Personal Opinions required.

Re: Personal Opinions required.

i actually began wearing hijab in the summer. yes it was a bit annoying and uncomfortable but i stuck to it for a good 3 months before i stopped (for other reasons).

i await the tamatars…

I'll give you my straight answer. It's stupid to make people cover up their entire body. Just plain dumb. Particularly when they don't want to

answer to original question:

i realise she is a muslim n it makes me happy.thats all!!

but i know what do you mean by ppl judging n stereotyping .....i won't say i'm a hijaban or not....if anyone meets me outside my home ....he/she can see my hands n eyes only .....n guess what ...!!!
often i recieve the worst reactions .......i don't know if its racism or anti islamism ...or whatever .....it really hurts when ppl start spitting on the floor upon seeing you .....even before knowing you!!

or when u get to see someone in ur car's backview mirror pulling faces .....

but well, what can i do .....i can't change the way ppl think .....May Allah give Hidaayat to all of us ! amen!

To be honest, I avoid hijabans. I don't know but to me it's like a deterrent. Don't come near me, don't look at me, don't talk to me. And that fact that nearly all the ones I have come across are extremeley self conscious doesn't help. Because at the end of the day, the main purpose behind hijab is to keep away the wandering eyes of men. And knowing that, I personally feel uncomfortable when I have interact with one.

Amongst the Europeans, Germans have always been the ones to most despise people who are not like them. They are the least accepting of other cultural values; they are Europe’s worst racists.

Aww that is just so horrible. Ive never gotten such treatment, but yeah I always get stared at. I mean its as if every single darn person hasnt seen a woman wearing a hijab.

By now I guess Im used to the stares…but sometimes I forget and I wonder what they’re looking at.But Im just a bit tired of the ideas that are so absolutely not true about hijabans. And Im so tired of people thinking that we are all the same. They forget to treat us as individuals first and hijabans second.sigh. But best of luck and you’re always welcome to move over here!

skhan-- I see. So you run away from them? see the one hand we have people who will - as Afia pointed out- mistreat them on the other hand we have folks like you who run away. Why though? I mean I demand respect yes, but I dont wear hijab for just that - part of hijab is yeah you should respect the person , but respecting people should be done regardless of whether they wear a hijab or not right? I mean if a female comes up to you because she needs to speak to you , I think you should treat her as just another person. And there is absolutely no need to look elsewhere when talking to her.

humhaipakistani – A lot of people have not, do not and will not understand what hijab is all about. Frankly it gets very frustrating after a while. People should know that behind that hijab is a woman, an individual. And should be treated thus. Most Hijabans I would hope, wear it because they believe it is a part of their faith.

Atlantis-- Well lets just say this was never about “forcing” anybody to wear a hijab. It was about the ideas people had or have about hijabans and how they might have changed once they got to know the person.

Maybe i am stereotyping here but if i see a hujaban, i tend to be more courteous towards them, then i would if i saw a desi gril (wouldnt know if shes muslim or not). Maybe its the girls around me who cover their head that have a mroe vibrant personality than girls who i know who dont wear a hijab. It's so weird, that hijabans i kno are super cool compared to non hijabans who are a bit mellow. Thats just my obsevation- i did assume out of sheer naivety that since their wearing a hijab, they might be mellow, and everything around them would be from a religious point of view but they turned out to be great girls who know how to have a good time have no pious im judging u vibe to them. (well sum have in the past especially girls i dealt with in MSA - whole other story)

MQ to be honest I haven't met a whole lot. I am just recounting the experiences that I have had. And that's not the only reason why I tend to avoid them, like I said earlier, they usually have ice queen attitude to go with it. I am sure they are different around girls though. You didn't comment on the fact that the hijab is a deterrent. That's the whole Islamic purpose of it. I feel I am merely obliging.

OK lets see if I can help you understand the ice queen part. Since they are observing hijab they are not likely to talk to you in a very free manner. They will talk if need be, work and school - I know I do ,regardless if its a guy or girl. But they might not start joking around etc. I think it is the fact that they wish to be serious with strange guys and not so free.

Deviliciousss---- Yeah a lot of people will think Im going to lecture them about Islam when I meet them. Not that I dont :stuck_out_tongue: , but I have many interests aside from just talking about my religion. And I think the core of the matter is everyone needs a chance and everyone should be considered equally.

Oh yeah a lot of people think I cant be normal and have fun. Their loss. :smiley:

afia,, from your reply, seems like u do niqaab.

