They make those parathy in clay oven . The taste and texture is different than any paratha in any part of Pakistan.
Anybody knows what is the recipe of Peshawari paratha ?
Re: Peshawri Paratha.
wow sounds yummy … i have never had them …lets hope someone on GS knows how they are made ![]()
I blv it's half atta and half flour, an egg and that's kneaded with ghee and milk.
what is the difference between atta and flour. ![]()
Gina , now come out with the REAL recipe
… come on , we are waiting …![]()
I don’t know about the Peshwari Paratha but oh my Peshwari naan is just so yummmm!
(just had to use that CB)
The filling has a marzipan like taste to it! Here’s one recipe:
Ingredients:
250g/8¾oz plain flour, plus extra for dusting
2 tsp sugar
½ tsp salt
½ tsp baking powder
110-130ml/4½fl oz milk
2 tbsp vegetable oil
30g/1oz flaked almonds
1 tbsp butter, melted, for serving
For the filling
70g/2½oz pistachios, shells removed
35g/1¼oz raisins
1½ tsp caster sugar
Method:
-
Sift together the flour, sugar, salt and baking powder in a bowl. Mix the milk and oil together in a separate bowl. Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and pour in the liquid ingredients;
-
Slowly mix together the dough by working from the centre and incorporating the flour from the edges of the well until you have a smooth, soft dough. Knead for 8-10 minutes, adding a little flour if the dough is too sticky;
-
Place in an oiled bowl, cover with a damp tea-towel and leave in a warm place for at least an hour, until the dough has doubled in size. Then knock back and form into five equal-sized balls;
-
For the filling, pulse together the pistachios, raisins and sugar in a food processor until the mixture forms a coarse powder. Divide into five equal portions;
-
Preheat the grill to its highest setting and place a heavy baking sheet on the top shelf to heat;
-
Roll out each of the five portions of dough balls into thick circles. Fill half of each circle with one portion of the filling leaving about a one-inch margin around the edge. Wet the dough around the edges with a little water and fold each circle in half to enclose the filling. Pinch the dough around the edges to close;
-
Gently roll out each naan into a teardrop or oval shape. Sprinkle over the flaked almonds. Place the naan on the hot baking sheet and grill for about 1-2 minutes until there are nice brown spots on the surface. Brush with the melted butter and serve hot.
PS: I haven’t tried the recipe so unfortunately I can’t comment on the measurements !
Lovely , well done for using that smiley successfully
…
erm.. pishawari naan’s have nuts in them?
so they arent really spicy stuff is it? do you just eat it on its own or with some salan or sauce ?
Every body is on the mission to confuse me. If you did not try the recipe then how come you say they are yummy ? ![]()
The Peshwari naan is sweet and yes they do have nuts in them!
Nope, CB it isn't spicy...you can have it on its own but I usually have it with salan :)
Mirch...I don't have to try a particular recipe to know that they are yummy! I've had the peshwari naan at a number of restaurants !
I can't vouch that the naan from the recipe above will taste just as good...! Someone, try it out and let Mirch know how it turns out !
***Parathas actually originated from Peshawar and then spread to the other regions of what was India back then.
Peshawari Paratha is Paratha stuffed with nuts and dried fruit.
Take Equal portions of Maida and Atta e.g 2 handfuls each of atta and maida and add about 4 pinches of salt and enough water to make into a dough. Allow to rest for an hour.
Then take half a handful each of cashews , almonds and pistachios and blend together with dried fruits ( figs , raisans and dates ). Use this as the stuffing.
Divide the dough into balls and flatten out to a disc , place a handful of the mixture and gather the edges together and flatten with your palm and roll into a thick disc.
Then fry on a hot skillet , liberally using butter or ghee.***
yum yum sheynie
… it totally sounds rocking .. I am gonna make it one of these days inshallah …
***CB …it does…i’m gonna have the :“REAL DEAL” soon ![]()
Can’t Wait
Thanks for sharing all the secret ingredients?
How much of these should we add..
Namak?
Salt?
TLK … Gina wont tell the exact recipe … she might tell us how much namak , but will never tell how much salt goes in there ![]()
Ab aa'yee gee Gina kee sandal ghoomti hu'i meri taraf .. aur main CB ke peechay chup jaa'oon gaa
mirch's description sounds more like a kulcha than a paratha..
Flour is refined atta na Mirch bhai! I was going to get the exact recipe.. ![]()
atta and maida are two different things! Khana banana bhi nahin aata hmpff
1 cup atta
1 cup maida
1 egg (beaten)
2 tablespoons ghee
1/2 tsp salt.
^ Knead the above with milk into a soft dough.
Filling:
assorted nuts and poppy seeds.
Roll-out the dough into a paratha, sprinkle the nuts and poppy-seeds fold it and roll-out into a paratha again. Put it on a hot gridle till one side is semi-cooked, flip over and keep adding ghee till it’s cooked.