* Personal Statement * - UK

Firstly I need to know who out of you people are in the teaching business in a school, possibly a primary or in junior school?

If any of you are, then i shall need your help in writing me a personal statement.

I am inshaAllah going to apply for a PGCE age range 3 - 7, and when it comes to the personal statement, it puts me off :smack:

Anyhows, who can help? or if any of you are at Uni in Manchester or B’ham they may help too.

Keeping the Following Pointers in mind;
Your reasons for teaching - Focus on pupils and their perspective, not yours. Avoid clichés like, “I’ve always wanted to be a teacher”.
Choice of programme - Show you have made a well-researched and informed choice. Show your knowledge of Initial Teacher Training providers.
Demonstrate your knowledge and commitment to the age range you are applying for. If you are applying for both primary and secondary places in the same application, you need to make a strong case for your preferred option.
Selectors look for clear-headed, informed enthusiasm. You need to demonstrate you understand the demands of the profession. Why would you be a good teacher?
Recent school experience - Show insight into teaching and learning in your chosen phase. Not just a case of visiting and joining in, but the insights gained.
Secondary applications must show specific subject commitment. Subject tutors read the forms, so it is important to mention this.
Awareness of possible gaps - E.g. if you have a C grade in English and are applying for primary, you need to show that you are willing to polish up.
If applying for primary and secondary, explain why. Be very positive in applying for your first choice.
Mention any geographical restrictions you have, as these may be taken into account.

one thing puts me off is .. they wana know if i got experience in teaching at school, how the hell is that possible when no school would let me in without a qualification, du thas what am applying for ..

oh and All the above has gotta be within 47 lines :crying:

helllllllllllllp !!!

Re: * Personal Statement * - UK

Wow!! Fbi mashallah great news!!! So ur planning to go into teaching?? Mashallah great news!!! I did my PGCE years back:bummer:, but I was secondary.. have a look at a few blogs and websites that are pertinent to you for Primary and inshallah wish you well- teaching is a most rewarding and nurturing profession- may Allah swt guide u in this ameen:k:

Primary PGCE personal statement

PGCE Personal Statement- What to include? - The Student Room

Applying for a PGCE: Completing the form

PGCE-apply 2009 - Ummah.com - Muslim Forum

Good luck ji;)**

Oh JazakAllah thank you berrrry redberry much :D

Yeh After all the Holy Prohet SAW was a Muallim for the whole mankind.

I will look into the above sites you ve gave me. so ur a teacher now? where did you do urz in uk?

The reason am going for primary is that am also going to apply for MA Arabic at Manchester Uni, as a part time course. so if i went for secondry or higher then it would be too much load for me. Plus this way .. if i get the primary PGCE ..later on few years down the line i ll have alot of experience and hopefully apply into PGCE in Religious studies with MA under my belt.

Plans to kuch aisey hein bas Allah karey they work out. Dua karna and Thank you once again :)

Ohhh sweets ur most welcome ji:hugz:…:wink:

**Ji haan hun Im a teacher but Im secondary - trained in History and English and I studied my PGCE at Keele University:k:… it was pretty hard and did all the TP stuff and all my schools were in inner city Stoke on Trent:bummer: as well as leafy suburbs of Leek- taught predominantly in inner city Manchester:champ:.. Alhamdolilah its the only thing I know and its true- some people have a knack to teach!!!.. Mashallah great plan in mind and a very sound one so to speak- MA in Arabic Woop woop mashallah great stuff!!! **
Primary is great but you know as a Primary teacher you would be teaching a multi discplinary approach- u will be expected to teach Eng, Mat and Sci??? Its pretty different at the Secondary level!!..I would suggest that you offer some volunteer “teaching” at your local school - I did this pre PGCE applying and I feel it served me well- but I reallly wouldnt worry about your application- in todays climate teaching is one of the safest professions and UK is in need of “good” teachers- mashallah I really wish you well and I will make dua!!!Anytime sweets :k:..:wink:

^^ wow history . i loved history ..

Hmm yes i ll have to find somewhere local to teach, there is an islamic school which is primary, will have to contact them see what they can do for me.

Maths and science.. hmm well my GSCE grade for maths isnt good..we ll have to think about this one. I only went to school for 4 years in UK so u can imagine, cos i came from Pak and went to year 7 and i missed year 10 too. but overall i still got good results but maths :(

chalo, inshaallah am definatly gona keep in contact with you, hope you dont mind. :) .. i ll keep u updated as to what am doing so u can guide me :@:

ohh sweets no problem ji!!! thank you.. but listen hun .. as long as you have Maths GCSE Grade ‘C’ or above is suffice.. English and Maths are essential in terms of matriculation - i think its excellent if you do embark on some voluntary helping/ teaching in school ji - good. Ohh mashallah i see now:hmmm:…it would be my pleasure to help u sweets :wave:..;)**