Perfect reply of Sana Mir to Mahira Khan on her hair removal ad

I look social media and give its due credit to creator of this wonderful network of people… You can shut Anwar Maqsood mouth on crossing line… Actress Mahira Khan in basketball court promoting smooth skin hair removal product. Sana Mir gave reply …

To all young girls out there who aspire to take up sports.

?Make no mistake: you need strong arms, not smooth arms, on a sports field. ?

We ? corporate sponsors and celebrities - always talk about our concern regarding the objectification of women in different professional settings. It infuriates us most of the time.

We see endless posts and statuses on social media expressing our anger. But when it?s time to walk the talk, I have seen very few sponsors or celebrities actually take a stand to support women being comfortable in their own skin.

One of the ad campaigns that has finally pushed me to come forward with my concern is the latest campaign by a company promoting a hair removal cream.

I have come to know that it?s a campaign for both Pakistan and India. It?s magnifying a girl?s concern about how she looks on a basketball court. The worst thing is that instead of sending a message to young girls that the colour or texture of their skin does not matter, we are promoting body shaming and objectification.

Are the talent, passion and skill of a girl not enough for her to play sports?

There are female sports icons around the world who have made their way to the top because of their skill, talent and hard work, not because of the colour or texture of their skin.

Make no mistake: you need strong arms, not smooth arms, on a sports field.

During my 12 years as a sportswoman in Pakistan, I have rejected several offers to endorse beauty products just for this reason: I want young girls with a passion for sports to know that all they need for a practice session are the will to succeed, comfortable shoes and clothes, a water bottle and a cap if it?s hot.

I request all sponsors and celebrities to ensure that when we engage young girls to fulfill their dreams, we show them a path that gives them actual confidence rather than disabling them by making them self-conscious.

Bitch please. No one is going to take a dyke in a beauty ad. If she wanted to be a model she should've acted more fem. Hate these lesbians and their agendas.

aa gaia #sakht-londia

I think its a very good message by Sana Mir. But well its nothing to do with Mahira khan, just the ad itself.

Looks like Mock i more into Mahira ;)

Aisi wahiyaat aur jahilana language kisi mod ko tu zeib nahi deti. Bhiyaa kaheen naey naey chailay tu nahi banay ho?

@SID_NY I am not into Mahira but us beautiful women have to stick together. Plus i am tired of women fluent in Lesbionics hitting on me.

I know some gay people here, amongst both their males and females there are good looking people, when we just judge the exterior. I don't understand where the idea that gay people are not beautiful comes from. Equally confusing is the bias that any person who says it's more than looks that count is either deemed ugly or lesbian or both.

Of course looks are important too, but there is a time and place for everything. We don't put that much focus on how males look every time they do something. Our society is confused anyway. As a female, you must be beautiful and you are only allowed to be deemed beautiful if you have the white skin and you are so thin you wouldn't look out of place in starving nations. At the same time, you have to look like you have the strenght to have children and you are deemed someone deserving to be sexually harassed if you dare to look even a little nice, let alone beautiful.

Add to that the demand that females also have to know how to cook many meals, shut up, clean up home, have many children for the inlaws and husband (in that order), sew clothes and do all kinds of handiwork. Some families want you to do all that and at the same time be a doctor or a lawyer while others demand you have no job at all after marriage and even though you are busy all day every day with taking care of the home and family, they still say you do nothing because you 'sit' at home.

I remember after marriage when I was still trying to finish my education, my mother in law said 'I only want your food and why aren't you pregnant yet?' My husband said 'I won't allow you to have a job anyway, why are you finishing school? You will only stay at home from now on.' Everyone said this is normal marriage life and my complaints were wrong.

Females are still often nothing more in many Pakistani families than a product who will have sons and who are deemed failures if they have a daughter, a product who has to look beautiful but at the same time, when more people notice they are beautiful they are deemed someone deserving of being sexually harassed because being beautiful, no matter how much you cover yourself is also thought of as having no virtue, females are reduced to a product who just there to serve the husband and the inlaws and not allowed to have their own dreams. Don't get me wrong, to some females just taking care of inlaws and husband and having many sons is the only dream they have, that is fine too of course, but it should be their own choice if they want nothing else in life.

That is why the message of people like Sana Mir is important.

By the way, I am saying this as someone who has light skin. Some people even asked me if I was born as a white person, actually my family is from A.K. Most of my life I have been thin, sometimes too thin. I have also been fat after my second child was born and right now I am somewhere between chubby and fat. Which is again slowly changing. I'm no lesbian, but I wouldn't mind being one if Allah made me that way. I also like fashion and care about looks, but I'm not busy with that all day every day. First thing I think when I look at someone is 'I wonder what kind of person you are, what is your character like?' which should be most important, do you think when we are gathered before Allah on Judgement Day, it will be a beauty contest, 'you over there, you are too ugly for heaven and you didn't try to look better, you will go to hell and that one, yes lovely, you go to heaven', really?

Behen aapkay paas kitna farig time hai aisay bekaar essay's likhnay kay liay? Please kindly get a shrink and spare as this protracted gibberish cuz aint nobody got time to read all this.

Firstly, I don't see the need to stereotype Pakistani families as that's another issue altogether and it's not what the thread is about. Secondly, if you don't wanna read someone's essay then just skip it altogether without saying anything at all to them.

I have seen the commercial and and it shows Mahira Khan playing basketball and her smooth, silky arm brushes against another female player. Mahira scores a basket or two and credits her success to always being ready....in other words ...."being silky-smooth ready." I can see things from Sania Mir's perspective and I can understand how a sportswoman would find the commercial annoying. Success in a sport is based upon skill and practice. How smooth your limbs are will have no bearing on whether or not you score that basket or that goal or that home run. And I'm sure that there are players on her team that shave their arms and don't treat personal grooming as a pre-requisite to playing cricket. However, when someone is passionate about something...whether it's a sport or an artistic talent....it's not surprising for that person to feel irritated if the talent is dismissed or downplayed for something more....superficial.

Sania Mirza is a sportswoman as well. I don't think she looks delicate or naazuq looking. But outside of her sports attire, she does manage to dress up and look more feminine. She ended up getting married and is now expecting her first child. There's Serena Williams who is a big, broad woman. She's also married and has a child. So, you can't lump all female sportswomen in the dyke and lesbian category. The latter, especially, is a huge accusation and should not be taken lightly. It is Ramzan, after all.

Nobody is forcing you to read anything, poor you. I’ve read longer replies here from many of you. In the society we live in nowadays, perhaps we all need a shrink. Certainly people who claim that any person who says people who think there is more in life than only looks, would automatically have to be a lesbian.

What I am talking about, what many Pakstani families are like, this is what I have lived through and grown up with. This is what most Pakistani families are like in the Netherlands and this is what most of my Pakistani family members living in the U.K. and France are like as well. When I visited Pakistan, this is also how most of my family members lived in A.K.

Yes, there are exceptions. I’ve met a few Pakistani people who do have better views, I wish there more people like them. This thing about how you look, plays too big a part in how females are viewed. And treated. I just hope people will understand and less females will suffer.

The resident moron strikes again. Tut tut.

Anyways, I see Sana Mir's point. These corny ads pushing femininity in a more "empowering" way are pathetic.