I came across this interesting tidbit of information while eating in downtown Toronto at a muslim restaurant.
I asked for a pepsi and not coke; the man replied he doesn’t sell any because it may contain ingredients of pig. So its better to be safe than sorry. His story to back his theory up was a woman who recently converted in egypt had a mission to find out what is permissable to eat and whats not and out of those she found pepsi to be questionable.
Now from egypt to canada; a word followed through a million mouths I’d like to ask someone to clarify this for me because we all know how rumours can deviate from one mouth to another.
First they say stop coca cola and now pepsi. I was practically raised on these drinks
Anyways, someone who can shoot out argument after another could put their research talent to use and kindly look into this matter. It would be greatly appreciated.
Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.
It is difficult to say what is impossible, for the dream of yesterday is the hope of today and the reality of tomorrow.
Haan maine bhi sunna hai ke pepsi haraam hai. Because of that pig-reason.
But I know that coca cola isn't haraam. Haan! But maine parrha hai ke Coca Cola Israel ko support karta hai with guns etc.
Rather than eat yourself up over such conceptions/misconceptions, the best way is to simply call the 800 number listed on almost all products, regarding any questions you have. And be open with them, and ask them what the ingredients of their products are. They will provide you an entire list. And if you be specific and ask them about pork ingredients, they will let you know that as well.
So do the research yourself. Dont rely on random word of mouth.
Originally posted by Cool Pakistani:
*Haan maine bhi sunna hai ke pepsi haraam hai. Because of that pig-reason.
But I know that coca cola isn't haraam. Haan! But maine parrha hai ke Coca Cola Israel ko support karta hai with guns etc. *
Coca-Cola doesn't support Israel with guns. Coca-Cola did not invest in Israel until 1966, fearing a loss of sales in the arab world. However, the threat of legal action from American Jews forced Coca-Cola to enter the Israeli market in 1966.
Coca-Cola was immediately banned throughout the arab world. To try and compensate for the lost sales in Arab countries, Coca-Cola began massive investments in Israel to maximise its market share in Israel.
Things have now reached the point where Coca-Cola is lauded by the Israeli government for making a strong positive contribution to the Israeli economy - the Coca-Cola corporation significantly strengthens the Israeli economy; the Israeli economy funds the persecution of our brothers and sisters in Palestine and also Palestine's Christian population.
Pepsi, on the other hand, avoided all contact with Israel until the Arab world ended the boycott of Israel in 1991. For this reason, until the 1990s, Pepsi was completely avoided in certain social circles in America for being perceived as the anti-Jewish drink.
[This message has been edited by mAd_ScIeNtIsT (edited May 15, 2002).]
Customer service lady was rather surprised! I sounded like a complete idiot asking if any of the ingredients in Pepsi’s derived from pork or any of its sources.
Pepsi originally got its name from the fact that it was supposed to be medicinal. One of the active ingredient was pepsin, an enzyme found in the stomach this was taken from animals including, I presume pigs although this practice was dicontinued years ago. This rumour seems to come around every few years.
that is true of brithish people AND Hindus, we all know how they use their brain to fight not their hands and emotions like sikhs and pakistanis. proved in the 1947 partition!
Thats makes you and them a like, asteen ke saanp, peeche se vaar karne valle
All your comments might sound funny, but are not suited to the religion forum.
I'll request you all to tone it back to serious discussion and abide by the ethics and norms that govern talk surrounding religion.
You guys wouldnt like anyone ridiculing you or your religion. Guess what, neither would anyone else. So show some compassion and understanding. I cannot stay in sermon mode forever.
Originally posted by mAd_ScIeNtIsT:
** Coca-Cola doesn't support Israel with guns. Coca-Cola did not invest in Israel until 1966, fearing a loss of sales in the arab world. However, the threat of legal action from American Jews forced Coca-Cola to enter the Israeli market in 1966.
Coca-Cola was immediately banned throughout the arab world. To try and compensate for the lost sales in Arab countries, Coca-Cola began massive investments in Israel to maximise its market share in Israel.
Things have now reached the point where Coca-Cola is lauded by the Israeli government for making a strong positive contribution to the Israeli economy - the Coca-Cola corporation significantly strengthens the Israeli economy; the Israeli economy funds the persecution of our brothers and sisters in Palestine and also Palestine's Christian population.
Pepsi, on the other hand, avoided all contact with Israel until the Arab world ended the boycott of Israel in 1991. For this reason, until the 1990s, Pepsi was completely avoided in certain social circles in America for being perceived as the anti-Jewish drink.
[This message has been edited by mAd_ScIeNtIsT (edited May 15, 2002).]**
Pepsi and Coca Cola started out as 'tonics', drinks that people invented claiming that they would improve one's health, or serve as remedies.
Coca cola used to have cocaine as one of its ingredients, thats where its name comes from.
Pepsi used to have pepsin as one of its main ingredients, hence the name pepsi. Pepsin is a digestive enzyme, and when used as an ingredient is obtained from the digestive tract of pigs.
According to a documentary I saw a few years ago, those ingredients, i.e. cocaine & pepsin are not used anymore. I dont remember the exact dates when they stopped, I just remember it as being ages ago.
I believe Pepsi already denied this charge as soon as they heard muslims had this complaint.. The fact is that its only coincidence that the name resembles some part of a pigs anatomy. Besides, what in the world would the need something from a pig to add as an ingredient to a soft drink???
Also, Im pretty sure Pepsi company knows how big their market in the muslim world is, and I don think there is some global conspiracy to make this muslim market drink some part of a pig secretly. Bottom Line, I doubt the Pepsi company would market their product in Muslims countries if bacon were one for the ingredients.
[This message has been edited by Adnan Ahmed (edited May 16, 2002).]
Originally posted by Girl from Quraysh:
**Pepsi and Coca Cola started out as 'tonics', drinks that people invented claiming that they would improve one's health, or serve as remedies.
Coca cola used to have cocaine as one of its ingredients, thats where its name comes from.
Pepsi used to have pepsin as one of its main ingredients, hence the name pepsi. Pepsin is a digestive enzyme, and when used as an ingredient is obtained from the digestive tract of pigs.
According to a documentary I saw a few years ago, those ingredients, i.e. cocaine & pepsin are not used anymore. I dont remember the exact dates when they stopped, I just remember it as being ages ago.
I hope that helps somewhat.
Actually, although cocain was an ingredient in coke early on, there were only small traces of it.. The addictive part cames form and continues to come from the sugar in it. The name Coca Cola was used because one of the main igredients came from the Coca Plant.. I was watching this on the Discovery Channel the other day, that how I found out..
Originally posted by Adnan Ahmed:
** Actually, although cocain was an ingredient in coke early on, there were only small traces of it.. **
Thats what I said. I may be mistaken about the name of the origins of the coca cola name. Pepsi isn't haram to the best of my knowledge and neither is coca cola.
I believe Pepsi already denied this charge as soon as they heard muslims had this complaint.. The fact is that its only coincidence that the name resembles some part of a pigs anatomy.
Its not a coincidence. Its true they used to contain pepsin and cocaine as ingredients, but that was long ago, why, I can't answer, perhaps the people who brewed those tonics believed those ingredients would enhance their drinks, make them more beneficial, etc,etc.