I,d like to know what ur reason for wearing that is?? cultural? religious?
cos i always thought it was okay to show ur face as long as ur wearing a hijab and ur hair etc. are not visible and ur wearing a modest dress...

i might get called a kafir here for saying this, but quite interestingly,,, when i see a person in hijab, the general feeling is positive, but when i see a woman in a black niqaab walking, the feeling is negative. I see it as being a bit on the extreme side. cos i dunno, i feel that looking at a niqabi woman,,, someone who doesnt know much about islam or religion would call u a freakshow... and would drive someone half interested, away from islam.. i dunno thats just my personal opinion... if i see a hijabi girl walking in a shopping mall, its kinda pleasant,, (ofcourse depending on how shes carrying herslf) but when i see a girl with her face covered in black cloth in a shopping centre, it just feels weird... whys she overdoing it? why look so ajeeb to others around u? i mean hay i,m a muslim but even i would find it weird approaching n talking to that woman. My personal opinion is,, it gives a negative impression to someone that could potentially be a muslim one day.

same goes with guys who overdo it. i admire guys who hold religion important,, have beards,,, but again,,, depends how u carry it, if ur nicely dressed up with nice trimmed and well maintained beards, u look nice,, but then u see a group of 6 guys , big beards,,, green/black turbans,,, wearing their own shalwar kameezes above their ankles(they are fancying commando jackets these days too),,, they give u a scary picture,, and has something nagative about them... and i feel such people just represent islam a bit negatively to someone who might not have a clue about anything. their neeyat might be perfectly fine , and in their minds, they might think they are doing a great job at being nice n religious,, but to me,,, theres something negative about people who overdo it,, both guys n girls.

you can be religious,,, look normal to the society around u, and have ur beards hijabs, and could perfectly fit in,,, without getting extra attention (negative). islam didnt say go around wearing a green or a black turban, and have ur bread touching ur belly button. and islam didnt tell women to walk around covered from head to toe and maing others around u feeling uncomfortable. (madhanees comments made me laugh! walking tents and post boxes).

I mean i agree it must be an aweful feeling for u, going through all that stuff, people spitting on the ground when they see u, or giving u nasty looks, but u gotta understand,,, ur not helping the situation either. and no,,, i,m not saying be like them and take everything off,,, but u can still perfectly follow islam and look normal to others around u.

My two cents :) and no offence to anyone....

kaka.....
i know no one is going to give a damn about my reasons ...but still may be i can try to explain.....

yes i do wear niqaab .....(actually i cover my face with my scarves , of different colours , not just black:))....n i do it coz in my understanding its what i'm required to do ...being a muslim .....its not forced upon me ....its my personal choice ......just like nobody questions other women wearing their choices ,,i don't like eyebrows being raised on me.....

please don't think i'm trying to sound holier than thou or anything ....i know i have a looooong way to go ....perhaps i'm the most sinful of u all ....but who knows ....
infact i'm merely trying to practice what i understand ....

as for driving someone away from religion .....my brother if it was upto us , today's muslims, to drive someone in or out of religion ....believe me , the number of ppl sharing our faith would be far lesser than it is now .....its just the blessing of Allah which makes them convert .....

don't you think its shallow if people judge us by looks....when a muslim guy can drink openly under the flag of personal choice ....why he can not be questioned how he's representing islam .....when muslims cheat....don't pay taxes ....be dishonest etc. they can get away with this n nobody thinks how they r representing islam ....but if i cover my face ....that suddenly is a big blow for my religion ....n not my personal choice .....hence i deserve the spitting n what not ....!!!(i know u didn't say that)

sorry if its offending to anyone .....but i didn't intend to do that

n sorry MQ for derailing your thread!!

haha... id contribute something interesting but not now... in hurry

bao bihari just b/c a girl is wearing a head covering does NOT mean she is more inclined towards religion. Also, how can you define who is religious and who is not? I think the criteria is TAQWA -- and only Allah knows how much Taqwa anyone has in their hearts. Although these things are momentous in their own right, I don't even think praying five times a day, being a haji or any of these ensure that a person is a MOMIN, though OFCOURSE these are significcant.

in my opinion a hijaban has a 70-30 ratio of more religiously inclined then not----whereas a non hijaban has say 50-50 ratio depending upoun her apperence.....phir as you said the basic thing is only ALLAh knows who is muttaqi or not-----that is not the issue here,, here personal opinion are sought ...main nay apna opinion day diya......jo agree karain un ka bhi bhala aur jo na karain un ka bhi bhala

Afia and kaka not at all.Im enjoying it . I dont mind at all. Btw I salute you for your views Afia. :)

kaka-- lol I think you have it all wrong. When I see a niqab I say "wow" look at that. I actually look up to people who go to such full extents to ensure that they are doing things right. You have no right to say that a niqabi is scary or 6 bearded guys together are scary. I enjoy seeing people together. And it would make me happy to see more people who despite being looked down will wear a turban or cufi or shalvar kameez.

After all not everyone cares to follow the latest trends. Some people do things for themselves and not for others.

This is all where people go wrong. This is where people think wrong.You dont know that dressing in a niqab or shalvar kameez is going to keep people away from Islam.Trust me ,from my expereince these are the things that haev welcomed people to Islam.

