Personalized Fitness Program

I have joined gym recently and today has gone through the assement test. Not to my surprise, they found me over weight and as usual they offered personalized fitness program. They showed me what are my goals in terms of stamina, cardio, respiratory, general health and weight loss. The program includes a personal trainer, nutrionist and full detailed and monitored plan to change the life style to support excercise and dieting etc.

As you know it is regular stuff, and thats where they make money. The program is $3600 which is quiet expensive from what I was expecting.

So what do you guys say about signing it, or half or quarter of the plan, which gives a very good idea on how to continue the progress, with diet and intense excercises.

Also is there a book or site that you can refer to which guides on diet and excercise plans for this purpose.

Re: Personalized Fitness Program

You dont need a ‘rocket scientist’ to lose weight…just keep a log of what you eat…and if you want to join the gym…do cardio and weights on alternate days..you ll be fine!! :slight_smile: The reason they make a big deal about you losing weight is just so they can make you surrender your money and your will…youve got your will..use it!
…its a psychological game they play…

$3600???

$3600 is ridiculous buddy

I never thought I'd see this day :-D
Two words sarkar...Willpower and Discipline will save you 3600.

Smooth, if money grows on trees for you, please join.

For motivational issues, join a club, like a racket ball club, bicycling club, a volleyball club etc. If you have eating disorder issues, cut down on smoothies and every time you think about eating, pinch yourself.

Thank you all for the kind advice.

I am looking at the website above and other as well.

Does anyone have a tried workout plan as well as diet plan that could help.

For instance, to get rid of 50lb of fat and to gain 5 lb of muscles in 8-12 months, what would be the best routine.

What to eat
What to avoid
What kind of excercise at the begining
How much time should be spent on shoulders, lowerback, Abs, biceps and triceps etc. A little break down.
How to rotate excercises so body won't get used to of them.
Is six meals a day instead of two full meals better?
Protien, salads, veg are essential, any ideas?

Fayz, I know you have been doing it for a long time, may be you can mention excercises and their frequency, intensity etc.

I was really hoping that was a typo and that its really $360 :p

I am going to gym regulary. At least try to do so 3 times a week.
I dont need personal trainer, motivation trainer or whatever that costs huge amount of money, I just need the training equipments and a bottle of water!

Some years ago, I gained 5 kilos and I paniced and joined "figuralla" it a program especially for females, they made u sit in a closed box and gave u oxygen, and then I did some exercise in a heated box! They garantied weight lost. Went there 2 times a week, each time a lady would ask what u eat and what was bad, she would check my weight befor and after training! for 40 units I paid around 3700 Euros!
AFter some I hated it when they asked me what I eat that day and yesterday, it felt like school, i hated their attitude! I broke it off in the middle. NEver the less I made a contract with them and they charge me the whole amount. This was the worst misinvestment I made in myself. Never again.

Now I am paying around 400 Euro annual membership for the gym, I know which exerices are good for me, I know what kind of food is good or bad for me,I dont need these chicky micky centers to motivate me. AndI am not getting ripped off also.

Best thing is to get good runnung shoes and go for jogging, will not cost a single cent.

Best advice would be to get on that threadmill or elliptical and start paddeling. Forget the program for now. You will need to get the feel of the gym, specially cardio machines for few weeks. Then you start asking for help and let them show you how to use specific weight machines and cardio. Personally I would not jump to take the program right now becuz you might loose interest even more.

Thank you both.

I already joined the gym as I mentioned in the first post. I was asking about the personalized program, I think I now know that I won't be signing it.

But what is important for me is a diet plan that can support my workout. I have idea about exercise, as this is not my first time in gym (last one was 5 years ago ofcourse :p). The gym that I joined has many things to do, 60+ tredmills, cardio, cycles and ellipticals. Also a stretch room full of equipments. A yoga and other programs room. 6 huge sections of excerciese machines, classified into shoulder, chest, abs, thighs etc. A pool with ideal water temp (a must excercise for me at the end).

But the best thing is a special room in which they have 25 plus machines all aginst the walls. You can start from left to right, spend 5 minutes on each machine and it gives you a total body workarout. You won't miss a single muscle in body. What one can do, as I think is best to divide them into 2 sets and do one set of machines for a week (min 4 times) spend 10 min on each. Then next week do the other set of machines. This way you are not making your body used to off a certain machine or muscle buildup. So when you do extensive excercise, you burn the fat and calories there. Then leave it for a week (since you are doing others in that week) then do it again for a week and so on.

I am thinking of my own 2 hour program, 4 days a week minimum. I will spend 10 min stretching, 20 min on treadmill with cardio program in it (I sweat like anything with cardio program), 70 min in total body workout, 10 min abs crunches (or hard situps) mix with alternate swiming (twice a week atleast) for 20 min.

