful, then I’ll invest much more money (that’s been saved for me in the bank).

risc - You’re right. I don’t fully understand economics. However, I have pals that do. :phati: (My sister is a major in finance and international business. And then there’s people like hollowman here who can help me :])

hollowman - Alright then. Let’s hear it. :smiley:

Generally they say invest VIRTUAL money. For example, make a note that you have invested $100 dollars (w/o actually doing it) and keep track of it to see if you make / loose money. Once you see that you know what you are doing and it seems to be working for you - you can actually invest your money.

I HATE ECONOMICS..and entrepreneurcrap was the first thing we learned in eco!

Fattoomi - Let me start by saying that the Greek tycoon Onassis started with $100 too. He went on to become a multi millionaire shipping tycoon. Who knows perhaps you could one day too, & I’ll walk up to your dad for a marriage proposal…:smilestar: ← & get smacked like this…:hehe:

Aur phir ek Bollywood + Lollywood dialogue in Maula Jut style ayega

“Oyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee”…with a reverberating echo

"“Tu apri auqat waikh, tay meri tii naal viya karna waikhhh”

Fattoomi - “Abba aye mere zindagi, tuadi nahin”

Abba - “Oyyyyyyyyyyeeeeeeeee”

“Oye mere $100 dollar aye, jiddhay naal aaj tu crore patni ban gayen hain”

Fattoomi - “Par abba, main taye soot samait waapis kittaye nayn tuano”

Abba - “Oyyyyeeeeeeeeeeee”

Pepsi break

Words of wisdom, invest in property & make sure that they are there for a couple of years before buying them back. I will give you the BEST example from your country - Warren Buffet. Does $60 billion ring a note in your head…?

Right now I can earn min. 20000 US$ from this site every month, that is my promise to you. If you've got any site like this so let me know. I'll tell you how to invest money in Google coz i had Invested my money in Google 2 years back and now my earning is more than 14000 US$ in a month and guess what ??? this is just my side by side business, you really don't need to do hardwork, just skill works... :p

Please ask owner of this site, if he is interested to sell his site to me. I'm willing to play 18000 US$ right on the spot, you get your money 100 $ x 50 from me anytime.

Phatima....if you lived in the UK...then I could give you some tips. Each country has its own stock market.

There are many different investment strategies. You have to find one that suits you. You have to invest for a reasonable period of time and you have to know your companies inside out and have your fingers on the economic pulse. If you are going to invest to need to invest a larger amount as you will pay fees when you buy and when you sell. If the amount invested is small then you may not make any profit after all the expenses.

Prince - Yea my sister had to do that for one of her assignments for college. I lose interest when I’m not actually working with money. It’s not as exciting keeping track of money that doesn’t even exist, yea?

Mal1k - LOL hahahahaha mein anni paindu vi nai haigee aan :phati:. I don’t think I’ll be investing in property or anything. I heard housing is doing a major nose-dive down these days and for years to come…that might have an effect on property as well. =\ I think.

hollowman - Rockistan already asked ehsan uncle to put GupShup on the stockmarket so he could buy some shares and become owner. :rolleyes: It’s not happening.

arshad - This is just round one. I won’t be paying any fees for this first $100 that I’m investing because I’ll be doing it through my Dad’s account and just keeping track of it. After I make some more money off of that, I’ll have to pay more fees and stuff.

Oh hey and I just remembered that Eid is coming up and I’ll be getting lots of Eidi :phati: oh and my birthday is in january…woo hoo I’m gonna be loadeddd :]

Why didn’t you tell me before :smilestar: now who is that Rockistan ??? :smilestar: mujhe gussa aa raha hai :aj: i’ll give you sazzaaa… you’ll have to handover your all Eidizzz to me understood…:smilestar:

Phatima if you only have $100 to invest then I guess you need to go for a high risk strategy:)

:bb:

Interesting thread. I was thinking of opening a similar one. I hope someone can really give suggestions here for us beginners. Currently I am purchasing my company (CapitalOne) stock. I just bought it for the first time on 10-15, so it's sitting in my account and I have no idea what to do with it.

Where you wanna trade? r u looking to buy shares in Pakistani companies on KSE (Karachi Stock exchange)? or companies listed on NASDAQ? or LSE (London Stock Exchange)?