Perhaps we need a litte less CNN showing women in niqab who are opressed by men with shalvar kameez and big beards . And more of what Islam actually means!

does it matter what someone else thinks of it?

I said I wanted to know and Im interested. As for does it matter? Im not sure a strangers views matter to me, as for my friends - dont need to state that. I like to know how people think and why they think in a certain way.:)

ok in that case.. lemme see

a hijaban is a person like everyone else.. i dont believe shes anymore religious or faithful than someone whose not wearing a hijab... i know some girls who wear the hijab and they think the sun shines outta their butt... (sorry.. bit peeved) .. ive seen far better muslims than those who are wearing the hijab... but having said that, i do know many hijabans who are just beautiful... but thats not cus they wear the hijab or not... its simply cus they are beautiful... even if they werent wearing a cloth, they'd be exactly the same

to me personally, a girl wearing a hijab doesnt mean much....

I don’t think you need to take it upon yourself to justify/explain/clarify the motives/actions of all hijabuns. You asked for personal opinions and you got them. Far be it for you to actually criticize them and state whose opinion is right and whose is wrong.

The sad truth is, no one’s past experiences are going to change or personal opinion be too impacted by a few posts on a bulletin board. Then again, the hijab is undertaken only for one’s personal beliefs so it really shouldn’t matter what anybody else thinks about it anyway.

well I think both afia and muslim queen have misinterpreted my post... I know its shallow for people to look at what ur wearing and make judgements,, but thats how people are... i didnt say its driving me away from islam... i,m just stating the fact that people in the western society wouldnt get a positive out of it.... its just like 3 semi nude white chicks walking in the streets of my village backhome laughing and giggling,, where all women do niqaab. how would the people there think/feel? (i know men wouldnt complain :D ) ok that was an extreme example but u get the drift... and no, i,m not saying here that ditch ur niqab and go around dancing naked,,, what i,m saying is,, ur making people around u a little uncomfortable... and there are definitely ways u can adopt where ur not compromising on ur religion and not making others feel awkward around u either. but that all comes down to ones own interpretation of the required dress code.

and why would u give an argument like,, why not look at people who cheat/evade taxes, drink and fornicate, and lie while still being muslims... did i ever say its okay to do so???? we are talking about dress here. yes alhamdolilah, its God's mysterious ways that people are still attracted to muslims and islam, but i,m talking about,,,, keeping things in balance.... i dont know, maybe in ur interpretation, its mandatory to cover ur face as well, but mostly, a normal hijab is considered to be fine according to islamic standards... i respect u for what u do to make sure u follow islam properly, , and yes,, no one should point fingers at u for wearing whatver u want, just like goras are the champions of so called freedom of speech, or freedom to wear whatever. I merely stated the fact that to someone who doesnt know anything about islam, one might look like a total psycho... and mind u, when u say its not upto us to drive people close or away from islam, ur wrong. One has to change the stereotypes, one has to be an example for others (no i aint a saint,,, not even close, i,m probably the worst example of muslims going around) but the prophet PBUH also led by example, he impressed people with the way he lead his life abck then, his honestly, humiltity and the way he dealt with people... so it is definitely important that we do our part to whatever extent we can. but 6 guys wearing shalwar kameezes with huge beards, black turbans and commando jackets wouldnt really paint a nice picture (specially to people whov already been brainwashed thinking these people just go around killing white men, women and children), same with women walking around covered from head to toe in black... maybe we do need less CNN, but thats not the way it is,, all they watch is CNN.

my whole point is, u can be nicely dressed up, still be modest, havea nicely trimmed beard, be more social,,, and u can still follow ur islam perfectly fine,, ur not compromising on ur religion by being more presentable to others around u.

and afia, dont get me wrong, i,m not against niqabs if ur reasoning is based on the conclusion that its necessary for u to wear it... if according to ur interpretation, its mandatory for u to wear it, more power to u. If someone asked me my opinion about niqabs, i,d call it cultural, or someone whos overdoing it, its not required by islam. but thats just my interpretation.

hmm personally i do not understand the point of this thread…

MQ u say u wanted to open this to get an understanding… although this topic has been discussed to death, and still not a single guppy has ever changed their opinion or watever..
so why open it? are u really wanting to understand everyone elses point or trying to make urself feel better about what u do?

if u wear the hijab/niqab/chaddar/bhurka.. watever.. then good on you.. why do u want to know what another person thinks? im not going to open a thread about wanting to know what peopel think of me wearing a flurocent pink shirt… cus i couldnt careless..

everyones entitled to their opinion… if afia believes niqab is the right way, or kaka thinks thats kinda full on.. then so be it.. all our opinions should be respected and taken with a grain of salt..

u know what… i’ll just say it

MQ, its great u wear a hijab.. good on u :k: