People who fail to amuse me

I don’t know what to make out of this situation. Is it desperation on behalf of the religious parties, or just mis-interpretation and politicizing of Islam.

I do understand their point-of-view. But, how can you justify mob-mentality to get it across..there ought to be a better way

Clashes over Pakistan road race

Pakistani police have clashed with demonstrators protesting against the participation of women in a 10km road race in eastern Pakistan.

A police chief in Gujranwala, 200km (120 miles) southeast of the capital, Islamabad, said 10 people were hurt.

Protestors opened fire on the police near a stadium where the race was due to end, while the police fired into the air to disperse the attackers.

The group that called for the protest said police fired without provocation.

‘Undress the nation’

The clashes erupted after supporters of the Islamic religious parties alliance (MMA) attacked the men and women contesting the race with batons and stones, police said.

The protesters blocked the race course and chased competitors away as they approached the sports stadium where they were expected to finish race.
A spokesman for the MMA told the Associated Press news agency that the alliance had warned organisers against holding the race “because it is against Islam”.

“They want to undress the entire nation,” Riaz Durrani said.

“It is indecent for women to run in the streets. They want the sisters and sisters-in-law of the nation to wear knickers and T-shirts.”

Two months ago Islamic groups strongly criticised a race in Lahore, saying the female participants had violated Muslim dress code.

Re: People who fail to amuse me

No, it's plain simple ignorance.

they can;t run in full length pants and shirts?

There are couple of important points to be noted. Pakistan is heading more towards becoming a secular state, and most likely over the next twenty to thirty years, religion's influence over the governing of the state will be minimal. Which is fine. Islam does not necessarily need an Islamic state to thrive.

The argument is further bolstered if you take into account the lack of presence of central Islamic edict anywhere which can truly guide to implement an islamic state. People's energies are better spent in strengthening the core of Islamic faith instead of creating anarchy and chaos. Just my $0.02..

Agreed.

Thats plain stupid. Jahaliat ki bhi had hoti hai.

My dad recalls that in his younger days in Lahore, women were more liberated and could quite freely walk the streets without being taunted, hassled or stared it. What is Pakistan coming to.

seen lots of women running in bagh-e-jinnah early in the morning
i wonder wat would that b?

"sisters-in-law of nation" --- what the heck is that?

Even in anger, the maulvi sahab is keeping his options open.

Terribly, terribly important to get rid of the mullah brigade if Pakistan is to even stand a chance of any type of growth as a country. Looking at the educated younger lot gives us a lot of hope for the future but then the beards enter the scene. Even though sometimes the Pakistani media and the general Pakistanis can give a good impression of being forward-looking (read hopeful) but at times like this, it seems that there is not much deep down.

Leo

What does beard has to do with any of this? Your broad generalization of people as mullah's does not help your cause.

But is it a fact that the girls are gonna run in knickers and t-shirts?

i dont get it why do they have to run in shorts and teeshirts? full length sweats and full-sleeve tees do the job correctly... there needs to be a good "blend" of east and west... "WesterN" being women being allowed to run in a race, in public, without threateningto get shot or somethin... "East" being that they're still covered.....

Sistters-in-law of nation :biggthumb :hehe:

Pakistan is heading more towards becoming a secular state, and most likely over the next twenty to thirty years, religion's influence over the governing of the state will be minimal.

This depends totally on how Pakistan grows economically and will people from all walks of life will benefit from it or not. Desperation and anxiety leads masses to look for alternatives and South Asians have long been suckers for hot religious slogans. So, if Pakistan fails to improve the life of ordinary people, extremists will always find support and that too a loud one.