To support this with diet, I need to cut down 1000 Calories ( still can have 2200) with high protein contents.

So what to eat and what not to eat?
I can think of following:

Backed/BBQ chicken, mutton.
Orange juice (pure)
Lots of salad
Cucumber
Corn (tortilas)
8-10 glass of water

No soft drinks.
No bread, pita, pasta or buns.
No butter, margarine.
Less salt and sugar.
No Chocolate.
No dessert.

Please add more items as per your experience/knowledge.

Cheegz, yes it is $3600 for a year. $300/mo financing available.

I guess we were typing at the same time. your plan sounds cool. Following is what i was gonna suggest. Which gym did you join smoothy?
What to eat
Follow the food pyramid.

http://bob-world.net/Images/food_pyramid.gif

Start eating brown bread. Cut down on pasta and white bread.If you are eating 3 roties, cut it down to 2 and then 1.

What to avoid
Avoid fats, oils, sweets, icecream etc. Once a week is ok.

What kind of exercise at the beginning
Walking/running on treadmill for 15-30 minutes and light dumbbells to gain strength (not muscle)

How much time should be spent on shoulders, lowerback, Abs, biceps and triceps etc. A little break down.
You can start with two body parts along with the treadmill.
Routine 1:
Back/Biceps/abs
Chest/triceps/abs
Shoulder/Legs/abs

OR
Routine2:
Back/Chest/abs
Legs/Shoulders/abs
Biceps/Triceps/forearms

How to rotate exercises so body won’t get used to of them.
Rotate the two routines after 3-4 months

Is six meals a day instead of two full meals better?
3 meals are good. Munch on fruits and vegetables when you are hungry (carrots, cucumber, watermelon etc)

Protein, salads, veg are essential, any ideas?
Just eat healthy… I could never count the calorie intake..a journal of what you eat does help to balance the diet.
You can start a ‘Dear Diary’ or just tell wifey not to cook delicious meals. I know she is good but hey you gotta compromise somewhere.

Many Many thanks Fayz. I will include the above in my routine.

I joined Premier Fitness at Milcreek/Meadowvale. Its a nice gym and the best deal in town.

Talk about 5/6 rotis janaab. I am the beast who can eat 5 naan with Paye or Nehari. A full serving of Biryani is jut not enough for me, which usually is enough for two people. There are some other terrifying facts about my diet that I just won't unveil because there are peopl with weak heart come on this forum as well.

I am good eating raw vegies and fruits. My better half is behind me in this program and we are trying to find new ways of deiting and sort out things that I can eat on a regular basis so she can come up with new line up of recipes to accomodate it. So far it has been a marathon of irresistable desi/chinese/Italian foods for last two years.

Bhai saab, how to read this pyramid? Servings per day or per week?

So let say every three months I am rotating the two routines you mentioned. So when I am on routine 1, I am doing all of the following in one day or in alternate days? how you paired them in sets?

Back/Biceps/abs
Chest/triceps/abs
Shoulder/Legs/abs

Smooth_guy.. Following a food pyramid is a good idea and in fact new one is better which emphasis on the physical activity as well. This website gives you a very detailed information, that your personal trainer/nutritionist would give you, for free!

http://www.mypyramid.gov/mypyramid/index.aspx

Make sure you click on the “tips” after you have entered your vitals and it has given you a plan for what to eat daily.

Personally, I wouldn't follow the pyramid to the serving level..it just gives you an idea of the big picture & how you should balance your diet. Like if you reverse your fats and grains, it would be a disaster according to the chart above.

In the beginning you should just eat healthy and focus on going to the gym regularly. I wouldn't worry too much about the calories, figures and numbers...just keep a general idea of what you are eating and hit the gym religiously. It will be a gradual lifestyle change and then you can start counting calories.

For the routine above, you should do two body parts per day. 3 sets of each body parts. 8 repetitions in each set. It is equally important to give rest to the muscle for recuperation.

Sir ji, it took you two years to put the weight on..Are you willing to put in two years of discipline? ;-)

Smooth bhai, stop eating chapatian and naans with saalan. I guarantee you will lose weight. Our people can't get rid of such crap from their diet, which is why they start to balloon up in their 30's. Now hand me my 3000 bucks.

i dono about that .. i stopped workin out after high school football and wanted to loose a bit .. so all i ate was HOME FOOD and no Soda and no fried chicken. helped me loose 20 easy pounds i tell you

p/s: oye game pai saab .. aaj kal kya ker rehe hooo ji ;) .. loooong time buddy.

Sheeday bhaijan, I was in Pakistan for around a month and saw a whole lot of murgh musallam with ENORMOUS quantities of cooking oil to boot, hence the advice related to desi food!

lol .. i forgot wher were u from yar but i live in HOUSTON .. so tell me more about that lol .. we got so much desi **** available to us .. it aint even funny nomore.